Posted
5 hours ago, Stein9193 said:

Two players that don't play his position!

Football isnt his issue!

• 1 month later...

Posted (edited)

Just read on AFL Trade News that the Pies are not open to him being part of their plans for next season. Could we go after him? My friend's younger brother used to play local footy with him around the Belgrave area so Casey isn't too far away from that area.

Could he be a good fit for us?

Jaidyn Stephenson.PNG

Edited by Marcus94

Posted

He's a VIC boy and could come on the cheap given his history of misdemeanours with Collingwood. 
Was taken pick 6 in the 2017 draft so clearly has the talent and also offers some speed in the forward line + up the ground that we desperately need. Would love to see it happen

Posted

Collingwood mate of mine (and I use the word 'mate' loosely as he barracks for Collingwood) absolutely hates Stephenson.  Reckons he spends more time checking his hair on the big screen than he does chasing kicks.  He is already pumped at the potential of offloading him to another club.  

Posted
1 minute ago, Nascent said:

Rumours of unprofessionalism and attitude problems, can't speak to the veracity of those claims but raising red flags for me.

His on-field performances this year speaks to the veracity of those claims.

Posted (edited)

Collingwood's cap squeeze problems have been on the horizon for the whole year. Stephenson and others have come up through the year, and the impression I've gotten is that the club have been unhappy with him for some time.

Rumours going around about his lack of professionalism (as mentioned by others). On talent, he'd be a great get (including positional fit), but not sure whether the character questions would spook us.  Particularly on the back of the Bennell experience.

Edited by ChaserJ

Posted
Just now, Wiseblood said:

Collingwood mate of mine (and I use the word 'mate' loosely as he barracks for Collingwood) absolutely hates Stephenson.  Reckons he spends more time checking his hair on the big screen than he does chasing kicks.  He is already pumped at the potential of offloading him to another club.  

He's had a bad year and a bit...

...but the kid can play.

Glandular didn't help at the start of this year and the gambling thing is also an issue.

I like Terry Wallace's take when talking about him under pressure.

He said the most pressure in a game is the first 15 minutes of a GF.

Stephenson kicked 2 goals in the opening 2 minutes.

Posted
1 minute ago, ChaserJ said:

Collingwood's cap squeeze problems have been on the horizon for the whole year. Stephenson and others have come up through the year, and the impression I've gotten is that the club have been unhappy with him for some time.

Rumours going around about his lack of professionalism (as mentioned by others). On talent, he'd be a great get (including positional fit), but not sure whether the character questions would spook us.  Particularly on the back of the Bennell experience.

I know a very close contact of his , says he's a great kid, really good family.

Something has happened to send him off the rails...all is not good at magpie land.

Might see if I can get an update.

• Thanks 8

Posted

I would get him. He can play. Question marks ? Yes but he is a super player.

Posted

Off the top of my head, recent trades with Collingwood: Dunn, Howe, Dawes, Kennedy, Lumumba. 

We've been shafted with every single one. Please don't go there Melbourne (although Stephenson's best footy is pretty damn good).

Posted

Yes go for him but I would prefer Philips first.

Posted

Really quick but his work outside 50 is poor. poor awareness and decision making

I reckon teams figured this one-trick pony out and now he is ineffective. often goes missing for large parts of the game

Posted

Plenty of due diligence required if we're to entertain the idea of a trade. Lots of talent but his regression has been stark. Off field antics a worry. Approach with extreme caution.

Posted
7 minutes ago, rjay said:

I know a very close contact of his , says he's a great kid, really good family.

Something has happened to send him off the rails...all is not good at magpie land.

Might see if I can get an update.

Good stuff rjay.

From memory he got in a bit of trouble with betting on a game. Might be a bit of a simplistic view but perhaps Goodwin might be good mentor for him considering his indiscretions as well. Not to say that it's an ongoing issue.

Posted (edited)

Was told his gambling actually isn't a worry. I talked to someone a while back about that, as I had heard rumours.

Edited by Matt

Posted

Agreed. I’m not buying Stephenson.  His mind looked lost towards the end of 2020.  Talented. But his intensity and work ethic was poor.  I think the pies see the future and want to sell his stock now. I’d be very very cautious.  

Posted

I think he is a boy with issues, who had a very good year playing one out from the goal square on the lead, a position not available to him anymore.

He seems to have zero defensive application and disappears from play for long periods.

To me he is a NO!

Posted

My initial reaction was absolutely not.

But then I remembered just how good he was in year 1. And his problems since - gambling and glandular - both could be behind him. 

If he got back to anything like his best even if it's one dimensional it could be a steal to get him. At least ask the Pies what their price is and kick the tyres a bit. After winning the Rising Star he probably would've cost a first round pick and more, now if the most he's worth is a 2nd rounder and everything points to his issues being fixable it's the right time to buy.

Posted
8 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

and everything points to his issues being fixable 

Bet you the Pies disagree with that.