Posted
13 minutes ago, Pickett2Jackson said:

Would love to see Fritsch or Kozzie kick a bag, or both would be even better.

A 100+ point win today is the only acceptable outcome.

I just want to see our defensive structures stay sound. Our execution will be off in some games, it's impossible to blitz an entire season, but there is no excuse for lack of concentration in applying our defensive structures.

Posted

Well, here we are on game day and, seeing as we're playing North Melbourne, this means that once again we will be doing battle with Kangaroos skipper Jack Ziebell.

It is not widely known that Jack is one of the most careful, cautious people playing footy these days.  No risks, no danger.  He's the straight-and-narrowest player in the AFL.  Here are some examples:

• Jack uses 3-ply toilet paper and double folds it.
  • He bought a packet of sparklers for New Years Eve, but once he got started watching some fire safety videos on YouTube before lighting one, he couldn't resist watching more and more and more for about three hours and ended up going to bed at 11.15pm.
  • He was so concerned about Covid-19 that, during lockdown, he attempted to submit a urine sample online.
  • He initially bought all his teammates a box of Celebration chocolates each for Christmas, but felt guilty for assuming that everybody "celebrates" it and exchanged them all for boxes of Roses.
  • He always votes below the line in the Senate because he doesn't want anybody to feel left out.
  • He's already booked an Uber to the airport for the match against Adelaide in round 23.
  • He refuses to go camping because he reckons it's dangerous after noticing that every time they show a murder on the news, the body is always in a tent.
  • Haha 5
Posted

Was thinking what a shame it is that Brent Harvey isnt playing today. He deserves to be on the end of a 150 point drubbing by the Demons after all the easy kills he had against us in our decade of hell.

There is some good news though -     he will be stuck on the charter flight back with us as hes one of the North coaches now.

Posted

This game spells danger to me. Maybe it’s my MFCSS, maybe it’s the one sided media coverage, maybe it’s the high expectations or that today is a chance to break clear of the other team and go to 1st.
Something feels unnatural to me about today, but I would take any win, no matter how small and no injuries and move on. 

Posted (edited)

Two points on the game:

1. North have one of the worst snipers in the league:  Cunnington!  He will set out to inflict as much damage as possible to our stars, mostly off the ball/behind play.  He can't be allowed to get away with those antics.  Our players need to rally early to protect each other.

2. We have had a few slow starts and had to come back to win.  This is a game where I really wants us to come out firing in the first quarter:  not just play well but kick straight.  Nothing like scoreboard pressure.

This is the first time I've been nervous about a game, this year.  I think we will win but I'll be glad when the final siren blows.

Posted

Wonder if #freekickbenbrown is still a thing at Blundstone?

Any kind of win will do. Just keep banking them.

Posted
23 minutes ago, Pickett2Jackson said:

Kangaroos to win by 40+         $476

I mean if I’m going to be shattered, I might as well pay off my mortgage... ?

Posted
4 minutes ago, Jaded said:

This game spells danger to me. Maybe it’s my MFCSS, maybe it’s the one sided media coverage, maybe it’s the high expectations or that today is a chance to break clear of the other team and go to 1st.
Something feels unnatural to me about today, but I would take any win, no matter how small and no injuries and move on. 

I'm with you. I'm told they learnt heaps from the Cairns trip today we will find out what. We are 8 - 0 since then so maybe they have. 

Posted

It's a funny old game. Beating North isn't a big deal for any other team. But for us, it potentially means finishing on top of the ladder for first time in 16 years, and finally proving we can be trusted.

A loss is unthinkable.

Posted (edited)

I am quite excited to see how we function with a really good tall FF. It’s been a very long time since we had one... 

Edited by Jaded
Posted
6 minutes ago, Jaded said:

Yes it's certainly "unnatural" for the Dees ( and we long suffering supporters)to be in such a position.

However, I see no " danger" at all ( injuries excepted) and fully expect to give Norf a jolly good thrashing! 

Enjoy the day!!!!!!

Posted
28 minutes ago, Pickett2Jackson said:

Kangaroos to win by 40+         $476

On the TAB site they have a Trend report. No one has backed North to win by 39 and over so $1 and you win the pool. Or lose a dollar. 69.9% have Melbourne to win by over that margin. And 55% have Melbourne to beat the line at 56 points. 

Posted
6 hours ago, Whispering_Jack said:

“Whoever is first in the field and awaits the coming of the enemy, will be fresh for the fight; whoever is second in the field and has to hasten to battle will arrive exhausted.“ Sun Tzu - The Art of War

I think they're going down on the same plane @Whispering_Jack ?

Posted
4 hours ago, Better days ahead said:

Hopefully BB can hit the ground running, snag a few and get on the same wavelength as the rest of the team. He is the final piece of the puzzle for me so really hope he can get into his stride quickly.

Other than that I just want to see a professional, no nonsense performance.

Dees by about 50 points or so.

I hope that the rest of the team maintain their forward pressure and clearances, enabling a good rate of scoring and all-game challenge for the Kanga- rangas. Then it comes to BBrown who is making somewhat of a first-game comeback. It would be great for him to figure prominently in the scoring right across the game; however, it is not terribly fair of us to expect him to produce a magical big score off his own foot. The 'run' in the bigtime is the most important thing; touching base onfield with the rest of the team and its strategies, linking up where necessary, effecting good teamwork and creating opportunities.

I suspect he will score liberally himself, as he is that type of talented player but I would be happy with 2-3 goals from him. If he hits a purple patch and scores more or much more than this, I think we would all be absolutely delighted. 

Dees to win by about  70 points, if we put in a 4-quarter effort. We have to be serious as we could knock off the Bulldogs' percentage dominance as well as take the 4-points to sit on top of the ladder. 

Very exciting times...

Posted (edited)
32 minutes ago, Mickey said:

It's a funny old game. Beating North isn't a big deal for any other team. But for us, it potentially means finishing on top of the ladder for first time in 16 years, and finally proving we can be trusted.

A loss is unthinkable.

Beating North is a big deal after what they've done to us the last 14 years.

If we win today it will be the first time we have beaten them in consecutive games since we beat them twice in 2006.

We fell apart as a club in 2007 and that's when North begun their run of wins over us.  Well its time to turn the tables on those Kangaroo peasants and belt them every game for the next 20 years.

Edited by Pickett2Jackson
Posted (edited)

All the positive indicators of this game that makes me nervous. The word ‘upset’ was invented for these kind of games. All other sides have produced a shocker this season except us. 

Edited by John Crow Batty

Posted
2 hours ago, BigFez said:

You would not be able to get a kite airborne in Hobart at the moment. Hopefully it stays that way. 

Weather right now says 21 degrees,0% chance of rain and light winds.

The Tasmanian gods have smiled upon us today it seems.  Kick a huge score Dees.  Goals goals and more goals please.

Posted

I reckon we win setting up a week long narrative regarding whether the filth will provide Norf with their first win of the season next week....please make it so.....

Posted

I know 2/5ths of bugger all about the North players but if their backs line up as named there will be some serious mismatch’s. Bonar, McKay, Atley and Ziebell are all 188/189cm, Hall is 185 and Walker the lone tall at 197. They could be both too short for McDonald, Brown and Jackson and too tall for Kozzie, Spargo and ANB. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Apologies if already mentioned, but apparently Viney might be a late out. (Not confirmed)

If that’s the case I wonder which one of Chandler, Baker or Jones gets a run?