3 hours ago, 4_Kent_Watts said:

What a pity his legs were as good as Tingays after Stinger went through the plate glass window. Loved both of them. One favorite memory of Sean was he went up in a contest with Wayne Carey, grabbed his arm while competing and sent him off from popping his shoulder. Can't remember if we won that night or not. Someone will remember I'm sure. I also think Carey got hit with the ball as he was being stretchered around the boundary line. 

I thought he had problems with his wrists not his legs. That's my recollection anyway.

On 12/12/2020 at 12:26 PM, demonstone said:

I recently read an excellent Bowie biography written by Paul Trynka where it was confirmed that he took his  name from the "bowie knife", so in his case it does rhyme with "blowy", "showy" and "Joey".  

I always assumed that the “Yowie” pronunciation was correct, since it’s how Gervais says it and they were mates. There you go.

On 12/16/2020 at 11:47 AM, demonstone said:

According to The Encyclopedia of AFL Footballers and other sources, Charles was in in fact 182cm tall, or just a tad under six foot in the old money.  That is more in keeping of how I remember him rather than him being a mere 175cm.

Sorry to be the resident pedant, but 6 foot is 180cm on the dot, so just over in fact.

Learning so much in this thread!

I’ve always worked off an inch being 25mm. Little did he know it was actually 25.4mm.

It’s funny what you (or I) take for granted as “known facts.”

On 12/15/2020 at 12:04 PM, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Every time people worry about size, I remind myself that of the 4 players who have played 400+ games, two of them were genuine smalls in Kevin Bartlett and Boomer Harvey. If you're good enough, size doesn't matter. 

can I use this?

20 hours ago, Left Foot Snap said:

I thought he had problems with his wrists not his legs. That's my recollection anyway.

Your right he had wrist problems, broke his leg at Carlton. I did enjoy seeing him take Carey out tho.

meh

Edited by McQueen

Traded into the 1st round only to use our pick on a player that's going to be playing back pocket...

Ok.

15 hours ago, Lace Out said:

can I use this?

Yes Mate Good luck with that?

12 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Traded into the 1st round only to use our pick on a player that's going to be playing back pocket...

Ok.

Q: Who finished second behind Dusty in the 2017, 2019 and 2020 Norm Smith medals?

A: Houli, Houli, Short.

If he can handle afl pressure and get a dozen kicks across half back then he’ll prove his worth.

13 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Ok.

With all due respect dazzle I think you're being a bit disingenuous here. Firstly you know that we got two consecutive picks. Secondly Taylor said he will start in the back line, which is a common path for young players in their development. I suspect he'll be a winger/high half foward long term but if he makes a half back or even back pocket spot his own I won't be complaining. Many clubs have picked up non-key defenders in the first round of recent years.

On 12/18/2020 at 6:41 AM, dazzledavey36 said:

Ok.

dumb comment. You're the guy that picks a Morton, Toumpas, Blease, Lucas Cook, Watts, Bate etc.  over a Caleb Daniel, Zorko, Liam baker, Shai Bolton, Prestia  etc. 

10 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

dumb comment. You're the guy that picks a Morton, Toumpas, Blease, Lucas Cook, Watts, Bate etc.  over a Caleb Daniel, Zorko, Liam baker, Shai Bolton, Prestia  etc. 

Yes that's me. Totally that guy.

For those who saw the 1950's Melbourne teams, know that Stuart Spencer came from Tasmania as a Back Pocket player but Norm Smith decided he was too good to waste in the Back Pocket and played him as a rover and the rest is history.

Neil Compton came as a rover and could not get a game and was played as a Back Pocket player in a premiership.

It is not where players start their careers but where they are best used for the team, Western Bulldogs play Caleb Daniel as a half back yet he is not the height of a typical half back but does the job well and is a star.

10 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Yes that's me. Totally that guy.

Dr D I have one issue with your list.

To compare Jack Watts with all those others who only played abut 20-50 games each is not realistic.

Jack May not have reached his potential as a No 1 pick ( just as much our fault through nit developing players  and him especially) So to compare and list with others like Toumpas etc is unfair and derogatory towards Jacks efforts for the Club

come yo think of it our record for development Is Poorish  and these guys suffered also.

2 hours ago, 58er said:

Dr D I have one issue with your list.

To compare Jack Watts with all those others who only played abut 20-50 games each is not realistic.

Jack May not have reached his potential as a No 1 pick ( just as much our fault through nit developing players  and him especially) So to compare and list with others like Toumpas etc is unfair and derogatory towards Jacks efforts for the Club

come yo think of it our record for development Is Poorish  and these guys suffered also.

each to their own. I don't look at games played as a measuring stick as jack watts was gifted half of his games. much like omac was. that cant even be argued. Watts was just the recipient of melbourne turning over many coaches who wanted a crack at getting the best out of him. I'm tired of being right with Watts.  What happened to all those demonlanders that said 'we will rue the day we let watts go'?  where are they? I laughed at them then and was once again right. 

Can anyone actually honestly say that watts was better than luke tapscott?

On 12/17/2020 at 3:02 PM, Mach5 said:

Learning so much in this thread!

I’ve always worked off an inch being 25mm. Little did he know it was actually 25.4mm.

It’s funny what you (or I) take for granted as “known facts.”

Dont worry about that,  I copped heat from @don't make me angry for thinking quarters were 25 minutes plus time on.

I think he may have even claimed I have dementia.

On 12/17/2020 at 9:32 PM, 4_Kent_Watts said:

Your right he had wrist problems, broke his leg at Carlton. I did enjoy seeing him take Carey out tho.

Had wrist surgery and went swimming up in the Murray and got it infected. This began a cycle of infection issues and career threatening wrist problem

5 hours ago, durango said:

Stuart Spencer came from Tasmania

Not quite right.  Stuie went to Tassie after he left Melbourne at the premature age of 25, but he grew up in the tiny hamlet of Digby in the Western District and was recruited from Portland Football Club, the same source as Clyde Laidlaw.

I was originally underwhelmed with this pick, maybe because of Bowey’s size, or lack there of. 

At a different level of footy, but his awareness, decision making and execution is already in front of most of our regulars. These attributes are the hardest to improve. 

A definite ‘needs’ pick. I’m converted. 

Looking at his disposal  by hand and foot it was a very clever pick. Let's hope he can put on more size and develop in the system.