Wells 11 5,484 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said: Mitch Clearly just that Isaac Smith to Geelong is potentially in play. damn... that’s a bit tragic really. I was pumped about him coming to us. Although i have to say, why Isaac would be looking for another flag w a side like geelong is beyond me. it would be a nothing stat in his career really . If he won one w us it would be huge fr every player involved. Perhaps Geelong is a better covid escape? Plus Geelong with already such an old list? Anyway, despite all the certainty that he’s coming to us ... i do smell a rat here. Quote
buck_nekkid 6,099 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 Another lifestyle move? Don’t these guys know that it’s only a 10 minute drive to the Collingwood children’s farm from AAMI park? 1 6 Quote
chook fowler 19,763 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 i thought Smith was very ordinary when we last played the Hawks. Well past his best IMO. 2 Quote
Lil_red_fire_engine 11,376 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 Would be good to get him but not the end of the world if we don't, particularly on a 3 year deal. Assume we will then turn our attention to further available options to fill the same like Philips and back to Polec. The good thing is there are gettable options out there. 1 Quote
Superunknown 4,246 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 He's hopeless, never wanted him (now he's going to Geelong) * *Dr Evil swears he is coming to Dees, so if this happens I reserve the right to, ex post, change my opinion to how much of a legend he is 2 2 Quote
Wells 11 5,484 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 (edited) 4 minutes ago, chook fowler said: i thought Smith was very ordinary when we last played the Hawks. Well past his best IMO. hmmm ...If he does come then I strongly disagree with this assertion...easily 3 more good years. if he doesn’t come then you’re bang on and have excellent judgement. lol seems we think the same @Superunknown Edited October 26, 2020 by Wells 11 Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 I think Mitch really only said Geelong were in play in the sense that it's so close to the period opening and no one knows what he's doing. a 3 year deal from a finals contended for a 31 year old, and an assistant coach he is by reports to coming across as well has to give us a pretty big chance of landing him. so still backing Smith to come to the Dees but who knows. don't get why he hasn't declared. Would love to see @Dr evil post something that isn't just common knowledge that he's taken slightly further and claimed it as inside info, no idea if he's legit or not but would love to see who these mystery two players are so we can actually judge the intel. 1 Quote
Dees247 140 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 Nothing to worry about. Dr Evil said he was 100% coming to us. Quote
Adam The God 30,706 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 29 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: Mitch Clearly just that Isaac Smith to Geelong is potentially in play. Smith is coming to Melbourne, just like Brown. 4 Quote
TRIGON 4,819 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 24 minutes ago, buck_nekkid said: Another lifestyle move? Don’t these guys know that it’s only a 10 minute drive to the Collingwood children’s farm from AAMI park? And only 15-20 minutes by bicycling along the Yarra; fresh air, birds in the trees and less Mosquitos than the Bellarine peninsula. 1 Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,686 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 Can Geelong leave some over 30's for the rest of us? 1 5 Quote
Dr evil 1,185 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 Relax guys, he's coming. Issac Smith will be a demon in 2021 and a seriously good inclusion for us. 6 Quote
Marcus94 100 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 I drove past a street yesterday named 'Isaac Smith street' i'm telling you it's a sign! I reckon he'll become a demon. 2 2 Quote
Redjacket 760 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 18 minutes ago, Dr evil said: Relax guys, he's coming. Issac Smith will be a demon in 2021 and a seriously good inclusion for us. That's some serious doubling down right there. I assume things can still change now that Geelong's season is over. Unless he has already physically signed on with the Demons surely nothing is set in stone. Quote
Dr evil 1,185 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 1 minute ago, Kelpien said: That's some serious doubling down right there. I assume things can still change now that Geelong's season is over. Unless he has already physically signed on with the Demons surely nothing is set in stone. My opinion is he's having a hard time officially telling the Hawks. they know, because they aren't stupid, but actually telling a club you've been at for a long period of time, and had a lot of success with is a big deal. Quote
binman 44,788 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 On 10/25/2020 at 1:39 PM, rpfc said: His first challenge is to continue to get better with when he kicks and when he handballs. He struggles to punish the opposition with how much first use we get in the middle. I should watch tape of his mate CP5. I think he can be better ‘getting’ release hands from Viney and co. and doing something with his ability to find space to deliver. He’s still 1 dimensional in close ‘if I get it I will be doing all these things, if my teammate gets it... well off to the next contest where I can get it...’ That might be unfair but that is my opinion. Not unfair at all. Reasonable comments. More goals and more damaging possessions will both combine to take to him to the very elite level, where we all expect him to get to. At that the very elite level the best players really hurt opposition teams. And regularly change the trajectory of a match. True match winners. The most obvious example is dusty. Trac is getting there. I think it is fair to suggest true mids have less opportunity to turn matches. And their accumulated numbers are less flash, but very important. But the best still find a way to do something special when needed. Neale is the benchmark. High numbers and high hurt factor. And an ability to be clutch when needed. Like in their first final. No possessions in the first quarter. Worked his way into in rhe second. And then kicked a clutch set shot goal from the edge of his distance range that changed the momentum of the game. Quote
Demonland 74,327 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 11 minutes ago, Marcus94 said: I drove past a street yesterday named 'Isaac Smith street' i'm telling you it's a sign! I reckon he'll become a demon. That's a "sign" alright. AND it's in the City of Casey. Double sign. 2 1 10 Quote
binman 44,788 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 1 minute ago, Demonland said: That's a "sign" alright. AND it's in the City of Casey. Double sign. He'll play in the magoos all year? 2 Quote
Demonland 74,327 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 Just now, binman said: He'll play in the magoos all year? That would be the most Melbourne outcome. 1 Quote
Demonstone 23,549 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 That Monahan bloke might be worth a look as well. 1 1 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 (edited) 1 hour ago, A F said: Smith is coming to Melbourne, just like Brown. Thats bold. Should this not occur, you'll have more egg on your face than our other Demonland Nostradamus! ? Edited October 26, 2020 by Moonshadow 2 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,529 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 1 hour ago, chook fowler said: i thought Smith was very ordinary when we last played the Hawks. Well past his best IMO. I don't recall him specifically stinking it up against us earlier in the year but I'll take your word for it. I do recall him ripping it up against Richmond in round 3 on his way to 3 brownlow votes. Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,677 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 If he comes, it’s a bonus as a free agent. If not, I’m going to ramp up the Tom Phillips dialog even more. 1 Quote
Clintosaurus 7,953 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 1 hour ago, chook fowler said: i thought Smith was very ordinary when we last played the Hawks. Well past his best IMO. I actually watched that game on the weekend and thought he was pretty good in a team that was well beaten. Quote
Sydee 4,684 Posted October 26, 2020 Posted October 26, 2020 46 minutes ago, demonstone said: That Monahan bloke might be worth a look as well. He looks to be at the crossroads of his career 2 2 Quote