Posted

If this news is correct, it gels with what I heard. It was Jesse that was not 100%sold on Freo. Game plan, coaching and the immediate future of playing once again for a bottom quarter club.

Posted (edited)

Nothing further reported on Basil’s twitter account or by 7 News Perth. Maybe the “can’t bat can’t bowl” defence will be relied on by Basil - it was the camera man (auto cue) who did it as a joke. Surely not. 

Edited by Dodos Demons

Posted

Reading this thread over the last few days has totally done my head in ....... and now this!.  Bugger me!  I wonder if we'll never know the the story behind the story.  Doubtful I guess.  I just hope and pray that it doesn't have any adverse implications for our Club.

Posted

Maybe he was never really going, but Freo made a big offer and just thought he would check it out.

Posted
1 minute ago, DeeZee said:

Maybe he was never really going, but Freo made a big offer and just thought he would check it out.

Why would'nt you.  But the reality its Freo and given their history it not a place you would rush to play footy. 

Posted

So to my mind (assuming this is accurate) we have:

1 - Jesse was asked to make up his mind and did so, deciding he would prefer to play for Melbourne

2 - The clubs were too far apart on the price and the deal was scrapped.

3 - Fremantle pulled out for a reason we do not know. 

I list these in what I would consider to be order of probability.  I look forward to seeing the dissection in the media and any comments from the club for clarification. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Deeoldfart said:

Reading this thread over the last few days has totally done my head in ....... and now this!.  Bugger me!  I wonder if we'll never know the the story behind the story.  Doubtful I guess.  I just hope and pray that it doesn't have any adverse implications for our Club.

I sense we've been nudging him out

It'll be awkward carrying him for another year with whatever issues exist prevailing in the background fuelling media speculation

Plus imagine if it comes out Freo turned him down...

Posted
6 minutes ago, Dodos Demons said:

Nothing further reported on Basil’s twitter account or by 7 News Perth. Maybe the “can’t bat can’t bowl” defence will be relied on by Basil - it was the camera man (auto cue) who did it as a joke. Surely not. 

Haha

Ron Burgundy, didn't think he'd actually read it...

Posted
2 minutes ago, RalphiusMaximus said:

So to my mind (assuming this is accurate) we have:

1 - Jesse was asked to make up his mind and did so, deciding he would prefer to play for Melbourne

2 - The clubs were too far apart on the price and the deal was scrapped.

3 - Fremantle pulled out for a reason we do not know. 

I list these in what I would consider to be order of probability.  I look forward to seeing the dissection in the media and any comments from the club for clarification. 

They didn't want to cough up. Plain and simple, plus they are in no mans land for a premiership tilt.

Posted

Worst case scenario is he says he wants to stay for now, and that he’ll re-evaluate his long term future in 12 months when he’s OOC

Posted
1 minute ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

Plus imagine if it comes out Freo turned him down...

They'd look even more ridiculous than they do already.  They've been chasing him since before he played his first AFL game.  Every year they start a media blitz trying to convince the world that he's coming home in an attempt to create dissent at Melbourne and shake him loose.  If, after all of their efforts they reached a point where he was actually available and then turned around and said they wouldn't pony up for the trade, they would look like an absolute basket case. 

Posted

If true it’s fantastic that he’s staying And I would be looking to the club to sit down with him to renegotiate an extension beyond next year. 

Just with people suggesting we play him in defence, I would actually argue we develop both Jess and Weids with defensive capabilities to be able to swing either one of them back depending on needs and form. 

I was as happy with Weidermans form in the latter stages of the year but he’s still got a lot of developing ahead of him. 

Posted

Not sure we'll sign him for a long term deal.

The reality is the forward line functions better without him with a gun CHF in his position and a promising young tall developing.

Obviously there's a lot of footy that can change things as the year goes on but if he's not traded then at least until the games start we're dealing with the same issues. Plus he has to rehab his foot. Chances are we do the whole thing again next year, this time without a gun key defender available.

Might be a long year for Jesse dealing with injury, maybe even learning a new position, not having a long term deal on the table and having an immense amount of media scrutiny. 

Posted (edited)

It is definitely not the price, as there was a week to go and the negotiations could have kept going.

This is either Jesse not wanting to go to Freo, or Freo concerned about his injury or attitude.

I still think the deal could go through.

If it doesn't, hopefully Jesse signs at least a 2 year extension, or we are in for another year of distraction.

The last possibility is that the Eagles have told him to hang in a year and they will get him across, as Kennedy will be 33 and they will have more picks or players to deal with.

As someone has said below, it is now off the clip. It could be pure BS.

Edited by Redleg
Posted

I wouldn’t put this past Freo, they have leaked this to the media to try and scare the Dee’s into off loading him for cheap, as we’re after May.

this isn’t over I don’t believe....

Posted
36 minutes ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

Report was only 6 seconds from Basil on 7 News, without any context or source

32 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

It’s most interesting that Basil reported it for 5 seconds....

26 minutes ago, Die Hard Demon said:

Listening to SEN & they have put the question out to all journalists across the country to confirm the story about hogan .. & so far no one knows anything. They can’t even reach Basil Zemplaris who originally reported the story.. Something is seriously fishy about this... 

If you go back and click that link again there's nothing in it about Hogan at all now.

Me thinks someone has fibbed and it's still on like Donkey Kong.

Posted
4 minutes ago, BrisbaneDemon said:

I wouldn’t put this past Freo, they have leaked this to the media to try and scare the Dee’s into off loading him for cheap, as we’re after May.

this isn’t over I don’t believe....

Was thinking this is a possibility. Is Basil a good mate if Peter Bell?

Posted
2 minutes ago, Chook in Perth said:

mate I got nothing new. buyer beware red flags were known

Accepting the red flags were known, I wonder why you tour him through your facilities and medically test him.

Do you think we can get the May deal done with what we have at our disposal?

Posted
3 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Accepting the red flags were known, I wonder why you tour him through your facilities and medically test him.

Explore all avenues/test the water?

Posted

...and Goody gonna watch him sit out/around for 12 months, i don't think.........

Posted
1 minute ago, willmoy said:

...and Goody gonna watch him sit out/around for 12 months, i don't think.........

What? He'll kick 55 goals, miss 5 games through injury and be in the top 5 for assists league wide, business as usual.