KingDingAling 3,758 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 I haven’t followed the AFLW since Harris left the Dees. I’d watch again if she played for us again. Good time to come back to the club. Only helps boost our profile. 1 1 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 I first took notice of her when she absolutely monstered us when we played Carlton the season before last. A 3 time AA she's exactly what we need, a dominant key forward. Perfect replacement for Tegan Cunningham. It went pear shaped for her at Carlton this year with many questioning her attitude. Hopefully she's focused and has her mind on the job because a fully firing Tayla Harris makes us flag favorites i reckon. 2 1 Quote
John Crow Batty 8,893 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 (edited) I understand her form at Carlton was poor this season and she wanted $150,000 a season to continue. Maybe good for marketing but she has to deliver on the field. Edited June 3, 2021 by John Crow Batty Quote
Fat Tony 5,337 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 Good fit for us on field. We could do with a stronger full forward. Quote
siam juntaRus 92 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 150 grand will get us 2 rookie wingman for the MFC which we need. Any further comment is a waste of energy. 1 Quote
Mickey 4,777 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 The 150k gets bandied about but from what Daisy has said, she's not asking for 150k to play 10 weeks of footy. She would also work at the club in some capacity. Not sure what that would be but it sounds like the club is willing to give it a shot 1 Quote
Kev 10,930 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 Not sure about her. She chases the bucks, has minimal loyalty and is an inconsistent performer. She could disrupt our team if they pay more than salary of our stars and developing players become limited in what they can ask for under the cap. 2 Quote
Guest Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 31 minutes ago, siam juntaRus said: 150 grand will get us 2 rookie wingman for the MFC which we need. Any further comment is a waste of energy. 150 grand would probably also buy a one-way ticket to Mars for someone. ? Quote
Caligula's cohort 1,014 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 Is she worth $150,000? absolutely not. Would she help us win our inaugural flag? absolutely! Bring her home. 2 1 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 24 minutes ago, kev martin said: Not sure about her. She chases the bucks, has minimal loyalty and is an inconsistent performer. She could disrupt our team if they pay more than salary of our stars and developing players become limited in what they can ask for under the cap. She's had a poor season last year but is a 3 time AA so i wouldn't call her inconsistent. Valid comments regarding disruption and salary but if Daisy is happy to get on board that's good enough for me. 2 Quote
picket fence 18,190 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 56 minutes ago, kev martin said: Not sure about her. She chases the bucks, has minimal loyalty and is an inconsistent performer. She could disrupt our team if they pay more than salary of our stars and developing players become limited in what they can ask for under the cap. If what I have heard is correct "Caveat Emptor" 1 Quote
dl4e 5,851 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 I just wonder how the other girls would feel about this. We have better players at Melbourne than Harris and I would hate it if they got peezed of about her pay. Could be a disrupting influence. 1 Quote
Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 5,690 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 2 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said: 150 grand would probably also buy a one-way ticket to Mars for someone. ? Foreshadowing COVID contingencies, Walker? No worries for MFC, according to Max; 'Anyone, anywhere.' Quote
Guest Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 11 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said: Foreshadowing COVID contingencies, Walker? No worries for MFC, according to Max; 'Anyone, anywhere.' Yeah, that wasn’t the message I was trying to send. I mean, I did say one-way so MFC players are defs not who I meant. ? Quote
Kev 10,930 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 2 hours ago, Better days ahead said: She's had a poor season last year but is a 3 time AA so i wouldn't call her inconsistent. Only from what I have seen, when watching the games that she is in. So not a big sample size. Quote
picket fence 18,190 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 1 hour ago, dl4e said: I just wonder how the other girls would feel about this. We have better players at Melbourne than Harris and I would hate it if they got peezed of about her pay. Could be a disrupting influence. Yep thats the issue plus a few other things as well 1 Quote
Go the Biff 3,474 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 Daisy's up for it Daisy eyes Tayla reunion 1 Quote
rjay 25,427 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 10 hours ago, picket fence said: Yep thats the issue plus a few other things as well 8 hours ago, Go the Biff said: Daisy's up for it Daisy eyes Tayla reunion Daisy's up for it, 'picket's' not... Which way do we go? 'picket' you would hope Daisy would be on top of any issues. I would be prepared to back her (Daisy) in. 1 Quote
D Rev 640 Posted June 3, 2021 Posted June 3, 2021 Harris, like many sportspeople, "appears" to be very self-serving / focused. Can't say I blame her, the window for making bank as a sportsperson is limited, particularly for female athletes. I'd suggest that her drop off in the last season or two has been a combination of; poor delivery / better opposition and lack of focus (what was that boxing thing?). The Dees were successful in the last AFLW season largely due to the game plan and approach where everyone bought in and played a role for the team. If Harris can do this, there is no reason it won't work. Quote
defuture15 902 Posted June 4, 2021 Posted June 4, 2021 Happy to have her back home. She started with us and is the forward we lack Quote
Dees_In_October 3,515 Posted June 4, 2021 Posted June 4, 2021 I was against it but if Daisy's in, I'm in. I imagine it would be similar among the players and I feel like the culture of the club is strong enough for this to be handled properly. The money or loyalty issue doesn't bother me at all. It's a different landscape in the AFLW - for a lot of players 'the extras' or what a club means for their work or what their offseason looks like can be the difference between playing and not. Tayla's not quite in that category (probably because of her savvy in this area!) so I respect her approach. She's off the charts in terms of marketing, which given the financial reality of the league at present, has to be a factor for all clubs. It's Tayla's form of late that I'm iffy on. She can be inconsistent and can really struggle to be involved in games. The same could be said for some of our current forwards though. There's potential that Tayla's strengths (contested marking) will be better suited to our game style and also what we've lacked at times. When her tackling pressure's on, she makes a big impact, sometimes recklessly. She's 24, and 8th on the goalkicking list for the league with 29 goals from 37 games... 2 Quote
WERRIDEE 5,641 Posted June 5, 2021 Posted June 5, 2021 If we can include Purcell and Harris into the team then watch out just like the men we will have to be flag favorites. 1 Quote
Supermercado 2,806 Posted June 7, 2021 Posted June 7, 2021 We desperately need a full forward, and even though she did nada this season if there's no other options available I'd be willing to take the chance. Quote