Posted

7pm on Fox Footy. Think Jako kicks 11?

• Author

Have never seen this before. Might have to record Wrestlemania 28 on ESPN at the same time.

Edited by Clintosaurus

Wow--eee can't wait..........Jackalenko you beauty !

Ahh yes I remember this day well. Watching the Ch7 Feed live, back at The ABC with Alex First

We had to cut the Highlights Package for the 7pm News. I think i just put in Jacko’s 11 goals and him getting reported!!

Extraodinary day. And then later that night Daicos kicked 12 up in Brisvegas 

I was filthy. We had been overshadowed again!!

Amazing how our club couldn’t win a flag with so many multiple goal kickers during that era of the early 90s with Jackovich,Schwarz,Lyon  who were on fire in 94

How good was that .  Found myself wiping away a tear after Jacka goaled with a banana after the 3/4 time siren .  It was bizarre that one of my least fav players , Simon Eishold , played considerably better than champs such as Carey and Lyon .

11 goals , nine behinds. 20 shots at goal is mind blowing really. And a lot of them on one of the best lockdown defenders of the time in Martyn. Hard to fully enjoy it without feeling how tragic it was that his career was cut so short. 

Andrew Obst. What a terrific player. Nice going down memory lane.

Pity his career ended so short. Add in Scwarta's knee problems and can just imagine if they both stayed fit and healthy.

Two things from this game other than his goals were did he got off the report and how good was Stynes.

It was great to watch the game again, and, and see myself on the tv.

3 hours ago, Docs Demons said:

Pity his career ended so short. Add in Scwarta's knee problems and can just imagine if they both stayed fit and healthy.

Two things from this game other than his goals were did he got off the report and how good was Stynes.

He got a week i think ? 

I was at this game and every Demon supporter was in exhilaration.  

Jakovich is the most exciting player that I have seen in the red and blue.  He brought fans to the game. He excited young and old.  My late father thought he was incredible.  He’d jump up every time Jakovich got the ball.  It was such a shame that his body (and perhaps his attitude) didn’t allow him to play more.  He was a sensation.  

Yes, he was a gun, pity only for a few years. He was just electric in that game, and so often would just go get the ball, rarely put on a plate for him.

It would be brilliant to find another player like him!!

14 hours ago, Wells 11 said:

11 goals , nine behinds. 20 shots at goal is mind blowing really. And a lot of them on one of the best lockdown defenders of the time in Martyn. Hard to fully enjoy it without feeling how tragic it was that his career was cut so short. 

Truly amazing wasn't it? 

It was always a possibility when going to watch him play...you didn't know if he would kick 10 goals 1 or 1 goal 10.  Either way it was his ability to make something out of nothing.  As Drew Morphett said at one point 20 possessions as a full forward doesn't happen. 

Jakovich was awesome  even before coming to Melbourne. I was living in SA the year before he was drafted to the Dees.

There were 2 gun full forwards in the SANfl. Scott Hodges was playing for Port Adelaide, who were premiers that year, kicked 100+ goals. He had the benefit of a dominant midfield.

Jako played for Woodville who finished bottom. He also kicked 100+ goals in what was basically a team making up the numbers. It was an amazing effort. I was elated when he was drafted to the Demons.

I travelled over to Melbourne for this game against North, and saw one of the most incredible displays of forward play. 20 scoring shots - what a star!

22 hours ago, Demonland said:

If you want to skip to all of Jakovich’s scoring shots then watch here. 

Thanks for posting!  A great watch on a cold winter’s saturday.  The game is so different now, probably better viewing back then.  Tough as blazes, too.  What a great Demons team - I wonder how they would fare in the modern world?  

• Author

The Wiz kicking 9 in a half is on Fox at 7.30

On 5/9/2020 at 12:48 PM, george_on_the_outer said:

Truly amazing wasn't it? 

It was always a possibility when going to watch him play...you didn't know if he would kick 10 goals 1 or 1 goal 10.  Either way it was his ability to make something out of nothing.  As Drew Morphett said at one point 20 possessions as a full forward doesn't happen. 

"Possessions" was not really Jako's kind of stat. That day his 11.8 came from 22 kicks and 0 handballs. I reckon those 3 non-scoring kicks would have been well represented by oob's on the full. His approach to his teammates seemed to be: why give off when you can have a ping yourself? 

I looked at the AFL stats site for that year and  in 14 games he kicked 71.57 for the year, with 10 handballs for the season. And 3 tackles! The handballs were probably mistakes or handballs to himself.

A truly exciting footballer. The thought of seeing him strut his stuff gave Dees fans an extra buzz approaching the ground. A flawed but hugely talented player.

Edited by Tim