Posted (edited)

Had it for 1 year got a good reception and hasn't been seen since. I think they should bring it back

Edited by WERRIDEE

Posted

Coaches like sheedy & Malthouse devalued it by refusing to let stars play.

WA and SA got teams in the national comp and got their jollies by projecting state loyalties & vendettas on to them. "West Coast" Eagles. That'll show those "East Coast" guys. And Adelaide just happened to choose state colours for the club jersey.

Posted

Victoria

'B: Lever, Weitering, Stewart

HB: Salem, Moore, Dale

C: Walsh, Wines, Merrett

HF: Bontempelli, Hawkins, Petracca

F: Greene, McKay, Papley

FOLL: Gawn, McRae, Oliver

IC: Parish, Miller, Stringer, Martin

Allies

B: Andrews, May, Daniel

HB: Rich, Allir, Mills

C: T.Kelly, Steele, Laird

HF: Zorko, Franklin, Bailey

F: C.Cameron, Dixon, Pickett

FOLL: Naitanui, Neale, Fyfe

IC: Grundy, Cripps, Hopper, Heeney

Posted

None of our guys injured and fit enough to front up next Saturday

Only interstate wins that interest me, I saw in September 

Posted
1 hour ago, Mazer Rackham said:

Coaches like sheedy & Malthouse devalued it by refusing to let stars play.

WA and SA got teams in the national comp and got their jollies by projecting state loyalties & vendettas on to them. "West Coast" Eagles. That'll show those "East Coast" guys. And Adelaide just happened to choose state colours for the club jersey.

yep

it was what kept us poor MFC supporters alive years ago....

But now... no way

Posted

The only way the clubs will let it happen is if you end up with a bastardised touch football travesty like you see in the NFL pro bowl where there is basically no tackling and no contact.

And Victoria is still so much stronger than the other states that you would be forced in to some kind of garbage Allies situation that cheapens the whole concept even further.

Posted
11 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

Victoria

'B: Lever, Weitering, Stewart

HB: Salem, Moore, Dale

C: Walsh, Wines, Merrett

HF: Bontempelli, Hawkins, Petracca

F: Greene, McKay, Papley

FOLL: Gawn, McRae, Oliver

IC: Parish, Miller, Stringer, Martin

Allies

B: Andrews, May, Daniel

HB: Rich, Allir, Mills

C: T.Kelly, Steele, Laird

HF: Zorko, Franklin, Bailey

F: C.Cameron, Dixon, Pickett

FOLL: Naitanui, Neale, Fyfe

IC: Grundy, Cripps, Hopper, Heeney

if nic nat qualifies for the allies by dint of being born in fiji, then so too does gawn, being a kiwi

Posted

I guess COVID really scuppered any sort of plans for this when the AFL went into survival mode and trying to achieve the bare minimum in a season.

I would personally love to see representative football again. It doesn't even have to be every year, maybe every second year. If nothing else I'd like it for the players themselves. Being able to train and play with the best in the business ultimately makes you a better player and guys like Skilton and Whitten would attest to that. Even Robbie Flower, I have no doubt the big V games were beneficial for his career.

The issue is and always will be the scheduling. Mid-season doesn't feel right as it seems to disrupt the focus for the actual season and you'd obviously need to keep the break. I know they easily do it in NRL and honestly I don't know how. If it were up to me I'd completely bin any sort of NAB/Marsh/JLL Challenge, keep the teams practice matches but do state of origin on the eve of the season. I thought end of Feb worked pretty well in 2020.

It doesn't need to be perfect, but I think we miss out on a lot without representative football. 

Posted

SOO on the pre-finals weekend off,  players from clubs not in finals. Or on the pre-GF weekend, if the AFL are determined to keep on with that. Or curtain raiser to the night GF which the AFL are sneaking into position in plain sight.

Alternate between Vic v WA and Vic v SA as WA v SA doesn't seem to get crow/groper blood pumping. Curtain raiser Qld v NSW v Tas (some combination). If those states get good they can challenge WA or SA for the right to play the Vics.

Posted

What happened to it?

Despite what they said, apart from a few one off's the players when push came to shove didn't really want to play it.

The most important prize in our sport is the premiership and anything that gets in the way of that is not considered worth the risk.

It's of great novelty value but nothing else..leave it where it is...in the past.

Posted

There is no need for one. We now have sides in QLD, WA and SA. The people and clubs voted with there feet. Good players suddenly got injuries and could not play. I have less interest than the girls game. 

Posted

Id do it on the sunday of prelim final weekend (or the Saturday night if no night game)

14 teams available to pick from

And id do it like country footy does interleague.

Team rank 1 v rank 2

Rank 3 v rank 4

Etc

Winner of each game goes up and loser down 

Eg

Vic v sa - vic win

Wa v nsw - wa win

The next year is

Vic v wa

Sa v whoever  wins from 5v6

Put some heat into it, the allies is garb

Posted
12 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

if nic nat qualifies for the allies by dint of being born in fiji, then so too does gawn, being a kiwi

I meant the All Stars not the Allies. Anyone that comes from a club outside Victoria qualifies.

Posted
37 minutes ago, biggestred said:

Id do it on the sunday of prelim final weekend (or the Saturday night if no night game)

14 teams available to pick from

And id do it like country footy does interleague.

Team rank 1 v rank 2

Rank 3 v rank 4

Etc

Winner of each game goes up and loser down 

Eg

Vic v sa - vic win

Wa v nsw - wa win

The next year is

Vic v wa

Sa v whoever  wins from 5v6

Put some heat into it, the allies is garb

Nah Victoria V All Stars once a year when they play the practice matches. Play it at Docklands for charity it will sell out like they did a couple of years ago.

Posted
2 hours ago, rjay said:

What happened to it?

Despite what they said, apart from a few one off's the players when push came to shove didn't really want to play it.

The most important prize in our sport is the premiership and anything that gets in the way of that is not considered worth the risk.

It's of great novelty value but nothing else..leave it where it is...in the past.

That's the reason. The elite players couldn't give enough of a toss to make it work. 

The public seemed to love it, but the players didn't want to risk injury while playing for "another team"

I always thought the AFL should slightly relax the anti-biffo rules. The "them against us" teams from S.A and W.A would have relished that and the public would have loved it.

Posted (edited)

I grew up loving State footy especially with a keen eye on the Demons who were picked to play

The standard of footy was miles ahead of club games but the skills were so high that the games weren't often physical encounters.  It was possession football with exact skills before possession football became a thing

Just a showcase of the best vs the best

But alas, even I've given up on the idea for the reasons outlined by the comments preceding this post

I still reckon they should pick the sides though ... just as an acknowledgement

For instance, Salem just misses out on the All-Australian team but is picked on the half back flank for Victoria.  That's still a high honour

Posted

I’d like to see best suburban Melbourne metro team - ammos, EDFL, SESFL etc play best Victorian Country team

Vermont v Wangaratta Rovers etc

Posted
2 minutes ago, radar said:

I’d like to see best suburban Melbourne metro team - ammos, EDFL, SESFL etc play best Victorian Country team

Vermont v Wangaratta Rovers etc

I thought the Rovers hadn’t won a flag since ‘94 when Laurie Burt was still coach.

Posted

Reckon the SA & WA teams would be quite strong.  Vic obviously.  Not sure on the strength of a  Tassie team or the NSW & QLD teams ... or NT

I'm reckoning that a lot of the players who play for the Eagles, Freo, Crows & Port would be locals

But we've got quite a few WA lads ... is it 6 with the new draftees? 

Posted

Vermont vs Rovers naw, better game would be Monbulk minnie mountain men vs Myrtleford Mighty Mountain men.

Posted (edited)

National competition, no need to have state of origin.

Growing up in WA it was on mid week and they got schools to fill the stadium.  Vic/SA/WA some great games, then the other states wanted a piece of the action, killed it.

I will admit I grow up watching the WAFL, the only exposure to VFL footy I got was the Winners for an 1 hour a week.  To see all the players that went over to the east playing in a WA jumper was fantastic.

Edited by drdrake