Posted

I reckon the footy has been really ordinary this year so far, the skill, teh no crowd, teh short qtrs.. this is just adds to teh lack of connection i have to teh game at teh moment. Unusual year and all that i know but its a long way off feeling like it used to.

Posted
3 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Great. And  dictator Dan shutting the state down again because he allowed stupid selfish protestors to march 

Grrrrrr

You’re not too sharp. 

Posted
17 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

Can't see Essendon playing round 4 or 5

Throws the season into dissary

Three clubs will be affected by this.

Posted
20 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Testing irregularity yesterday, yet still allowed to train this morning. Wow. The arrogance of that club is unbelievable.

Surely that should be grounds for a forfeit on their part!?!?

Posted
1 minute ago, loges said:

Three clubs will be affected by this.

actually 18 in some way, any of which might affect the outcome of the season.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

Gil will be forced to make a difficult call on them by Thurs.  Surely Essendrug is culpable IF it allowed him to train with a low grade positive this week / today?

You are probably not far wrong with this.  They forfeit matches, including ours, or the season is put on ice.  Im betting the former.

I'm thinking the former to.... The negative press would be huge if there is another positive test which comes from the AFL.

Posted

BTW, in response to those who asked how he could get back into the country in the first place, he is probably a permanent resident (been here 6 years I think) and thus is allowed in along with citizens.

Posted

8 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

This covid virus must be seriously tough [censored].

How any bug could survive with all the drug residues that must be floating around at Windy Hill defies imagination.

Let Conor play.  Its nothing a little Thymosin Beta 4 can't fix.

• Haha 5
Posted
9 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Great. And  dictator Dan shutting the state down again because he allowed stupid selfish protestors to march 

Actually, there have been no new cases linked to the march. As Andrews said, apart from known clusters and a couple of arrivals from overseas, it's all family gatherings.

Posted

And they want to let foriegn students back in the country. It is just pathetic. Make em quarantine at windy  hill.

Posted
2 minutes ago, sue said:

BTW, in response to those who asked how he could get back into the country in the first place, he is probably a permanent resident (been here 6 years I think) and thus is allowed in along with citizens.

He would have been in isolation everyone is who comes into the country aus citizen or not. Has caught it since then.

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, sue said:

Thanks for the info 'sue'...

That makes sense if he is a permanent resident.

Edited by rjay

Posted
31 minutes ago, rjay said:

Absolutely, Australians have been allowed to return home.

It's not only Australians who have the right to live/work in Australia.

Posted
1 minute ago, bing181 said:

It's not only Australians who have the right to live/work in Australia.

That's correct but I thought it was only Australians that were allowed back into the country since the government closed the borders.

'sue', pointed out that permanent residents have also been allowed back in which makes sense.

I hope and expect he would have permanent resident status...

Posted
2 minutes ago, old dee said:

He would have been in isolation everyone is who comes into the country aus citizen or not. Has caught it since then.

I don't believe that. Reckon he has had it since Ireland. Out of all the people in the afl there is one who has it and he recently come from overseas. That is where the bulk of cases come from.

Posted (edited)

Just to add to the fun, Andrews has hinted at the potential of locking down localised corona hot-spots as is being done in Germany and elsewhere abroad. One of the current hot-spots: Casey. 

Edited by Skuit
Posted
3 minutes ago, rjay said:

Thanks for the info 'sue'...

That makes sense if he is a permanent resident.

It's unlikely he'd be here that long without permanent residency,  But for completeness, I believe non-residents/non-citizens can apply for special exemptions, (like visiting a dying relative, which caused an issue in NZ).  I trust playing AFL would not be considered for an exemption.

Posted
20 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Grrrrrr

How is he a dictator if he allowed protestors to march?

Try Politics 101 again. 

Posted

Will this mean that Essendon will not be able to play for 14 days while they self isolate to ensure that no one else in the team has contracted the virus.

Posted

they tested positive in 2014, it was inevitable they would test positive again. 

#whateverittakes 

Posted

The AFL is not above the Victorian government rules which are that you have to isolate for 14 days if in close contact with someone who tests positive.

On that basis, Essendon should be ruled out of Rounds 4 and 5 as well as tomorrow’s postponed game. 

The consequences are that the fixture for the coming rounds is automatically revised or the Bombers forfeit those games or the season gets cancelled.

Feel sorry for McKenna and Essendon but it’s likely that this is not going to be the only isolated incident over the season and a precedent has to be set for the season that’s reasonable for all parties involved.