Die Hard Demon 1,224 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 We have absolutely nothing to lose and so much to gain by picking him up. Imagine if Darren Burgess our fitness guru gets him right.. Not only will he be EXACTLY what we need. But we could be a team that talented players with niggling injuries turn to as an opportunity to get themselves right. At the moment, blokes like Jager Omeara, Scully, Paton are turning to Hawks for that reason. Doesn't work out? Oh well, they are the expectations from the whole football world anyway. 2 Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 1 hour ago, Lord Nev said: I was talking about when Martin was out of contract and being shopped around, sorry should have been clearer. Every club ignored him then. Quote
rjay 25,434 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 1 hour ago, stevethemanjordan said: Burgoyne? Scully? O'Meara? You had a reasonable argument 'steve' until you mentioned these 3. 3 of the most professional players in the game. In reality you can't put them in the same argument. 2 Quote
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 8 minutes ago, drysdale demon said: Every club ignored him then. True, and look at him now. Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 1 minute ago, Lord Nev said: True, and look at him now. Happens Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,578 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 Anyone that has managed to pull off a 27 possession, 11 mark, 6 goal game is of interest to me. 3 1 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 Steven May would know him well. MFC will surely get the low down from him. I suspect we have too many perennially injured players on our list to be chasing another. 1 Quote
Redleg 42,195 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 3 hours ago, SPC said: I appreciate he may not play much and there is huge risk.. Would just love to be bold and have some things fall out way. Not since Jurrah have I been excited about an individual player.. This guy was a star. Best player in the comp for 12 months. The beauty of it is that it isn’t our decision. 1 1 Quote
ProperDee 1,698 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 He’ll go to a Melbourne based club alright. But it will be the type that opens at night and plays loud music. 1 5 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 4 minutes ago, ProperDee said: He’ll go to a Melbourne based club alright. But it will be the type that opens at night and plays loud music. Won't go to Syd or GWS, then.... lock out laws. 2 Quote
ding 5,126 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 8 hours ago, Lord Nev said: And just adding some further info... According to the report, specialists have identified a tendon pushing onto a nerve in both of Bennell's calves is the cause of the problem. Bennell is adamant he still has plenty of good footy left in him and is determined to get his body right. Importantly, surgeons are confident he will be ready to hit the track by November. Report: Bennell to meet with Victorian club "Experts" also said that the cause of KK's repeated concussions was a neck problem, and the message from the club was that it would be able to be managed now that a diagnosis was in hand. That worked out well for us didnt it? Experts arent always correct. (Not a personal shot Nev, just expressing huge caution) 1 Quote
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 26 minutes ago, ding said: "Experts" also said that the cause of KK's repeated concussions was a neck problem, and the message from the club was that it would be able to be managed now that a diagnosis was in hand. That worked out well for us didnt it? Experts arent always correct. (Not a personal shot Nev, just expressing huge caution) Yeah for sure, and the timing of them all of a sudden finding a magical cure is a bit suss. Would think Burgo would be all over it should we actually have interest though. 1 Quote
chookrat 4,268 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 1 hour ago, ProperDee said: He’ll go to a Melbourne based club alright. But it will be the type that opens at night and plays loud music. St Kilda is probably a good fit and he'd blend in well with tip rat hairdo and tatts. Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,681 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 Demons would be least likely suitor. Many others like Bulldogs, Hawks, saints or Kangas are probably the club. Quote
chookrat 4,268 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 (edited) 4 hours ago, Die Hard Demon said: We have absolutely nothing to lose and so much to gain by picking him up. Imagine if Darren Burgess our fitness guru gets him right.. Not only will he be EXACTLY what we need. But we could be a team that talented players with niggling injuries turn to as an opportunity to get themselves right. At the moment, blokes like Jager Omeara, Scully, Paton are turning to Hawks for that reason. Doesn't work out? Oh well, they are the expectations from the whole football world anyway. Interesting point re Darren Burgess. I did some research re his background and in addition to elite level exoerience with Port Adelaide Football Club he was also Fitness Boss for an English Premiership League side named Arsenal. I further researched the EPL and Arsenal and they are a 'football' league, soccer to be precise, and are run quite professionally not unlike the AFL. For those of us who have seen soccer before they suffer some hideous leg injuries and use this magic spray which has the players back up in minutes. I hope the club did its due dillegence and asked Darren Burgess how much magic spray he is able to bring with him. I reckon ot would work a treat with Harley Bennell. Edited August 7, 2019 by chookrat 2 1 Quote
FireInTheBennelly 4,104 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 6 hours ago, Lord Nev said: Might not be remembering correctly (and obviously not exactly the same situation), but didn't we pass on Dusty because he was far too unsavoury for our gentlemanly club? Similar storyline isn't it. What's Choco up to these days? 1 Quote
Demonstone 23,644 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 That Dustin Martin story is a classic example of a myth that's been repeated so often that some people are now happy to consider it as fact. The club (like everybody else) identified Scully and Trengove as the two standouts at the time and drafted them. 1 Quote
Tony Tea 2,816 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 Take this as read: Bennell's Achilles is cooked. Quote
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 46 minutes ago, demonstone said: That Dustin Martin story is a classic example of a myth that's been repeated so often that some people are now happy to consider it as fact. The club (like everybody else) identified Scully and Trengove as the two standouts at the time and drafted them. Mate, as mentioned previously, I'm talking about when he was out of contract around about 2013 or so and teams were weighing up the risk v reward. Quote
Demonstone 23,644 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 Same principle, Lord Nev. People, including some of our so-called supporters, like to perpetuate the myth that the club only recruits "nice" private schoolboy types. Again, others come to accept this as the truth. Quote
Skuit 10,031 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 1 hour ago, chookrat said: Interesting point re Darren Burgess. I did some research re his background and in addition to elite level exoerience with Port Adelaide Football Club he was also Fitness Boss for an English Premiership League side named Arsenal. I further researched the EPL and Arsenal and they are a 'football' league, soccer to be precise, and are run quite professionally not unlike the AFL. For those of us who have seen soccer before they suffer some hideous leg injuries and use this magic spray which has the players back up in minutes. I hope the club did its due dillegence and asked Darren Burgess how much magic spray he is able to bring with him. I reckon ot would work a treat with Harley Bennell. You sir wins today's internet. 220 × 220 1 4 Quote
Demon trucker 1,800 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 1 hour ago, demonstone said: That Dustin Martin story is a classic example of a myth that's been repeated so often that some people are now happy to consider it as fact. The club (like everybody else) identified Scully and Trengove as the two standouts at the time and drafted them. Dusty was always a better player then both scully and trengove, all Scilly has is his running power Trengove was alway a 1, dimensional player, the only reason he went at 3 is because of his family background Quote
Skuit 10,031 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 For what it's worth I'm in team yay Harley Bennell. The irony is that successful teams can take a punt on outsiders (see Stack, Ryan etc.) while bottom-dwellers need to be super-cautious about this concept called culture. [censored] it. Let's take some risks. 1 1 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,717 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 I said it earlier in this thread but I'll say it again. The supplemental list period allows clubs to have guys train with them before officially being listed. That's the move for Bennell. If his body holds up all summer and he's ready to play by March that's when you give him a contract. Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted August 7, 2019 Posted August 7, 2019 38 minutes ago, don't make me angry said: Dusty was always a better player then both scully and trengove, all Scilly has is his running power Trengove was alway a 1, dimensional player, the only reason he went at 3 is because of his family background 2 1 Quote