The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Posted
1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Mitch Clearly just that Isaac Smith to Geelong is potentially in play.

damn... that’s a bit tragic really. I was pumped about him coming to us. 

Although i have to say, why Isaac would be looking for another flag w a side like geelong is beyond me. it would be a nothing stat in his career really . If he won one w us it would be huge fr every player involved. Perhaps Geelong is a better covid escape? 

Plus Geelong with already  such an old list? 

Anyway, despite all the certainty that he’s coming to us ... i do smell a rat here. 

Posted

Would be good to get him but not the end of the world if we don't, particularly on a 3 year deal. Assume we will then turn our attention to further available options to fill the same like Philips and back to Polec. The good thing is there are gettable options out there. 

Posted

He's hopeless, never wanted him (now he's going to Geelong) *

*Dr Evil swears he is coming to Dees, so if this happens I reserve the right to, ex post, change my opinion to how much of a legend he is

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

i thought Smith was very ordinary when we last played the Hawks. Well past his best IMO.

hmmm ...If he does come then I strongly disagree with this assertion...easily 3 more good years.  if he doesn’t come then you’re bang on and have excellent judgement. 

lol seems we think the same @Superunknown

Edited by Wells 11
Posted

I think Mitch really only said Geelong were in play in the sense that it's so close to the period opening and no one knows what he's doing. 

a 3 year deal from a finals contended for a 31 year old, and an assistant coach he is by reports to coming across as well has to give us a pretty big chance of landing him. so still backing Smith to come to the Dees but who knows. don't get why he hasn't declared. 

Would love to see @Dr evil post something that isn't just common knowledge that he's taken slightly further and claimed it as inside info, no idea if he's legit or not but would love to see who these mystery two players are so we can actually judge the intel. 

Posted
29 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Mitch Clearly just that Isaac Smith to Geelong is potentially in play.

Smith is coming to Melbourne, just like Brown. 

Posted
24 minutes ago, buck_nekkid said:

Another lifestyle move?  Don’t these guys know that it’s only a 10 minute drive to the Collingwood children’s farm from AAMI park?

And only 15-20 minutes by bicycling along the Yarra; fresh air, birds in the trees and less Mosquitos than the Bellarine peninsula.

Posted
18 minutes ago, Dr evil said:

Relax guys, he's coming. Issac Smith will be a demon in 2021 and a seriously good inclusion for us. 

That's some serious doubling down right there.

I assume things can still change now that Geelong's season is over. Unless he has already physically signed on with the Demons surely nothing is set in stone.

Posted
1 minute ago, Kelpien said:

That's some serious doubling down right there.

I assume things can still change now that Geelong's season is over. Unless he has already physically signed on with the Demons surely nothing is set in stone.

My opinion is he's having a hard time officially telling the Hawks. they know, because they aren't stupid, but actually telling a club you've been at for a long period of time, and had a lot of success with is a big deal. 

Posted
On 10/25/2020 at 1:39 PM, rpfc said:

His first challenge is to continue to get better with when he kicks and when he handballs. He struggles to punish the opposition with how much first use we get in the middle. I should watch tape of his mate CP5. 
I think he can be better ‘getting’ release hands from Viney and co. and doing something with his ability to find space to deliver. He’s still 1 dimensional in close ‘if I get it I will be doing all these things, if my teammate gets it... well off to the next contest where I can get it...’

That might be unfair but that is my opinion.

Not unfair at all. Reasonable comments.

More goals and more damaging possessions will both combine to take to him to the very elite level, where we all expect him to get to.

At that the very elite level the best players really hurt opposition teams. And regularly change the trajectory of a match. True match winners. The most obvious example is dusty. Trac is getting there. 

I think it is fair to suggest true mids have less opportunity to turn matches. And their accumulated numbers are less flash, but very important. But the best still find a way to do something special when needed.

Neale is the benchmark. High numbers and high hurt factor. And an ability to be clutch when needed. Like in their first final. No possessions in the first quarter. Worked his way into in rhe second. And then kicked a clutch set shot goal from the edge of his distance range that changed the momentum of the game.

Posted
11 minutes ago, Marcus94 said:

I drove past a street yesterday named 'Isaac Smith street' i'm telling you it's a sign! I reckon he'll become a demon.

That's a "sign" alright. AND it's in the City of Casey. Double sign.

ISAACSMITHSIGN.png

• Haha 10
Posted
1 minute ago, Demonland said:

That's a "sign" alright. AND it's in the City of Casey. Double sign.

ISAACSMITHSIGN.png

He'll play in the magoos all year?

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, A F said:

Smith is coming to Melbourne, just like Brown. 

Thats bold. 

Should this not occur, you'll have more egg on your face than our other Demonland Nostradamus!

?

Edited by Moonshadow
Posted
1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

i thought Smith was very ordinary when we last played the Hawks. Well past his best IMO.

I don't recall him specifically stinking it up against us earlier in the year but I'll take your word for it.

I do recall him ripping it up against Richmond in round 3 on his way to 3 brownlow votes.

Posted
1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

I actually watched that game on the weekend and thought he was pretty good in a team that was well beaten.

Posted
46 minutes ago, demonstone said:

That Monahan bloke might be worth a look as well.

He looks to be at the crossroads of his career