Posted

Sadly this is not satire, and it actually happened.  The guy didn't even say anything bad.   The current AFL administration gets worse with every passing day.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/richmond-bans-cheer-squad-member-for-three-games-after-green-maggot-comment-20190531-p51tdj.html

A Richmond cheer squad member was banned from sitting in the cheer squad for three matches after being found to have shouted: “be consistent, you green maggot” in a Tigers game last month

11 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

Sadly this is not satire, and it actually happened.  The guy didn't even say anything bad.   The current AFL administration gets worse with every passing day.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/richmond-bans-cheer-squad-member-for-three-games-after-green-maggot-comment-20190531-p51tdj.html

A Richmond cheer squad member was banned from sitting in the cheer squad for three matches after being found to have shouted: “be consistent, you green maggot” in a Tigers game last month

He deserves it as the umpire was in yellow. 

Um, banned from sitting in the cheer squad, for three games.

Weird situation where the punishment is trivial but also seems an overreaction.

And where almost any reaction to this situation is in turn an overreaction.

Does also have a whiff of 'quick, find a way to look like we are doing something about obnoxious crowd behaviour'.

They should ban their entire cheer squad.

Edited by Emerald

Next all booing will be banned.

What a pathetic mob we have running, or rather ruining, the AFL.

Ridiculous penalty for something every footy fan has said.

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

They’d give me the Chair.

Is that ol’ Sparky from Mississippi or the comfy chair from Monty Python at the Spanish Inquisition?

Yet it was OK for opposition supporters to abuse Melbourne supporters with their children at last weeks game against the Giants at the MCG. Good on you AFL. Proactive as usual. Hypocrites. 

This just shows how pathetic and politically correct the AFL are.

Ban fans for having a go at umpires, then quietly drop umpires every week for poor performances. 

This year has been the worst umpiring I have ever witnessed across all games. Inconsistent and completely random.

13 hours ago, Redleg said:

He deserves it as the umpire was in yellow. 

That’s why I prefer the term ‘snot goblin’, covers both outfits.

8 hours ago, Jaded said:

Ban fans for having a go at umpires, then quietly drop umpires every week for poor performances. 

This year has been the worst umpiring I have ever witnessed across all games. Inconsistent and completely random.

The umpires need to be made full time professionals. To make that happen we’d first need the AFL to become professional in the way they run things. Being a monopoly institution, don’t hold your breath.

12 hours ago, monoccular said:

Next all booing will be banned.

What a pathetic mob we have running, or rather ruining, the AFL.

12 hours ago, chook fowler said:

They’d give me the Chair.

12 hours ago, Chook said:

Ridiculous penalty for something every footy fan has said.

11 hours ago, Demonland said:

Lucky no AFL officials were in my living room tonight. 

Well maybe all supporters should not go to AFL matches, in protest, see how gill the dill likes that?

Couple of points from the article:

a. Not an AFL decision, so no point criticising them.  Richmond Cheersquad decision.

b. Still allowed to attend matches, just has to sit somewhere else.

c. Was ejected from the Melbourne v Richmond match for homophobic abuse.

This is clearly a numpty who has been given a warning by the cheersquad and has beached it.  If it was a ‘fan’ being banned by the AFL for only saying ‘green maggot’ then yes, its ‘PC gone mad’, etc.  But the cheersqaud members have rules and this person broke them on multiple occasions.  Sit somewhere else. 

4 minutes ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

a. Not an AFL decision, so no point criticising them.  Richmond Cheersquad decision.

This is clearly a numpty who has been given a warning by the cheersquad and has beached it.  If it was a ‘fan’ being banned by the AFL for only saying ‘green maggot’ then yes, its ‘PC gone mad’, etc.  But the cheersqaud members have rules and this person broke them on multiple occasions.  Sit somewhere else. 

So, somewhat similar to Israel Folau in that rather than being penalised for what he said he has been penalised for breaching an undertaking he must have made. That makes more sense.

13 minutes ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

richmond has just come out and said (after afl claimed it was just a richmond decision)

1. afl first reported it to richmond (who were unaware)

2. afl told richmond to punish it

3. said if you don't we will

Edited by daisycutter

16 minutes ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

Was ejected from the Melbourne v Richmond match for homophobic abuse.

Makes me wonder if the word he used rhymed with 'maggot'.   Otherwise, the banning beggars belief.

6 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

richmond has just come out and said (after afl claimed it was just a richmond decision)

1. afl first reported it to richmond (who were unaware)

2. afl told richmond to punish it

3. said if you don't we will

This is the real story. If Richmond can prove that the AFL forced them to do something at the same time the AFL denies having done so, it's an indictment on AFL HQ. Heads should roll (but probably won't).