Posted
11 minutes ago, Watts the matter said:

Lever a top 5 key defender? Turn it up. Adelaide offered him 300k a year, that shows how he was rated by those who saw him most.

Lever is not a key defender and we had just given up Howe for squat before getting an inferior version for massive overs. We messed up.

May costed a lot, but at least he is a good key defender.

Best on ground for Adelaide in a Grand Final.

The best are at their best in big moments, and many would consider a Grand Final to be a fairly big moment.

Bloke was a star when he crossed, and will be again once fit and able.

Posted
2 minutes ago, faultydet said:

The best are at their best in big moments, and many would consider a Grand Final to be a fairly big moment.

The one where he had the super tough match up of Jacob Townsend and still got 2 goals kicked on him?

We must have watched a different game, Lever was a non factor and not even close to their best player.

He was a player who played a role in a good team, not a star.

Posted
2 hours ago, Watts the matter said:

The one where he had the super tough match up of Jacob Townsend and still got 2 goals kicked on him?

We must have watched a different game, Lever was a non factor and not even close to their best player.

Jesus christ.

Some people are not worth debating.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Watts the matter said:

The interesting thing that's happened since is that Doedee slotted in immediately and was in line for the Rising Star. And with Doedee's injury, Keath has stepped up and made the spot his own. Perhaps indicative of a decent tall defender brigade in Talia & Hartigan? Time will tell.

Edited by John Demonic
Posted
3 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Before injury and being treated like rubbish by Adelaide for not re-signing, Lever was a fantastic defender and would have been up near the best. Quite amazing given his age at the time. 

Spot on Ethan

#mrfootballbrain

#howdoeshedoit

Posted
2 hours ago, faultydet said:

Jesus christ.

Some people are not worth debating.

It's fine if you want to back up your claims but they are so far from the truth I couldn't let it slide.

*Lever didn't play in a key position at Adelaide, yet you claim he was a top 5 key defender in the comp.

*Lever had a poor game in the grand final, I don't know how he all of a sudden became their best player. I don't think anyone else watching the game could share your opinion on that. 

Sorry for not agreeing with your opinions. 

Posted
7 hours ago, Watts the matter said:

It's fine if you want to back up your claims but they are so far from the truth I couldn't let it slide.

*Lever didn't play in a key position at Adelaide, yet you claim he was a top 5 key defender in the comp.

*Lever had a poor game in the grand final, I don't know how he all of a sudden became their best player. I don't think anyone else watching the game could share your opinion on that. 

Sorry for not agreeing with your opinions. 

No Lever definitely had a poor game in the Grand Final.

Posted

Lever was the ONLY Adelaide player that performed on the day and could hold his head high after the match.

Not sure what game you guys were watching.

Posted (edited)
34 minutes ago, Mach5 said:

Lever was the ONLY Adelaide player that performed on the day and could hold his head high after the match.

Not sure what game you guys were watching.

You love to talk [censored] don’t you. There were 9 Adelaide players rated ahead of him on the GF day based on champion data. That’s almost half the team.  But yeah continue embarrassing yourself mate with factless posts. Lol

Edited by olisik
Posted

If we are worried about leadership and older heads in out team now that Lewis is out and Jones no guarantee to play all year in the s seniors then Shaun Higgins is our man. I firmly believe he has 3 years left in him, would be a beautiful outside user and compliment us so well. 

Now it depends on what he would cost us i know that, but great mates with Daniel Cross and worth asking the question i reckon.

Posted
13 hours ago, faultydet said:

?

Posted
19 hours ago, Demonsone said:

Seems the MFC is hardly mention when the guns of other clubs are possibly looking to move ..whilst most are not always true Hawks seem to be targeting all of them Conoglio , Patton... not sure why with so many holes in outside run & fwds why our club isn’t mentioned? 

Yes, we weren't named in the clubs chasing Dustin Martin, Josh Kelly, Stephen Coniglio.

Posted
35 minutes ago, DemonLad5 said:

I remember thinking Lever was on of Adelaide's best in that Grand Final

I remember him being the only Adelaide player that played well.

Posted
1 hour ago, olisik said:

You love to talk [censored] don’t you. There were 9 Adelaide players rated ahead of him on the GF day based on champion data. That’s almost half the team.  But yeah continue embarrassing yourself mate with factless posts. Lol

Champion data rated our list best in the comp by some distance. 

We finished second last. 

Eyes are useful, they show us a lot. 

Posted

I went to the 2017 gf - Lever was outstanding in the first quarter, okay in the second, and like most of his defensive teammates completely overwhelmed by weight of ball i50 against after half time

Tigers were absolutely dominant from midway thru second quarter onward 

Lever is a very, very good player and I remain happy that he’s on our list

Just get the body right and get his touch back and he’ll be right

Posted (edited)
59 minutes ago, whatwhatsaywhat said:

I went to the 2017 gf - Lever was outstanding in the first quarter, okay in the second, and like most of his defensive teammates completely overwhelmed by weight of ball i50 against after half time

Tigers were absolutely dominant from midway thru second quarter onward 

Lever is a very, very good player and I remain happy that he’s on our list

Just get the body right and get his touch back and he’ll be right

To everyone saying he had a good game (and remember this all started with a poster claiming he was their best player), think about the following.

Adelaide's best and fairest voting has 5 people score players using the following guidelines.

1 vote:  Played their role. Solid game without significant influence on the game
2 votes: Played his role well and influenced the game
3 votes: Played his role very well with significant influence on the game
4 votes: Played his role outstandingly and dominated the game

A player can score a maximum of 20 votes in a game.

Lever scored a total of 2 votes for the game.

This means 3 or 4 of the 5 people voting on the game deemed Lever to not even have played his role. 

Edited by Watts the matter

Posted

I can't believe we're seriously arguing Jake Levers quality as a player. he was one of the best intercept defenders in his first two years, something not many players do, he's got all the attributes to be a future AFL captain and a champion of the club and he's coming off a serious injury. 

He and Steven May with a full pre season are going to play some great footy next year an make a lot of doubters eat their words in my opinion. 

FWIW i think he played well in the 2017 grand final and was one of the few players from the crows who could hold his head high, a very good effort considering the crows were treating him like rubbish and he was heading tot he exit.

Posted
1 hour ago, Watts the matter said:

To everyone saying he had a good game (and remember this all started with a poster claiming he was their best player), think about the following.

Adelaide's best and fairest voting has 5 people score players using the following guidelines.

1 vote:  Played their role. Solid game without significant influence on the game
2 votes: Played his role well and influenced the game
3 votes: Played his role very well with significant influence on the game
4 votes: Played his role outstandingly and dominated the game

A player can score a maximum of 20 votes in a game.

Lever scored a total of 2 votes for the game.

This means 3 or 4 of the 5 people voting on the game deemed Lever to not even have played his role. 

Lever was also known to be on his way out and Adelaide handled things like spoilt brats.

Is it a wonder that the club didn't give him votes?

Posted (edited)

Back to the point. After a horrendous year,the Dees need to recover or face ridicule and loss of faith in their ability.  The demons shocking turnovers and lack of skilled midfield runners will see hopefully a focus on pace and ball use in trading and drafting strategy. A small forward capable of pressure, tackling and goal scoring also on the menu  

Retired - Maynard. Lewis.  

Delisted - Keilty. Garlett

Likely to be delisted  - Walker. TimSmith. (Both may retire due to chronic injury) JWagner Jkh 

Medical check - Kolodjashnij Vandenburg

Trade options - Stretch. Anb. J-Smith 

Protected species. Spargo. Omcd

Available targets - Ed Langdon is the main target with his pace suited.  Others mentioned as possibly available Karl Amon , Adam Tomlinson and Dan Butler   (Brad Hill likely to be Stkilda bound ) (Alex Keath - not quite a fit but Dees rumoured to be interested ) . 

Edited by spirit of norm smith
X
Posted
18 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Back to the point. After a horrendous year,the Dees need to recover or face ridicule and loss of faith in their ability.  The demons shocking turnovers and lack of skilled midfield runners will see hopefully a focus on pace and ball use in trading and drafting strategy. A small forward capable of pressure, tackling and goal scoring also on the menu  

Retired - Maynard. Lewis.  

Delisted - Keilty. Garlett

Likely to be delisted  - Walker. TimSmith. (Both may retire due to chronic injury) JWagner Jkh 

Medical check - Kolodjashnij Vandenburg

Trade options - Stretch. Anb. J-Smith 

Protected species. Spargo. Omcd

Available targets - Ed Langdon is the main target with his pace suited.  Others mentioned as possibly available Karl Amon , Adam Tomlinson and Dan Butler   (Brad Hill likely to be Stkilda bound ) (Alex Keath - not quite a fit but Dees rumoured to be interested ) . 

Your continual digs at Spargo are getting wearisome Spirit. We get it, you don't rate him. He's a 19yr old second year player that has signed an extension for the 2020 season. So get used to the fact he'll be on our list next year and please move on.