Lil_red_fire_engine 11,387 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 Last 2 rounds combined. It’s pretty clear cut. Jones 24 possessions 6 score involvements 13 pressure acts Melksham 22 possessions 11 score involvements 24 pressure acts He was rightly carried to 300 and I doubt he will get back in unless as sub. 11 1 Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 Just say Jones was rested surely? 2 1 Quote
Mel Bourne 4,541 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 1 minute ago, Jaded said: I don’t like that he’s been “omitted”. Just say “managed” and say he’s being nursed thru the season to make sure he’s right to go later in the season. I can’t really see him worrying about the wording. Surely this possibility would have been flagged to him. It’s understood he needs the rest more than Melksham does. And Melksham needs to lift! 1 Quote
Nicko 1,390 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 Just now, Clint Bizkit said: Just say Jones was rested surely? Agree Quote
Dee man 303 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 (edited) There was a stat going around a few weeks ago about Jones taking 298 games to finish a round in the top 2 of the ladder. He's still yet to finish 1st after a home and away round. Would be a cruel twist of fate if we finish this round in first position and he wasn't able to technically be part of it. It's a silly, meaningless record of course - one that Jones might not even be aware of - but it feels a little cruel nonetheless. Hope he gets named the medical sub and gets to be out there on the ground at the end of the day to celebrate the closest thing we've had to a premiership in about 20 years! Edited May 1, 2021 by Dee man Typo 1 Quote
Little Goffy 14,973 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 It's fine. Jones himself is probably much more interested in being as fresh as possible to give him a chance for the late season. Fairytales don't climax with an early winter win over the presumptive wooden spoon team. We also still have some kinks to work out and partnerships to fine tune if we're really going to challenge in September and Jones is the most 'known quantity' of known quantities. 6 Quote
Pates 9,697 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 Ok, they’ve dropped Jones. It was going to happen eventually but I’m really surprised it happened this week. Firstly he had a very serviceable game last week, not outstanding but he played a role. Secondly it’s straight after his 300, seems a bit disrespectful. Thirdly it’s a midfielder for a forward. Finally if we’re looking at who played a part in the win last week and who didn’t how does Melksham stay in the team then? I’m happy Brown’s getting his first run, but I don’t agree with who us made way for him. 2 Quote
Pickett2Jackson 3,904 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 No idea how Melksham is still in the team. Luckily we are going well enough to carry him but he doesnt deserve to be in there. 1 Quote
Mickey 4,777 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 As much as I don't like the messaging around Jones... geez, that's a good looking team. 6 Quote
Gouga 570 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 11 minutes ago, Nicko said: Agree If they are planning to use him as a sub then they can't say "rested"? 1 Quote
GCDee 3,203 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 Jones will get his chance again, and God I hope it's Grand final day. Seems brutal, although similar current output, Melksham has more upside and versatility than Jones. Quote
Pickett2Jackson 3,904 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 We are just showing off now by naming our 2019 super draft trio on the bench. 4 5 Quote
Gator 18,054 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 1 minute ago, Pates said: Ok, they’ve dropped Jones. It was going to happen eventually but I’m really surprised it happened this week. Firstly he had a very serviceable game last week, not outstanding but he played a role. Secondly it’s straight after his 300, seems a bit disrespectful. Thirdly it’s a midfielder for a forward. Finally if we’re looking at who played a part in the win last week and who didn’t how does Melksham stay in the team then? I’m happy Brown’s getting his first run, but I don’t agree with who us made way for him. I agree with it because it was the change I'd hoped for. Jones is no longer a midfielder, as you assert. He's playing a pressure HF role. Unlike many here, I prefer Melksham to Jones. It was clearly out of those two as to who was going to be omitted. I want to support a caring but ruthless footy club. Jones was honoured brilliantly by the club, but it has also shown it does what good clubs do, select the best team to win as they explore the right team balance across the course of the season. This side is as good as it gets. One can debate Weideman v McDonald, but in essence their current outputs are about the same, so they cancel each other out. 12 Quote
Lil_red_fire_engine 11,387 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 15 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said: Just say Jones was rested surely? Assuming he is not named as sub does that not just raise the question of why he does not come straight back in the following week. Quote
P-man 13,367 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 I’m a big Jones advocate but it’s the correct change. 2 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,810 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 36 minutes ago, DemonOX said: Selection is a joke. Jones is in better form than Melk amd he gets omitted. Well some things haven’t changed since last season with goody. Pathetic. Just maybe, Jones is being rested/managed for a niggle. He is in relatively good form and the North game would suit him as an under-and-at 'em protagonist. Melksham is running out of occasions for the bigger contribution so maybe this is - or is nearing - some of his last chances. Quote
binman 44,856 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 (edited) Leaving aside the Jones discussion, I understand keeping Melksham in. I was a huge critic of him last year. His lack of pressure and leadership were damning in my book. He was pretty average against the tigers, but his pressure was better. Not great, but better. Possibly the best kick in the team. And has great vision. As a permanent half forward (with the occasional run in the middle) he can be a real weapon. And in that role he doesn't need heaps if the ball. With everything else clicking he can be icing on the cake. A difference maker. And another match up headache as you have to put a decent defender on him - possibly the player you might also consider for fritter. Edited May 1, 2021 by binman 11 Quote
Clayton van Oliver 1,829 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 Happy to see what Melksham's i50 delivery potential + BBB might equate to. 9 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,680 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 Milestone Demon Dumped. That’s the AFL website headline Rested is the alternative wording 1 1 Quote
Deeoldfart 8,205 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 16 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said: Milestone Demon Dumped. That’s the AFL website headline Rested is the alternative wording I thought that was pathetic and incredibly disrespectful to a legend of the Melbourne Football Club. Grrrr! Quote
Superunknown 4,246 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 Just sending our 6yo off to sleep (no not with a boring story about dad’s failed pro golf/cycling career smart #rses!!) and said big day tomorrow mate - 6th bday party and Dees atop the ladder for the first time since you were minus ten! “Minus ten!?? That is a long time ago dad!” 1 5 Quote
Demonstone 23,600 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 29 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said: protagonist * antagonist Quote
dino rover 714 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, Jaded said: I don’t like the optics Winning trumps optics i don’t get sentimentality here the team the club is more important than any individual that is the key take out on field - that players weren’t being selfless and if they did that would contribute to better performance why doesn’t it apply to selection? Edited May 1, 2021 by dino rover 6 Quote
WERRIDEE 5,638 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 1 hour ago, Tarax Club said: Typo? Toby Bedford mentioned in preamble as emergency but Kade Chandler named on the team sheet. Either are worthy 23rd ‘men’ given recent performances. If not Jones it will be Baker 1 Quote
dino rover 714 Posted May 1, 2021 Posted May 1, 2021 34 minutes ago, AmDamDemon said: Happy to see what Melksham's i50 delivery potential + BBB might equate to. If melksham doesn’t perform then he should get the axe too i like Bedford or sparrow over both Jones and melksham both now and for the future 2 Quote