DeeSpencer 26,691 Posted October 18, 2018 Author Posted October 18, 2018 FB: Hibberd May Jetta HB: Lever ????? Salem C; Fritsch Brayshaw Kade Kolo HF: Spargo T Mc Petracca FF: ##### Weid Melksham Foll: Gawn Oliver Viney Int: Harmes, Vanders, ?HBF, ?forward/mid They'll be a battle for the best CHB option. Then there's lots of competition for the last few spots and some options with guys like Fritsch, Kade Kolo and Vanders capable of multiple roles. Depth: Oscar, Preuss ANB, Hannan, Stretch, Baker, Maynard, Wagner, Jones, Lewis, Hunt, J Smith, T Smith, JKH, ?Garlett Development: ?Keilty, Petty, Bradtke and draft picks Key defenders: May, Frost, Oscar, Petty, ?Keilty 3rd tall: Lever, J Smith Back pockets: Jetta Flankers: Hibberd, Salem, Hunt, Lewis, Wagner Inside mids: Oliver, Viney, Brayshaw, Harmes, Maynard Outside mids: Kade Kolo, Fritsch, Jones, Stretch, Baker Ruck: Gawn, Preuss, Bradtke Mid/forward: Petracca, Vanders Key forwards: T Mc, Weideman, T Smith 3rd tall: Melksham Flankers: Spargo, ANB, Hannan Crumbers: ??Garlett I think filling the remaining list spots the focus should be on a gun crumbing small forward as number 1 priority but after that just look for more class and run. 2 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 (edited) 15 hours ago, Big T Mac said: I love how people are saying we need a crumbing forward when we have jeff garlett (one of the best crumbing forwards in the game) We need a crumbing forward that consistantly tackles (& can stick them) as well as 2nd and 3rd effort pressure acts, that aint Jeffy Edited October 18, 2018 by Bates Mate Quote
loges 6,767 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 16 hours ago, Big T Mac said: I love how people are saying we need a crumbing forward when we have jeff garlett (one of the best crumbing forwards in the game) Used to be one of the best crumbing fotwards in the game. 1 Quote
jnrmac 20,380 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 16 hours ago, Big T Mac said: I love how people are saying we need a crumbing forward when we have jeff garlett (one of the best crumbing forwards in the game) Garlett is done. I am shocked he wasn't put out to trade. His last half of the year at Casey was woeful. Quote
binman 44,848 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 2 hours ago, DeeSpencer said: FB: Hibberd May Jetta HB: Lever OMac Salem C; Fritsch Brayshaw Kade Kolo HF: Spargo T Mc Petracca FF: ##### Weid Melksham Foll: Gawn Oliver Viney Int: Harmes, Vanders, ?HBF, ?forward/mid Fixed. 1 Quote
dl4e 5,851 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 Interesting to see so many people with Kolo in the side. From what I have seen of him ( not much ) he wouldn't be. As for crumming forward it is a pity Garlett was out of shape. Think it is between Spargo and Jones. Quote
durango 2,024 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 I looked at the players starting in the center square for MFC during the finals not 1 player had played 100 games with Jones and Tyson playing on the wings, I know Gawn played 99 and Viney played 98 but the players like Harmes, Oliver and Brayshaw had played between 55 and 70 games. It is believed that a team needs about 10-15 players over 100 games to win a premiership although WB probably were the exception. 1 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,777 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 21 hours ago, Salems Lot said: We are entering the era of Squad footy I reckon. I strongly believe that with our depth and spread of talent each week will bring a different best 22. In the case of opponents like the Weagles we will inevitably play tall utilizing the likes of Preuss and Frost whilst other weeks against shorter pacier teams we will be using the likes of Fritch and Hannan as well as Spargo. It gives us the opportunity to play as necessary as well as keeping list rotation a reality allowing for greater freshness at the business end of the season. Exciting times very interesting... worth a thread of its own over the off season perhaps History says no... play your best 22 etc 1 Quote
Young Blood 2,642 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 (edited) I wouldn't be at all surprised to see J.Smith train with the forwards through pre-season. With May our backline depth is looking solid. He's the next best option to step up and create some depth as a marking forward who competes well in the air. Has the ability to impact further up the ground like a Darling light. I think its a good option while he continues to try to find some continuity in his kicking where turnovers are less costly. Excited to see him have a full preseason and really challenge the likes of Hannan and AVB as the third tall/HF. I think his pace would also be beneficial if he can use it in the forward press putting opposition backlines under pressure. Edited October 18, 2018 by Yung Blood 2 Quote
Dee*ceiving 1,738 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 Agree with Yung Blood. We look light on for depth in the forward line., both key and crumbing. J Smith as a forward worth a shot. Could we rookie list Pedersen for 'break in case of emergency'? Quote
Salems Lot 2,692 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 52 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: very interesting... worth a thread of its own over the off season perhaps History says no... play your best 22 etc Very true DJ but it is of course how soccer teams have played for years and I can see a real benefit to it when the list is strong enough. We will see... Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,777 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 13 minutes ago, Salems Lot said: Very true DJ but it is of course how soccer teams have played for years and I can see a real benefit to it when the list is strong enough. We will see... must say I tend to agree. I suppose our problem is that the list is comparatively shallow in that there were at best 3-4 players at VFL level that in 2018 pushed for senior selection. After the big delist 2019 may be different. Quote
DeeZee 7,496 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 (edited) Jetta May Omac Hibberd Lever Salem Harmes Viney. KK VDB. Weideman. Petracca Melksham TMac. Fritsch Gawn. Oliver Brayshaw Int: Preuss, Jones, ANB,Stretch Emg: Hannan, Spargo, J. Smith , Garlett Frost,Hunt, Lewis ?? Hard to pick a team, plenty of depth. Not short on Goal kickers either. Edited October 18, 2018 by DeeZee Quote
DeeSpencer 26,691 Posted October 18, 2018 Author Posted October 18, 2018 2 hours ago, jnrmac said: Garlett is done. I am shocked he wasn't put out to trade. His last half of the year at Casey was woeful. No club would want him. There's a provision this year to replace a retired player with a rookie pick prior to the start of the season. I'd imagine that will be the move for Jeff. I get the feeling we couldn't fit his pay out in this years salary cap so we're waiting for next years. Hey if he does come back from summer break in career best shape maybe things can change but I'd have it as a <1% chance. 1 Quote
Deespicable 2,886 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 Ok, I couldn't find room for Preuss so title is somewhat misleading. And KK will be battling with Hunt and Joel Smith for that quicker defender type spot in defence and may be pushed on to the wing. Given the whisper is that we will play the Pies in Rd 1, we will almost certainly go quick. Hence no room for both Lewis and Jones - I chose Jonesy because of the plethora of lefties we have. I'm a big fan of Frosty and it's obvious that with May in, he will be squeezed out down back, so I think he'll have to do a fair bit of work as back-up ruck/forward in the off-season, just as he did under Roosy initially. Hopefully the coach also trials O.Mac in that role as well. And yes I cheated a bit by not naming Lever, whom I suspect will be touch and go to play by then. My team B: Jetta May Hibberd HB: Hunt O.Mac Salem Ce: Brayshaw Oliver KK HF: ANB Weid Petracca F: Melky T.Mac Hannan Ru: Gawn Harmes Viney Int: VDB (mid rot), J.Smith (def rot), Frost (fwd/ruc rot), Jones (mid rot). Emerg: Fritsch, Spargo, Stretch Depth: Lever (inj), Lewis, Preuss, Wagner, JKH, Maynard, Baker Quote
Bombay Airconditioning 6,510 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 5 hours ago, DeeSpencer said: FB: Hibberd May Jetta HB: Lever ????? Salem C; Fritsch Brayshaw Kade Kolo HF: Spargo T Mc Petracca FF: ##### Weid Melksham Foll: Gawn Oliver Viney Int: Harmes, Vanders, ?HBF, ?forward/mid They'll be a battle for the best CHB option. Then there's lots of competition for the last few spots and some options with guys like Fritsch, Kade Kolo and Vanders capable of multiple roles. Depth: Oscar, Preuss ANB, Hannan, Stretch, Baker, Maynard, Wagner, Jones, Lewis, Hunt, J Smith, T Smith, JKH, ?Garlett Development: ?Keilty, Petty, Bradtke and draft picks Key defenders: May, Frost, Oscar, Petty, ?Keilty 3rd tall: Lever, J Smith Back pockets: Jetta Flankers: Hibberd, Salem, Hunt, Lewis, Wagner Inside mids: Oliver, Viney, Brayshaw, Harmes, Maynard Outside mids: Kade Kolo, Fritsch, Jones, Stretch, Baker Ruck: Gawn, Preuss, Bradtke Mid/forward: Petracca, Vanders Key forwards: T Mc, Weideman, T Smith 3rd tall: Melksham Flankers: Spargo, ANB, Hannan Crumbers: ??Garlett I think filling the remaining list spots the focus should be on a gun crumbing small forward as number 1 priority but after that just look for more class and run. No Jones or Lewis in best 22 and that’s how it should be by years end. Some posters have them on the bench as some kind of token gesture but natural progression should have them pushed out as season 2019 progresses. Quote
DeeSpencer 26,691 Posted October 18, 2018 Author Posted October 18, 2018 31 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said: No Jones or Lewis in best 22 and that’s how it should be by years end. Some posters have them on the bench as some kind of token gesture but natural progression should have them pushed out as season 2019 progresses. I probably should've pencilled them in but not bolded. They'll be competing with the likes of Fritsch, KKolo, ANB, Spargo, Hunt, Baker, Stretch and draft picks or delisted free agents/state league pick ups so it's an even field of flanker/runner types. I can't see Lewis improving at 33, so we've had a bad year if he's still in the side but at 31 and finally out of the midfield I'm actually excited to see where they use Jones and what he can do. 1 Quote
Delusional Dee 13 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 B) Lever - O Mac - Jetta HB) Hibberd - May - Salem C) KK - Oliver - Fritch HF) Petracca - T Mac - Spargo F) Melksham - Weid - Pruess R) Gawn - Viney - Brayshaw I) Jones - Harmes - AVB - ANB E) Lewis - Frost - Hunt Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 Jones and Lewis. Hard to see them in best 22 for round 1. Though I will have Jonesy in my team for the reason he gives heart and soul. Might be needed in the long season for midfield rotations. Quote
qarocks 107 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 Personally i'd have tmac FF and weid HF. tmac is a great pack mark, and worst case can punch and get the ball to ground. weid had some great one on one contests during the finals, so if he can get free as much as possible that would be huge. Also Melk I would rotate between the wing and HF. he is an amazing kick inside 50, and can also find the ball around the 50 and kick goals on the run. He set up a few awesome goals with one great kick that split the Def. Quote
WERRIDEE 5,638 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 4 hours ago, Deespicable said: Ok, I couldn't find room for Preuss so title is somewhat misleading. And KK will be battling with Hunt and Joel Smith for that quicker defender type spot in defence and may be pushed on to the wing. Given the whisper is that we will play the Pies in Rd 1, we will almost certainly go quick. Hence no room for both Lewis and Jones - I chose Jonesy because of the plethora of lefties we have. I'm a big fan of Frosty and it's obvious that with May in, he will be squeezed out down back, so I think he'll have to do a fair bit of work as back-up ruck/forward in the off-season, just as he did under Roosy initially. Hopefully the coach also trials O.Mac in that role as well. And yes I cheated a bit by not naming Lever, whom I suspect will be touch and go to play by then. My team B: Jetta May Hibberd HB: Hunt O.Mac Salem Ce: Brayshaw Oliver KK HF: ANB Weid Petracca F: Melky T.Mac Hannan Ru: Gawn Harmes Viney Int: VDB (mid rot), J.Smith (def rot), Frost (fwd/ruc rot), Jones (mid rot). Emerg: Fritsch, Spargo, Stretch Depth: Lever (inj), Lewis, Preuss, Wagner, JKH, Maynard, Baker There is no way Frost will get a game ahead of Preuss. Quote
WERRIDEE 5,638 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 Does anybody know if Lever will be right for rnd 1 if not I put Fritsch down back he played well down back in the Casey Grand Final. Hunt becomes an emergency. Quote
Call Me What You Will 755 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 The “squad” approach is an interesting one. Yes, in the world game where teams play 40 to 50 games a season, astute managers will do just that - manage the squad. Key players will be rotated and rested. In our game, with less games and less margin for error, the mantra of “don’t flirt with your form” has always resonated. Interesting times. Quote
whatwhat say what 23,868 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 post trade... key defenders: lever, frost, o mac, petty, keilty, may mid-sized defenders: wagner, joel smith rebounding defenders: salem, lewis, hibberd, hunt, fritsch, baker, jetta, kolodjashnij inside midfielders: harmes, brayshaw, oliver, maynard inside-outside midfielders: jones, viney, stretch, jkh hybrid half-forward / midfielders: petracca, hannan, vandenberg small forwards: spargo, anb, garlett key forwards: melksham, t mac, weideman, tim smith rucks: gawn, preuss gotta say, i'm really worried about our midfield depth - i think we've over-indexed for defensive options, and we're reliant upon hybrids pushing up and rebounders going thru the wing positions i'm really curious to see how we adjust with the new 6-6-6 format, as we basically played a 2-5-6-3-2 formation for the most part of 2018 at this stage, i expect that preuss will line-up up in round 1 - we'll try and stretch teams with three genuine tall targets, and try and give max relief ruck straight away - and the big benefit of having him and max able to swap from ruck / forward / bench is that it leaves plugger mac and weed as permanent forwards, not relief ruck...it's gonna be pretty important as we need to find 50 odd goals, and plugger, weed, melksham, petracca and avb are going to have to make up for the hogan slack best 26? B: Jetta - May - Lever HB: Salem - O Mac - Hibberd ? Jones - Brayshaw - Viney HF: Petracca - T Mac - ANB F: Preuss - Weideman - Melksham Foll: Gawn - Oliver - Harmes I/c: Lewis - Spargo - Hannan - AVB Emerg: Frost - Hunt - Fritsch - Kolodjashnij rd 1, 2019 (presuming lever ain't ready for resumption) B: Jetta - May - Hibberd HB: Salem - O Mac - Lewis ? Jones - Brayshaw - Viney HF: Petracca - T Mac - ANB F: Preuss - Weideman - Melksham Foll: Gawn - Oliver - Harmes I/c: Spargo - Hannan - AVB - Fritsch Emerg: Frost - Hunt - Stretch - Kolodjashnij 1 Quote
WERRIDEE 5,638 Posted October 18, 2018 Posted October 18, 2018 (edited) On 10/17/2018 at 11:36 PM, WERRIDEE said: B: Lever, May, Jetta HB: Hibberd, O.McDonald, Salem C : Kolodjashnij, Oliver, Brayshaw HF: Petracca, Weideman, Neal-Bullen F: Melksham, T.McDonald, Gawn FOLL: Preuss, Viney, Harmes IC: Jones, Lewis, vandenBerg, Hannan EMERG: Fritsch, Spargo, J.Smith, Frost CASEY B: J.Smith, Frost, Petty HB: J.Wagner, Keilty (ROOKIE A), Hunt C : Stretch, Fritsch, Baker HF: Kennedy Harris, T.Smith, Walker (ROOKIE B) F: Garlett, Munn, Bedford FOLL: Bradtke (ROOKIE B), Spargo, Maynard IC: Hind, C.Wagner (ROOKIE A), Sturt, Duursma, Hore (ROOKIE A), Lockhart (ROOKIE A) Edited October 18, 2018 by WERRIDEE Quote