Gus & Gawney Podcast - special guest Simon Goodwin

Posted

I love these podcasts for the honesty and obvious regard for the team that's exhibited each week but this weeks special guest gave a much better insight  into the relationships at the Club.

Although Goody  lapsed occasionally into his media speak, it was so refreshing to hear him speak in the way he talks/ communicates to the group on a day to day basis.

Posted

I never fail to miss an episode, Goody was a great guest and seems to have great rapport with the players. 

Posted

They have definitely got better, pretty good listening now. It shows what a great culture has been built up at the Dees - in no small part, due to Macy’s influence as captain, I’d say.

Posted

Over the course of this year, I've been getting a sense with Simon Goodwin that he's not just any coach. I think he could be something special. Like Clarko good.

Now before you all whack me, someone has to be the next Clarkson. Better to go early than to go late.

But as for Gus and Gawny, I love the podcast (never miss a non-Shapes related episode).

Posted

Goodwin very effusive in his praise of the leaders - and included the two with the podcast named after them.

Also Viney is his favourite on field player.

I think that is quite revealing, and should make many on here stop and think about some of the nonsense they send Jacks way.

Posted
9 hours ago, Tom Dyson said:

I never fail to miss an episode, Goody was a great guest and seems to have great rapport with the players. 

So you haven’t heard one?

• Haha 7
Posted
7 hours ago, rpfc said:

Goodwin very effusive in his praise of the leaders - and included the two with the podcast named after them.

Also Viney is his favourite on field player.

I think that is quite revealing, and should make many on here stop and think about some of the nonsense they send Jacks way.

And love is also blind many people cannot see past it either.

Posted

Goody's son Eddie sounds like a crack-up. They should get him on sometime

Great interview and great questions as well. It all comes across as honest and authentic. I admit I wasn't a fan of the podcast early days, i just wanted the boys to focus on the footy but i can see its value now. I think Maxy and Gus do a great job representing the club and are a great reflection of the culture that has been built over the last few years.

Posted
1 hour ago, BDA said:

Goody's son Eddie sounds like a crack-up. They should get him on sometime

Great interview and great questions as well. It all comes across as honest and authentic. I admit I wasn't a fan of the podcast early days, i just wanted the boys to focus on the footy but i can see its value now. I think Maxy and Gus do a great job representing the club and are a great reflection of the culture that has been built over the last few years.

I think particularly if we happen to have more success this season (not saying anything to jinx it) i think he would be hilarious to have on. Good to hear he’s a demon, I know this is mentioned at times but jeez it must be tough for family to hear their parents get potted (put mildly) in the media and by fans. I just think back to that joke pic last season of the locked down Melbourne council flat that had the paper rewritten to say “Sack Goodwin”. 

It was a fun little interview, Langdon is clearly held in super high regard by the club as is Viney. Funny to think that people though he a Goody had a falling out following his demotion from captain, but any fan opinions that Jack shouldn’t be picked are obviously way off the mark within the club. 

Posted
4 hours ago, Baghdad Bob said:

So you haven’t heard one?

hahahahahahahhah, great pick up, I've listened to every one was the idea.

its been a long week. 

Posted

Goody’s view on Viney’s courage & effort was summed up as “he’s half mad”.  Gus and Gawny just acknowledged Goody’s comment, an indication of how the playing group respects Jack Viney, unlike plenty on here. 

Posted
15 hours ago, Tom Dyson said:

"Never fail to miss". Ok you got me, what does that mean? Hang on, double and triple negatives get my neurons firing. You intentionally don't listen? Am I  correct? Or for you, am I not right? 🙂

Posted
53 minutes ago, ManDee said:

"Never fail to miss". Ok you got me, what does that mean? Hang on, double and triple negatives get my neurons firing. You intentionally don't listen? Am I  correct? Or for you, am I not right? 🙂

Yeah, not my finest grammatical outing, I have listened to every episode was the idea. 

I've done a real Glenn Maxwell leaving that straight onto the stumps. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, nacnud said:

I know people say that about Viney often, but jeez they will always be some of the worst takes made on here. Go to bed mate.

Thought this was a forum where people can have a view not just a site for people who only agree with each other and have a love fest, you have your view i have mine maybe your a up bit late, maybe you have a bex and go nigh nigh.

Posted
2 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

Thought this was a forum where people can have a view not just a site for people who only agree with each other and have a love fest, you have your view i have mine maybe your a up bit late, maybe you have a bex and go nigh nigh.

Coaches opinion who watches hours of tape outweighs yours I'm afraid.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, demon3165 said:

just don't think much of him as a footballer 

Outside of a handful of Demonlanders, it's not a view shared by anyone in the football world. 

I've never seen a single criticism by anyone of note that Viney's a limited player, or over-rated, or a one-dimensional 'rugby player'. Not once. 

I do, however, remember when our preliminary final opponent - ie a good club - tried to poach him not that long ago. 

He's played under 3 coaches (Neeld for just his debut year) One coach gave him a b&f. The other has him finishing 2nd or 3rd in every year since, bar one when he was injured. 

That's a lot of people supposedly 'blinded by love'. 

Edited by Grapeviney
Posted
1 minute ago, Fork 'em said:

Coaches opinion who watches hours of tape outweighs yours I'm afraid.

Thought the coaches were at the ground when they played guess I was wrong, they only watch tapes now, again this is a forum so people can have their opinion that's all it is.

Posted

Goodwin was so different on the pod. Easy to see why the boys love him. He’s so robotic in the media. Doesn’t give much away but never inspired me with confidence. 

I’ve always been on the fence, never even opened the “is he the right guy” thread. But this podcast was a good insight. 

Posted

Great episode. Max always asks the kind of questions I would want go know answers to. You don't often hear Goody in this setting either (Well I don't anyway). 

Posted

Haven't really watched many episodes this year but decided to with Goody being a guest.

That last cheeky question with the Edwards or McLeod thing was such a good stitch up. Loved it by Maxy.

Posted

It was a loaded question if Viney was his favourite player. Goodwin was too smart to say otherwise.

The fact he was asked it by our captain shows Viney is up there with the best.

Posted
12 hours ago, Grapeviney said:

Outside of a handful of Demonlanders, it's not a view shared by anyone in the football world. 

I've never seen a single criticism by anyone of note that Viney's a limited player, or over-rated, or a one-dimensional 'rugby player'. Not once. 

I do, however, remember when our preliminary final opponent - ie a good club - tried to poach him not that long ago. 

He's played under 3 coaches (Neeld for just his debut year) One coach gave him a b&f. The other has him finishing 2nd or 3rd in every year since, bar one when he was injured. 

That's a lot of people supposedly 'blinded by love'. 

Never once have I heard from anyone that Viney is a skilfull, damaging footballer who open a game up, dangerous midfielder who kicks clutch goals at important times, a player with good vision, 40 goals in nine years and all they say is loves tackling and is hard at it, wow after 9 years thats it.

On the B&F the coach did not give him the win, voting is done by the match committee that was in 2016, Clayton Oliver has won two in six seasons compared to 9 seasons for Viney I know which footballer I would pick first.

Just because a club tried to poach a player means squat we have gone after other players as well from other clubs.

Again I don't hate the man I just reckon he is a limited football just as others say things about Smith, Hibbo, Milkshake etc we all have our opinions, good on him if we snag the Premiership because he does love the club and does give it his all no doubt about it.