Posted

Yeah I want the collecters pack with all finals and hopefully choc full of bonus goodies. That's really the only reason to buy DVDs now isn't it? 

Posted
On 10/4/2021 at 11:56 PM, Dr. Gonzo said:

They usually sell the DVD on its own with the alternate commentaries though - I reckon the initial release doesn't have them because they are fast-tracked straight after the game

My wife is a cats supporter and has the 2009 DVD with alternate commentaries as well as the Victory Pack.

Yeah Gonzo my brother is a Cats fan and I was always really envious of those DVD packs. It's definitely what I've been striving for!

Posted
15 hours ago, Cassiew said:

Well that’s good. I didn’t want the fix replay cut and pasted. Last question, as I’m felling groggy (meds) does it have the halftime show?

There's no half-time show or segments between quarters. After each quarter, it zooms out to the whole stadium, there's about 10 seconds of music, and then it's straight to the first bounce of the next quarter.

Posted
1 hour ago, layzie said:

Yeah Gonzo my brother is a Cats fan and I was always really envious of those DVD packs. It's definitely what I've been striving for!

The KRock call of the 2009 last quarter is immense if you're a Cats fan.

Posted

Hold on a second I just want to make sure I got this 100% correct. If you get the victory pack it is just the GF that comes in blue ray BUT you get the alternate commentaries that you don't get from the single GF dvd? Apologies in advance. 

• 5 weeks later...
Posted
On 10/11/2021 at 10:47 AM, layzie said:

Hold on a second I just want to make sure I got this 100% correct. If you get the victory pack it is just the GF that comes in blue ray BUT you get the alternate commentaries that you don't get from the single GF dvd? Apologies in advance. 

My victory pack arrived in the mail today and at a quick glance:

• The GF is a DVD, not blu ray
  • The GF has the commentary options of Channel 7, Triple M, 3AW, and SEN
  • The season highlights disc runs for 1.5 hours and has someone hosting it, reflecting on the season, and a sit-down with Jack Viney before starting to go in to the highlights from each round

Looks like a great package of material in my opinion, exactly what I was after!

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, gg24 said:

My victory pack arrived in the mail today and at a quick glance:

• The GF is a DVD, not blu ray
  • The GF has the commentary options of Channel 7, Triple M, 3AW, and SEN
  • The season highlights disc runs for 1.5 hours and has someone hosting it, reflecting on the season, and a sit-down with Jack Viney before starting to go in to the highlights from each round

Looks like a great package of material in my opinion, exactly what I was after!

Sounds great, bar the DVD in place of Blu Ray.

Surely they will bring out the high def version in time for Chrissy?

...after all, it's 2021, not 1964 - after 57 years of pain, please give it to us in high def!!

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter

Posted
On 10/4/2021 at 6:29 PM, Cassiew said:

What a crock. I saw serveral AFL dvds that offered several commentaries advertised on the back. 
Where did you get it? I’ve almost given up getting mine this month

Over a month and still haven’t got it. Got my victory pack from jbhifi just now

Posted
2 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

...after all, it's 2021, not 1964 - after 57 years of pain, please give it to us in high def!!

It’s in colour, glorious colour. That’s all that matters 🏆👍

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

what do you mean by high definition?  The dvd should be 1080 which is hi-def,  The blue-ray would probably just be 4k upscaled from 1080 as I don't think there would be 4K cameras at the ground. 

EDITED: correction DVD best format would be 720HD and heavily compressed. It could also be less than that. I think the cameras at the ground would be 1080HD so the 4K blue-ray would still be upscaled from 1080 but the quality would still be much greater than the DVD

Edited by daisycutter
Posted (edited)

I got the victory pack yesterday from J B Hi Fi,  all three finals PLUS seasons highlights DVD $75 bucks. I have an 80 inch 4 k T.V compatible, 4 K Blu Ray and a Yamaha 7.1 System with two sub woofas and  Dolby atmos in the roof!! The standard def DVD works VERY well. BUT the BLU RAY version should be something else again🤩

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, daisycutter said:

what do you mean by high definition?  The dvd should be 1080 which is hi-def,  The blue-ray would probably just be 4k upscaled from 1080 as I don't think there would be 4K cameras at the ground. 

EDITED: correction DVD best format would be 720HD and heavily compressed. It could also be less than that. I think the cameras at the ground would be 1080HD so the 4K blue-ray would still be upscaled from 1080 but the quality would still be much greater than the DVD

DVD is always 720x576i SD maximum (US DVDs are 720x480i SD). The Grand Final DVD is no exception to this.

The Blu-ray of the Grand Final should be 1920x1080p HD (so a step up from what was broadcast which is 1920x1080i).

There's no 4K Blu-ray proposed as far as I can see (even though I'd like that)...

Edited by Range Rover to the snow
Posted
2 minutes ago, Range Rover to the snow said:

DVD is always 720x576i SD maximum (US DVDs are 720x480i SD). The Grand Final DVD is no exception to this.

The Blu-ray of the Grand Final should be 1920x1080p HD (so a step up from what was broadcast which is 1920x1080i).

There's no 4K Blu-ray proposed as far as I can see (even though I'd like that)...

yeah, i just realised my memory of dvds is so very rusty, Haven't had one for more than 10 years

and yeah most were 576i which is SD, though they did do some at 720 (heavily compressed) according to google so it is possible.....but certainly not 1080i or p

Posted
7 hours ago, Chook said:

The lack of knowledge about physical media formats in this thread is making me nauseous...

Is physical media when there is a fight on TV?

Posted

The dvd season highlights package, sad to say, is very ‘meh’. Putting it kindly, Jack Viney does his best. Frustratingly short and choppy video reviews of each game. Considering what it could have been…..

Posted

I’m not sure if this has been covered before but - DVD Land is selling a complete MFC season DVD box set  for $149.95 containing every game of the season including the grand final in high def. and special commentary. 
Does anyone have it?

As the proud owner of 3 blu ray players (one used to play very high quality music over hi fi system) I think I may invest in this set!

Posted (edited)
50 minutes ago, Dee Dee said:

I’m not sure if this has been covered before but - DVD Land is selling a complete MFC season DVD box set  for $149.95 containing every game of the season including the grand final in high def. and special commentary. 
Does anyone have it?

As the proud owner of 3 blu ray players (one used to play very high quality music over hi fi system) I think I may invest in this set!

Not out until December (and cheaper at https://www.ezydvd.com.au/DVD/AFL-Premiers-2021-Melbourne-Complete-Season-Collection-Limited-Release/dp/6225238 to boot)...

(What's not clear either is whether the whole lot is in HD, or just the grand final. I suspect the latter because it's a 27 disc set. I imagine this would comprise 22 H&A round DVDs, QF DVD, PF DVD, GF DVD, GF Blu-ray and highlights DVD...)

Edited by Range Rover to the snow

Posted

The season highlights is amazing. Even if we hadn’t won the grand final, this would be worth purchasing. The games were so memorable. 

Posted
On 10/7/2021 at 12:28 PM, Dr. Gonzo said:

The KRock call of the 2009 last quarter is immense if you're a Cats fan.

Is KRock the old 3GL? or similar?  if so the prelim final call would be like

Bounce of the ball, Stanley up high, Dangerfield clearly held, play on, knocked forward, great defensive work by Henderson,........goal to Melbourne

Bounce of the ball, Stanley up even higher, Selwood clearly held, play on, knocked forward, great defensive work by Bews,........goal to Melbourne.  Special Comments : I think the Dees have shot their bolt.

Repeat

• Haha 5
Posted
11 hours ago, Range Rover to the snow said:

Not out until December (and cheaper at https://www.ezydvd.com.au/DVD/AFL-Premiers-2021-Melbourne-Complete-Season-Collection-Limited-Release/dp/6225238 to boot)...

(What's not clear either is whether the whole lot is in HD, or just the grand final. I suspect the latter because it's a 27 disc set. I imagine this would comprise 22 H&A round DVDs, QF DVD, PF DVD, GF DVD, GF Blu-ray and highlights DVD...)

You will need to watch 22 only ( not watching the losses and draw)

Posted (edited)

Was talking to a Richmond supporting mate who tells me they have like a directors cut with audio from the coaches box etc while the game is played.
Sounded awesome.
Be great if we come up with stuff like that. 

I'm also a huge fan of what the yanks do with a show called "Americas Game."
They interview players, talk through Pre-season, each game and their play-off series culminating in the Superbowl.
They've done it every season from the 60s and is brilliant for sportfans.

Can you-tube a few different ones.
With my favourite being the 1981 49ers which reminded me of us. (which I can't find)
Another that amused me highly was 2007 NY Giants if ya wanna have a look.
Click on the you-tube link.

1976 Raiders.

Edited by Fork 'em