Posted
3 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Interesting response from Max Laughton on the live trade chat today when asked about Treloar.

Hey DZ, you believe Ads is on his way out due to the relationship breakdown now beyond salvaging so who do you see having interest, cap space and the picks to offer? Really slim pickings - North rebuilding, Hawks the same, Dons $$ tied up elsewhere, Carlton no $$, Geelong no $$, Bulldogs no picks, Saints in same boat as Dogs. Give me your scenario.
 less
From a cap standpoint, the Pies are willing to pay some of his 2021 salary if it means getting him out the door and bringing a high-end pick in. I still think the Suns with Pick 5 would be the ideal scenario for the Pies, but the Suns may not have him in their long-term plans. I think the Dees are a watch this space with Adam if he wants to stay in Victoria and play for a big Vic club.

Got some beer snorted out my nose these evening (no not nose beers)

Who does this Joker think he is? 

I want a list of all Demonlanders that would agree we are a 'big Vic club'? Not one [censored] soul.

Posted
53 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

Got some beer snorted out my nose these evening (no not nose beers)

Who does this Joker think he is? 

I want a list of all Demonlanders that would agree we are a 'big Vic club'? Not one [censored] soul.

With a Back ended Contract with 4 years to run...

It’s your problem Collingwood....

Fix it

Posted
2 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Curious . . . who are they?

Viney (here for 5 years), Oliver, Trac and Brayshaw. As it is we can’t give Harmes any midfield time and Brayshaw is also struggling. Treloar while a great player, is a very expensive investment in the type of player we definitely aren’t short of. 

Posted
24 minutes ago, Jaded said:

Viney (here for 5 years), Oliver, Trac and Brayshaw. As it is we can’t give Harmes any midfield time and Brayshaw is also struggling. Treloar while a great player, is a very expensive investment in the type of player we definitely aren’t short of. 

Treloar is better than viney Oliver and Brayshaw

Posted
On 10/16/2020 at 6:05 PM, don't make me angry said:

I think bucks does not rate adam, hammies can go at anytime 

And Bucks would know all about that. 

Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, ChaserJ said:

That is interesting given Kane Cornes was spruiking Treloar's fit at Melbourne this morning as well. Would be curious to know what Max's rationale is.  Just an outsiders view of how Treloar would fit at Melbourne, or based on something else?

Like others, struggle to see how we fit Treloar in the cap without shifting someone significant. Brayshaw the only one that's feasible, but still seems highly unlikely.

Well, maybe that's the go, mate. Gus to Freo for a pick that suits for Treloar. But gee, we'd wanna know his hamstrings aren't shot and that his speed hasn't diminished. And that's before we even get onto thinking about his contract. This would have to be carried significantly Collingwood for more than just a single year. ie they'd have to be willing to pay a portion of his salary for multiple years.

Posted (edited)
50 minutes ago, A F said:

Well, maybe that's the go, mate. Gus to Freo for a pick that suits for Treloar. But gee, we'd wanna know his hamstrings aren't shot and that his speed hasn't diminished. And that's before we even get onto thinking about his contract. This would have to be carried significantly Collingwood for more than just a single year. ie they'd have to be willing to pay a portion of his salary for multiple years.

I think the mental health issues are the biggest worry, both for Adam and any potential suitor.

The way this is being dealt with is concerning. Clubs need to do due diligence in terms of identifying these issues but by shipping out or avoiding players with mental health issues, the game will create a culture whereby hiding it becomes incentivised - it's a dangerous game.

Edited by Cheesy D. Pun

Posted
2 hours ago, nacnud said:

^ Here’s our Demonland nuffie for this week, fellas

Elegt sorry Clarry better but Jack not quite and Angus a fair third.

Posted
3 hours ago, Cheesy D. Pun said:

I think the mental health issues are the biggest worry, both for Adam and any potential suitor.

The way this is being dealt with is concerning. Clubs need to do due diligence in terms of identifying these issues but by shipping out or avoiding players with mental health issues, the game will create a culture whereby hiding it becomes incentivised - it's a dangerous game.

AF we can only ask Cwood to pay for the contracted salary portion year not YEARS that are not relevant to his existing salary.

Besr chance would be say Jetta and Tommy plus Future 2nd or third rounder and Cwood still pay $100,000 next year on his salary.

Posted
On 10/16/2020 at 5:18 PM, whatwhatsaywhat said:

filth-supporting mate reckons his contract is heavily backended and there's no way the pies can accommodate given big deals for grundy, moore, de goey, etc.

Media has also reported that his contract is heavily back ended. Talk about a stuff up.

I'd have him in a heart beat BTW.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Mono said:

Media has also reported that his contract is heavily back ended. Talk about a stuff up.

I'd have him in a heart beat BTW.

Not on that salary, but otherwise yes.  The ongoing cost is the issue.

Posted (edited)

Contract size and duration, mental health struggles, hammys, wife and child are in another state. This trade would make sense on absolutely no level.

The Dees have recruited smartly recently. Treloar doesn’t fill a need. Ben Brown, a winger be it Smith or Phillips and a better support cast are the objectives. Stick to the plan and don’t get distracted by the bright shiny thing.

Edited by Better days ahead
Posted (edited)

Sam McClure is suggesting Coll want Treloar out because they think he won't cope well with his family interstate: 

“...I remember if it wasn’t for my partner Kimmy, for Nick Maxwell, Bucks, Jacqui [Louder] who is my psych/really, really good friend and my family, I probably wouldn’t be playing footy, to be honest with you...

...While Treloar is adamant that living away from his partner and daughter won’t impact on his football, the Collingwood hierarchy disagrees". adam-treloar-stuck-in-the-middle

A google search connects his psych, Jacqui Lounder to Collingwood.  Fair to assume the club has inside knowledge so have an extra 'duty of care' in how they deal with him.  It might be a good idea for Eddie to talk to lawyers on extent of their 'duty of care'.  

Also, I have some problem with the ethics of Coll offloading him for potential psychological reasons which may or may not affect football performance. 

Posted
18 hours ago, Billy said:

Righto Pickett, we know how much you dislike Viney, but do you have to bring it up nearly every post

I don't dislike him at all, just rate him as a  player!

Posted
2 hours ago, Better days ahead said:

Contract size and duration, mental health struggles, hammys, wife and child are in another state. This trade would make sense on absolutely no level.

The Dees have recruited smartly recently. Treloar doesn’t fill a need. Ben Brown, a winger be it Smith or Phillips and a better support cast are the objectives. Stick to the plan and don’t get distracted by the bright shiny thing.

Absolutely!

Posted
6 hours ago, Better days ahead said:

I am not sure that is correct BDA 

Treloar is an outside mid IMO rather than inside albeit a bit of a butcher with the ball. That's why maybe we are reluctant to enquire or damaged goods maybe or he may want too much ( Pies must pay day $ 150/200 of his salary for the  yearOf 2021.) U would think.

Problem  in 2022 or before we have to keep Trac and Clarry happy while still may have Tommy Mac on our book.

Our enthusiasm after 2018 to lock up Histars of the year Harmes Tommy Mac  is now biting us in length of deals and overpayment due to lack of performance in 2019 and 2020.

i am Not sure if Melksham May be also in this discussion in a similar position.

So Treloar is a million $$$ away or light years it appears even if we want to take a chance in his attitude etc whilst loneliness and missing his family may be an issue at some stage when or if the proverbial hits the fan.

Msybe best left in the locker at Lexus Centre.

Posted

Worth noting Collingwood only willing to pay $200K of his contract for 1 year, not every year of his contract. Year 1 he is a bit cheaper for a club but year 2 and beyond you are looking at $800-900 K a year for 4 years. Any wonder no-one is blinking. He isn't that good for that sort of money. On the human side I think Collingwood's handling of this and the other players contracts has been extremely poor and note, not a peep out of Eddie, who has an opinion on  everything.

If the club has been so supportive they must have known about the plan for his wife to take up a contract up north. If they really cared wouldn't they advise him prior to that, their belief that it wasn't in his best interests at Collingwood. Its not like she is earning the sort of money Adam is. Something stinks IMO.

Posted
7 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

can't help but think there is much more to this story than is being made public

Yep I agree. The Pies are too quiet

Posted
13 hours ago, 58er said:

Elegt sorry Clarry better but Jack not quite and Angus a fair third.

Treloar came 4th in the brownlow a few years ago, Clarry hasn't come close to winning it

Posted
1 hour ago, Elegt said:

Treloar came 4th in the brownlow a few years ago, Clarry hasn't come close to winning it

That's a ridiculous way to analyse player capability.

Brayshaw came 3rd in the Brownlow once, I suppose that makes him better than Treloar?