Posted
9 hours ago, binman said:

But I think she got it wrong in the third declaring we were looking shakey and desperately needed a goal just for confidence. 

Nah Daisy was spot on. Right at that moment we did need a goal to settle and reset. Literally a few minutes later she commented that we had our confidence back when Trac attempted a behind the head handball to keep the ball alive inside the boundary. She could sense it. We all could, but reckon she's just that little bit ahead of us all. Terrific commentator

Posted

Can anyone who has insights they’d like to share please comment on:

what the dogs changed to get on top in the 2nd quarter 

what we change at half time / during the 3rd quarter to get back on top. 

was it just the flow of the game or were big tactical changes made?  The only ones I am aware of is Treloar going into the middle and Jackson playing 1st ruck more

cheers!

Posted
16 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Petracca also said on the footy show the players were told to slow it down and run down the clock and the midfield group all thought "f that, we're on fire let's see if we can get a couple more"

Wow i must find that quote, thanks

These guys can coach themselves 

Posted
2 minutes ago, DubDee said:

was it just the flow of the game or were big tactical changes made?  The only ones I am aware of is Treloar going into the middle and Jackson playing 1st ruck more

cheers!

5BF5FCB2-AC59-4033-BDF3-64DBBC699A45.jpeg

Posted
16 minutes ago, Hellish Inferno said:

Nah Daisy was spot on. Right at that moment we did need a goal to settle and reset. Literally a few minutes later she commented that we had our confidence back when Trac attempted a behind the head handball to keep the ball alive inside the boundary. She could sense it. We all could, but reckon she's just that little bit ahead of us all. Terrific commentator

Completely agree. As she said, we'd kicked 1.6 for our last 7 scoring shots and we needed to kick one to settle the nerves. And bang. Fritsch gets his goal from Harmes.

Daisy's commentary was spot on all night. We were playing too safe in the midfield because we were losing contest behind the ball.

Posted

For as long as I can remember year after year after year I watched other teams and players go up and get their premiership medal and the cup and would think , I wonder how their supports would be feeling while thinking will we ever get there. 

Well I can now relate to how all those successful team supporters feel and it’s a bloody unbelievable feeling. I never want it to end. 

I love it and I love the Dees. 

• Like 15
Posted

Well, after 24 hours and lots of alcohol my thoughts; my best mate and i have watched footy here and in Adelaide for 50 years at least. We both thought we would be blubbering messes if we even witnessed a Dees premiership but at the end of the game last night we sat there stunned. We had witnessed, with out a doubt, the most insane 45 minutes of football either of us had ever seen. I still have to watch the replay a few more times for it to sink in. 

Posted
22 minutes ago, DubDee said:

cheers!

Bontempelli being off the ground when we took the initiative in the second half of the third quarter was massive.  Our mids assumed control totally and we got at least three goals while he was sitting it out.  Jackson didn't do anything special in terms of hitouts but his ability to follow up and either clear a path or get the quick handball out was instrumental.  

Posted
24 minutes ago, DubDee said:

cheers!

I think the biggest mistake was the doggies tactic in the 3rd quarter to control the tempo at slow play .

It kinda worked but was always going to be met with a big swing - they should have gone kamikaze and really put as away .

they went slow and steady then we went nuclear .

disclaimer will need to watch sober to confirm . 

Posted
1 hour ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

When Bont kicked that goal to put them 19 up I was worried. They seemed to be beating us in ground ball all over the field and had kicked 8 of the last 9 goals. Our small forwards seemed unsighted and we looked fumbly. I look forward to listening to your analysis on the podcast and rewatching the replay with this in mind.

Have to applaud @binman for the wonderful analysis all year and particularly for the Pre-prelim and GF pods. They really helped with the nerves, filling me with confidence we would win going into the match. 

And to add to the topic. Definitely Worried, but always knew we had gears to go to subconsciously. The problem is that emotions are more powerful than logic, so we were all watching through the lens of fear, concern and mild panic. Would love to be able to see the game tactically live, but I am a mere mortal!

Posted
3 hours ago, CHF said:

So, what the hell do I wish for when I blow out all of those candles on the birthday cake this year?

been making the same wish for more years than I can remember and the cake angles finally answered.

I know I could make the same wish but I may need to make the wish to another entity.

thank you Birthday Cake angles.

How about five in a row? It's just as impossible, and now we know the impossible can come true.

Posted
22 hours ago, dees189227 said:

I still want to know why Goodwin didn't make a speech

Same. I found that odd. It was the equivalent of skipping the father of the bride.

And as much as I love the big fella, I thought a shout out to Neale, Jimmy and/or Jonesy in Max’s speech would’ve been fitting.

But when your biggest complaint about a grand final is the speeches or lack thereof, you’re going pretty good.

Posted
14 minutes ago, CityDee said:

I think the biggest mistake was the doggies tactic in the 3rd quarter to control the tempo at slow play .

It kinda worked but was always going to be met with a big swing - they should have gone kamikaze and really put as away .

they went slow and steady then we went nuclear .

disclaimer will need to watch sober to confirm . 

About to start my third attempt at that now.

Just the second half.  I have a feeling this may just set a new standard for my most watched half of footy.

P.S. Can't wait till it comes out on 4K with zero adds (particularly those [censored] sports betting ones).

Posted
15 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Just turned into SEN & they are replaying the GF. About to start the final term. 

I think I will leave it on & enjoy the final term

Heres the link.
Go back to the 3rd.

Posted
10 hours ago, picket fence said:

Can I suggest that it was Clarry who started the whole shebang with a blistering 1st quarter. His stoppage and link up work for the rest of the game was phenomenal. His quick hands and deft disposals set play up. His great inspirational goal just stamped his undeniable class and grunt which benefitted the team. Agree with summation of Tracc, that was one of the most complete performances of any grand final

Having rewatched it a second time, I reckon I might have been a little harsh on my man Clarry. 10 tackles, a goal, a bunch of clearances and 33 is a bloody good game in a GF too.

Posted
47 minutes ago, DubDee said:

cheers!

Jacko was the spark that ignited the the 🧨 demon response but Gus, Max and Kossie (despite v low possessions never gave  up.

Posted (edited)
40 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

For as long as I can remember year after year after year I watched other teams and players go up and get their premiership medal and the cup and would think , I wonder how their supports would be feeling while thinking will we ever get there. 

Well I can now relate to how all those successful team supporters feel and it’s a bloody unbelievable feeling. I never want it to end. 

I love it and I love the Dees. 

Was saying almost the exact same thing to one of my Demon supporting high school mate last night.

Don't know how it worked out this way, but my two best mates in high school were both mad Demons fans.  Went to a bunch of games with them in the 90s, when we thought we were so close.  Almost 30 years later was so happy to celebrate the moment with these guys, be it over the phone.

Go the MIGHTY DEMONS!!

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter
Posted
1 hour ago, Cards13 said:

Track’s goal crossed the line at 51 seconds to go, Sparrow at 34 seconds and the third from Oliver was at the 19 second mark. 32 seconds?!?! Mental. 

Best 32 seconds of my life.