Posted

Why do people keep saying some players have a "higher ceiling" than others?

There is simply no way in the world ANYONE short of Dr Who could possibly know what a players "Ceiling" is. We are talking about young blokes who barely have pubes. To know what a ceiling is, you would have to KNOW what it is..... and you just cant.

Like the draft itself, its nothing more than an educated guess based on what you already know, and nobody knows the future.

With the amount of drafting fails we have seen, even the professionals dont know what a players ceiling is.

Think T.Scully, among a big list of other players with "Higher ceilings".

You cant possibly know, you can only guess.

Posted
On 7/17/2019 at 6:35 PM, spirit of norm smith said:

Matthew Allen from the Eagles is one player who should be on the Dees radar. The South Australian is now 21 and been on the Eagles list without cracking a game.  Won B&F for East Perth in WAFL last year. Good skills and is a goal kicker. Due to strength of Eagles, he can’t get a go.  Worth a late draft pick or delisted free agent opportunity imo. 

On the emergency list again for the Eagles. Must be frustrating for him as I reckon he is a player.  One to definitely have a chat to. 

Posted

Actually last week I was driving past a game in the Maryborough CAstlemaine League and a young bloke No 16 shoed a lot of dash and actually hit a couple of leads ont he chest. Di nit know his name, but I am suure we could trade our first round pick and pay him yop dollar once we find out who he is !!!!

Posted
11 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

Pick 2 looking likely.

Noah Anderson come on down! ?

Would love LT to be honest.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

Pick 2 looking likely.

Noah Anderson come on down! ?

Pick 3

PP for GC

Posted
2 minutes ago, olisik said:

Pick 3

PP for GC

Zero chance of a 1st round PP for Gold Coast.

Gold Coast’s issues have nothing to do with a lack of young talent and Brisbane’s turnaround will be looked upon as the model.

Posted
58 minutes ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

Zero chance of a 1st round PP for Gold Coast.

Gold Coast’s issues have nothing to do with a lack of young talent and Brisbane’s turnaround will be looked upon as the model.

This ^^ 100% it wasn’t long ago the same media flogs we’re advocating for assistance for the besieged Brisbane Lions and that “ Qld footy was in trouble” ... now look at them , absolutely flying and great crowds at the Gabba. 

Whilst the MFC has to still sell home games to the NT, and the AFL hand us WA and SA opposition , And WA umpires , every time so we’re are the away team . 

Posted
1 minute ago, Moonshadow said:

Like your insights Lord Travis. Got any thoughts on players available at our 2nd rounder? Maybe about 25?

Pickett 

Posted
1 hour ago, olisik said:

Pick 3

PP for GC

I get very nervous with universal opinion on early draft choices. Too often judged on how they dominate at junior level. 

Posted

Anderson, Kemp or Ash seem fine.

PP for GC. Hmmmm. The Dons were reduced to a rabble with top ups and not given a heap of draft picks or special access to contracted players like GC. Yet Dons are now possible finalists in fairly quick time. GC still crap and getting crappier. Reason Dons are an established club and players want to go their.

Priorities not an answer for GC. Trouble is the AFL might not get this. Somehow AFL have to get some established players up there.

Posted
12 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

Like your insights Lord Travis. Got any thoughts on players available at our 2nd rounder? Maybe about 25?

Weightman is looking likely to be around early 2nd rounder. Small forward who’s lively, quick, decent leap, kicked two consecutive bags of 4 goals at the championships. He’d be a good addition to our forward 50.

Posted
23 hours ago, olisik said:

Pickett 

'Star' ?

Posted

Does anyone have any intel on some tall forward smokies? It’s a clear gap in our list, but it’s also a poor draft for tall forwards it seems.

Posted

Brayshaw and 3rd round pick to Freo for Hill and Langdon. Outside run
2nd round pick to Sydney for Zak Jones and their 3rd round pick. Run, HB to either replace Hibberd or free up Salem
That 3rd round pick and ANB to Gold Coast for their 2nd round pick. Back into the draft
Stephen Hill as an unrestricted free agent. Replace Lewis' list spot with a veteran runner
Sam Day as a restricted free agent. Mature key forward depth
Draft Rowell or Green with pick 2 (or 3 if PP happens). Gus replacement
Draft Pickett with 2nd round pick. Small forward

Yeah, I have too much free time to think about these things when we're not winning...

Posted
48 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Brayshaw and 3rd round pick to Freo for Hill and Langdon. Outside run
2nd round pick to Sydney for Zak Jones and their 3rd round pick. Run, HB to either replace Hibberd or free up Salem
That 3rd round pick and ANB to Gold Coast for their 2nd round pick. Back into the draft
Stephen Hill as an unrestricted free agent. Replace Lewis' list spot with a veteran runner
Sam Day as a restricted free agent. Mature key forward depth
Draft Rowell or Green with pick 2 (or 3 if PP happens). Gus replacement
Draft Pickett with 2nd round pick. Small forward

Yeah, I have too much free time to think about these things when we're not winning...

As Dennis Cometti would've said: "Aaaambitious!"

Posted (edited)
20 minutes ago, TRIGON said:

Disappointing news about Kemp injuring his knee.

What's the go there TRIGON?

Just seen, ACL tear. Poor bugger.

Edited by Demon Disciple
Posted
2 minutes ago, whatwhatsaywhat said:

I wonder how far he will fall?

Hopefully all the way to our second round pick. 

for me we hit the trade period with a list of 5 

2x outside runners with good skills and speed. 

2x pressure forwards 

1x Key forward, ideally ready to go. 

I think we are likely to land Ed Langdon by the sounds of things, so that's one elite runner, but probably skills/decision making his weakness. 

i'd personally be sniffing around Dan Butler, Sam Gray

If Brad Hill is gettable we simply have to go hard.