Posted

Personally I still believe in a smaller, faster and better two way working forward line with guys like Melksham, Fritsch and Petracca as marking options hitting the space and then only a couple of genuine talls. Mitch Brown has never struck me as a hard enough two way worker to really demand selection as a 3rd option. 

But this tweet (the second one) about the game plan from the members forum has me thinking the coaches very much value more mobile marking power in the forward line.

Petty might be in line for first crack, but Brown might be bought in so we have the depth required.

Posted
On 11/18/2019 at 12:40 PM, Accepting Mediocrity said:

Risk? We'd be picking him up for next to nothing on a 1 yr contract - if he never plays a senior match, what exactly have we lost?

An opportunity....but he will be OK

Posted

So it sounds like we're going to be bringing him in in the same way as Bennell (what's the limit on how much players you can take on in this way?). 

Ultimately it's a low risk situation, and if selected to the main list he'll be there as depth in case we are stretched for forward options. I felt like the last few years we had been comfortable with moving tall forwards on but didn't recruit coverage for the ones we kept, Brown might be a remedy for that.

Posted
38 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Listen to the SEN app GC. It’s great for info. 

thanks mate, I don't mind SEN

Posted
On 11/13/2019 at 5:56 PM, TGR said:

According to the Fin Review:

"Andrew "Twiggy" Forrest's Fortescue Metals generated $9.1 billion in sales in 2014-15 for a taxable income of $208 million, on which he paid just $13.2 million".

Only 2 certainties, not 3.  And the last aint a badge of honour either.

Yep he's only donated $500m in the past 2 years in philanthropic causes you goose.

What a non-contributor he is to this country.

Posted
1 hour ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Does anyone at the club still have Pedo's mobile number? 

#EpsteinDidn't KillHimself

Prince Andrew might still be taking calls though....

Posted

21 goals in 16 games covering for Joe the goose

He is a bargain in my opinion. Also some cover if TMac doesn't return to form as expected or Wied goes missing again

A very cheap insurance policy Well done MFC

Posted

More feedback from another Essendon supporter is promising. Says his main strength is his kicking and he is capable forward or back. He couldn't believe they let him go.

Our key position depth is non-existent. I was originally hoping we would go after Josh Walker, but I've more than come around to Mitch Brown.

Posted

Why did Essendon not give him another year anyway, seems a solid player. Considering how injury prone all our talls have been lately I think it’s a smart move.

Posted
On 11/18/2019 at 3:10 PM, Accepting Mediocrity said:

Risk? We'd be picking him up for next to nothing on a 1 yr contract - if he never plays a senior match, what exactly have we lost?

You've lost the opportunity to blood a younger play with the needed AFL experience.....instead of banking your chips on a player/players at their 3rd club.

pretty obvious I reckon.....

Posted
On 11/18/2019 at 5:55 PM, Fifty-5 said:

Still didn't answer "who" specifically we should be going for.

Looking at the way the 666 has been injected into our game last year, then for me, I would be targeting players with speed & players that can transition the footy under pressure. One of our main issues last year, again only in my opinion, was the high turn over rate from our midfield & this also needs to be addressed as a priority.

Posted
33 minutes ago, Laughing Goat said:

You've lost the opportunity to blood a younger play with the needed AFL experience.....instead of banking your chips on a player/players at their 3rd club.

Because gifting games to youngsters has worked out so well for us previously...

If they can't get a senior game ahead of Brown, they're either not ready or not up to it. The 'young player + afl experience = gun' formula has never worked and never will (we of all teams know that). That's what Casey's for.

He'd be a cheap insurance policy for our injury-prone forwards that will almost certainly offer more in 2020 than a 1st year rookie. Every premiership team has at least a couple of average 'role player' types.

Posted
31 minutes ago, Accepting Mediocrity said:

If they can't get a senior game ahead of Brown, they're either not ready or not up to it. The 'young player + afl experience = gun' formula has never worked and never will (we of all teams know that). That's what Casey's for.

Lot of truth in that...

big failing at the MFC in 2018/19 is that no one really pressed their claim to dislodge Lewis or Jones for that matter.

The flip side is that experience at VFL level is increasingly becoming irrelevant as an indicator that a player can make it at AFL level.

As a one year contract I cannot see much downside.

Posted
2 hours ago, Laughing Goat said:

Looking at the way the 666 has been injected into our game last year, then for me, I would be targeting players with speed & players that can transition the footy under pressure. One of our main issues last year, again only in my opinion, was the high turn over rate from our midfield & this also needs to be addressed as a priority.

Do they have names?

Posted
On 11/13/2019 at 4:58 PM, DeeZee said:

Looks like we are getting ready for a big tilt at the flag.

Recruiting Langdon , Tomlinson, Bennell and possibly Murray to take care of our outside needs and now Mitch Brown for some more forward depth. 

With picks 3 and 8 as well , and the players putting in a big effort over the pre season we look dead serious to achieve something next season.

This should be the minimum requirement each year. I am somewhat excited about what's been happening at the club this off season. Seems to be an approach/strategy for next season we haven't seen yet from our beloved club. Optimistic for the first time in many many years

Posted

Happy to take. 

Weeds

Macca

Trac

Bennell

Hannan

Pickett (?)

Brown

Preuss

Think he offers some insurance and maybe good to have a player that has faced the grind and came through. 

Posted
37 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

Do they have names?

Liam Henry

Posted
13 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

Liam Henry

We're talking about filling the last 2 list spots with Bennell and Brown. Goat hates both ideas. I'd like to hear the alternatives.

Posted
1 minute ago, Fifty-5 said:

We're talking about filling the last 2 list spots with Bennell and Brown. Goat hates both ideas. I'd like to hear the alternatives.

Fair enough.  I'm more than happy with both of those.  If nothing else Brown gives us more depth and puts pressure / provides coverage over the likes of Petty, Smith (who i think will be depth down back) and Weid (if he hasn't stepped up by Rnd 6 or so).

Petty showed a little in the last few rounds of last year which would have excited the FD.  Offered some mobility and marking inside 50 which had been sadly lacking for much of the season.

Appears to be reasonably accurate with set shots also.  Something to build on especially with another solid pre-season behind him.

Posted

Leaving rookie spots open for Bennell and Brown confirms we''ll be taking a maximum of 3 picks to the draft to make a senior list of 38 players.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Nascent said:

Leaving rookie spots open for Bennell and Brown confirms we''ll be taking a maximum of 3 picks to the draft to make a senior list of 38 players.

Do we have to leave 2 spots open for Bennell and Brown? We could leave 1 spot open and let the best man win.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Nascent said:

Shame we can't package up pick #97 and [insert scapegoat player here] for a 2nd-rounder.