Kent 2,920 Posted August 19, 2019 Posted August 19, 2019 On 19/08/2019 at 22:50, Bring-Back-Powell said: Needs to work on his goal kicking from the 40 metre plus range if he's to make it as a forward. Can certainly take a contested mark though which is a great sign. Expand He should fit right in at the DEES then. Quote
Grimes Times 1,278 Posted August 20, 2019 Posted August 20, 2019 On 19/08/2019 at 10:46, Win4theAges said: Everyone forgetting about Petty's impact, He's going to be a great forward, why do we need a to use a pick on a forward? we need small forwards and midfield pace. Expand Petty had never played forward until last month. He will go back to defense next year and take Frost spot and we will be 2-4 goals better off without Frost. Quote
whatwhat say what 23,863 Posted August 20, 2019 Posted August 20, 2019 On 20/08/2019 at 04:41, Grimes Times said: Petty had never played forward until last month. He will go back to defense next year and take Frost spot and we will be 2-4 goals better off without Frost. Expand interesting thought i don't rate frost particularly, tbh, but i don't mind the idea of t mac, weed, and petty in the forward line as a trio of talls, albeit that would be going against the majority of modern football philosophies so...i'm kinda in agreement! B: Jetta - May - Lever HB: Salem - Petty - Hibberd with hore plus others (jones?) rolling back 3 Quote
Panamapapers 60 Posted August 20, 2019 Posted August 20, 2019 On 20/08/2019 at 05:03, whatwhatsaywhat said: interesting thought i don't rate frost particularly, tbh, but i don't mind the idea of t mac, weed, and petty in the forward line as a trio of talls, albeit that would be going against the majority of modern football philosophies so...i'm kinda in agreement! B: Jetta - May - Lever HB: Salem - Petty - Hibberd with hore plus others (jones?) rolling back Expand Why wont the club make the right call and tell Jones his times up? He has NOTHING to offer and is selfish as f*** 7 Quote
samcantstandya 1,081 Posted August 20, 2019 Posted August 20, 2019 On 20/08/2019 at 12:33, Panamapapers said: Why wont the club make the right call and tell Jones his times up? He has NOTHING to offer and is selfish as f*** Expand Because we are not professional. Jones has a high opinion of himself bit since that very first game this yr agst Port he has been fumble and bomb it long type player. Def shouldn't be captain in 2020. Quote
Demon Disciple 12,537 Posted August 20, 2019 Posted August 20, 2019 On 20/08/2019 at 12:33, Panamapapers said: Why wont the club make the right call and tell Jones his times up? He has NOTHING to offer and is selfish as f*** Expand Agree, Jones is done. Attempting to get him to 300 games would not only be selfish of him and the club, but it would dent his halcyon days when he went back-back-back in the B&F. Quote
Kent 2,920 Posted August 20, 2019 Posted August 20, 2019 On 20/08/2019 at 13:14, samcantstandya said: Because we are not professional. Jones has a high opinion of himself bit since that very first game this yr agst Port he has been fumble and bomb it long type player. Def shouldn't be captain in 2020. Expand Yes remember we had a number of these types, Maloney comes to mind, forced the club to play a poor brand of footy Agree club must make that call and season end Quote
samcantstandya 1,081 Posted August 20, 2019 Posted August 20, 2019 On 20/08/2019 at 22:08, Kent said: Yes remember we had a number of these types, Maloney comes to mind, forced the club to play a poor brand of footy Agree club must make that call and season end Expand Hopefully we show like Hawthorn "the family club" that we are not sentimental and let certain players rule the club. Let's be honest he isn't the player he was & offers no leadership or footy smarts. He is see ball kick ball long and high or overpossess the ball & get pinged. If he gets a 1 yr contract he has 2b on miminal money and he needs to play at Casey if his form continues to turn to crud. No way do we gift him games so he can play 300. Otherwise let him go 2 the Suns. Quote
Red and Blue realist 2,063 Posted August 21, 2019 Posted August 21, 2019 If Gold Coast don't get an early priority pick (2) and get a middle of end of first, then I reckon we could look at trading with GC but get a little creative. I'd be happy to give pick 2 plus Frost/OMac and also maybe a 3rd next year for King, pick 16/17, (Brissy's first this year) J Martin plus also have an agreement with GC that they don't bid on Landgon and we convince him to go into the pre-season draft. We'd end up with the first round pick we have to use this year, King, Martin and Langdon while holding onto our 2nd round pick. Quote
Dee tention 619 Posted August 21, 2019 Posted August 21, 2019 On 20/08/2019 at 13:14, Demon Disciple said: Agree, Jones is done. Attempting to get him to 300 games would not only be selfish of him and the club, but it would dent his halcyon days when he went back-back-back in the B&F. Expand I think Jonesy still can play an important role. His best position is midfield. Not half back or wing! I would be playing Jones off the bench to impact as a contested clearance player. Similar to how Hawthorn played Crawford in his last year. You don’t terminate players who are part of the fabric. He definitely still has plenty to offer. Relinquishing the captaincy can improve his game also... don’t go down the JuniorMac path with club champions! 1 Quote
Dee*ceiving 1,738 Posted August 21, 2019 Posted August 21, 2019 Nathan Jones' disposal efficiency in 71.4% in 2019. Far from terrible. He is definitely prone to the under pressure up and under bomb, always has, but worsened by loss of pace and dexteriety in the last year or 2 definitely. However, I think he's one of the few players that have hit quite a few 40-50 metre hit up passes to the forwards. 1 Quote
Demon3 2,541 Posted August 21, 2019 Posted August 21, 2019 I want my Captain having more than 2.2 tackles per match, including 4 tackles in our last 6 games. He cant enforce himself on the game anymore, Viney averages 5.2 and even Brayshaw who i reckon has lacked care and responsibility all year is averaging 4.1 tackles per match. Jones cant be captain and he can barely be best 22 anymore. Its a fact. Good teams wouldn't put up with it. Hawthorn let Mitchell, Lewis, Hodge go because they are a strong club, we are weak and scared. 1 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted September 1, 2019 Posted September 1, 2019 (edited) The old 'no hurry to re-sign' comment... https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/no-time-frame-on-gold-coast-call-for-ben-king-20190901-p52mvi.html Edited September 1, 2019 by Moonshadow 2 Quote
Adam The God 30,744 Posted September 4, 2019 Posted September 4, 2019 Surprised more on here aren't pushing the Ben King line. Has anyone heard anything? Quote
dazzledavey36 56,345 Posted September 4, 2019 Posted September 4, 2019 On 04/09/2019 at 12:36, A F said: Surprised more on here aren't pushing the Ben King line. Has anyone heard anything? Expand Only reports I have read is that Cold Coast will not trade him this year even though St Kilda asked the question. Quote
Adam The God 30,744 Posted September 4, 2019 Posted September 4, 2019 On 04/09/2019 at 12:42, dazzledavey36 said: Only reports I have read is that Cold Coast will not trade him this year even though St Kilda asked the question. Expand Interesting. Thanks mate. I wonder if it gave them the first three picks in the ND though, would GC entertain the idea...? Quote
dazzledavey36 56,345 Posted September 4, 2019 Posted September 4, 2019 On 04/09/2019 at 12:47, A F said: Interesting. Thanks mate. I wonder if it gave them the first three picks in the ND though, would GC entertain the idea...? Expand They'd be absolutely silly not to consider it hard. 1 Quote
Adam The God 30,744 Posted September 4, 2019 Posted September 4, 2019 On 04/09/2019 at 12:48, dazzledavey36 said: They'd be absolutely silly not to consider it hard. Expand Particularly, if they're not convinced they'll be able to keep him longer than next year. Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted September 4, 2019 Posted September 4, 2019 We are mad if we don't dangle pick 3 under their nose for King. 2 Quote
Demons11 7,149 Posted September 4, 2019 Posted September 4, 2019 If he wants to leave after 1 year, I wouldn’t want him. Suck it up princess you are 1yr into your career Quote
Wells 11 5,503 Posted September 4, 2019 Posted September 4, 2019 On 04/09/2019 at 13:40, Demons11 said: If he wants to leave after 1 year, I wouldn’t want him. Suck it up princess you are 1yr into your career Expand That’s what the hawks thought about Scully ... and the doggies thought about Boyd. Not. Quote
Pennant St Dee 13,455 Posted September 4, 2019 Posted September 4, 2019 On 04/09/2019 at 13:40, Demons11 said: If he wants to leave after 1 year, I wouldn’t want him. Suck it up princess you are 1yr into your career Expand Hard to know, guess all interested parties would do their due diligence. We were into Jeff White very early doors, Eagles did the same with Cripps and Yeo 1 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,682 Posted September 4, 2019 Posted September 4, 2019 On 04/09/2019 at 12:42, dazzledavey36 said: Only reports I have read is that Cold Coast will not trade him this year even though St Kilda asked the question. Expand The romance of playing alongside his brother would be nice but I also don't see why Ben would want to go to the Saints. It would be near on impossible to develop 2 baby giraffes in the same forward line and Ben would probably end up down back again as he was in their junior careers. If the AFL do the right thing and refuse the priority pick we then have a way for the Suns to get the 2 guys they want in the draft. In fact given the AFL's love of a negotiated outcome I'd go to them and say we'll put pick 2 on the table for Ben King (maybe part of a bigger deal) so the Suns can get the 2 best mates with the top 2 picks. That's what I'd be doing if I were Josh Mahoney - assuming the club rates King higher than the pick 3 we might be in line to get. 2 Quote
deebug 1,754 Posted September 4, 2019 Posted September 4, 2019 On 04/09/2019 at 15:07, DeeSpencer said: The romance of playing alongside his brother would be nice but I also don't see why Ben would want to go to the Saints. It would be near on impossible to develop 2 baby giraffes in the same forward line and Ben would probably end up down back again as he was in their junior careers. If the AFL do the right thing and refuse the priority pick we then have a way for the Suns to get the 2 guys they want in the draft. In fact given the AFL's love of a negotiated outcome I'd go to them and say we'll put pick 2 on the table for Ben King (maybe part of a bigger deal) so the Suns can get the 2 best mates with the top 2 picks. That's what I'd be doing if I were Josh Mahoney - assuming the club rates King higher than the pick 3 we might be in line to get. Expand Have to agree, i also can't see both up forward. Also if we were to take him, i wonder if after his contract ends with us, would he turn around and leave to play with the saints? Quote
Roger Mellie 4,205 Posted September 4, 2019 Posted September 4, 2019 On 04/09/2019 at 15:07, DeeSpencer said: In fact given the AFL's love of a negotiated outcome I'd go to them and say we'll put pick 2 on the table for Ben King (maybe part of a bigger deal) so the Suns can get the 2 best mates with the top 2 picks. That's what I'd be doing if I were Josh Mahoney - assuming the club rates King higher than the pick 3 we might be in line to get. Expand I would expect Richo to already have a (good) relationship with King to ideally help things along. If a trade of some kind was orchestrated, it would look look less like the AFL compromising/interfering in the draft because the two top picks are coincidently best mates. Quote