layzie 34,528 Posted August 25, 2018 Posted August 25, 2018 I’m not super confident against the cats but no team in the 8 will be easy and that’s probably the best of a tough bunch for us. Quote
Males 578 Posted August 25, 2018 Posted August 25, 2018 Either way tomorrow, it's going to make for an interesting EF. We win, we play against a team coming off two 100pt wins and have beaten us twice during the year, both close at least. We lose, we play the same team again, high on confidence because they just beat us, their home ground and a few more players back for EF. We will have Viney back too. Quote
Dee tention 619 Posted August 25, 2018 Posted August 25, 2018 My prediction to the Premiership Cup! Melb d Gee Haw lose to Melb WC lose to Melb Rich lose to Melb Melbourne Demons Premiers 2018! 3 1 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,716 Posted August 25, 2018 Posted August 25, 2018 8 hours ago, jamarkmywords said: From GWS perspective, regardless if they win or lose, they will be playing a final in Sydney Week 1 (either vs Swans, or vs us). I wonder if that will impact the way in which they approach tomorrow's game? I think GWS would prefer to play us at Spotless stadium than Sydney at the SCG (altho the AFL love an Elimination final derby) so that may spur them to win today. But for GWS it may come down to managing injuries so they may take the foot off the throttle a little bit so your point is well made. Quote
praha 11,267 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 13 hours ago, Males said: Either way tomorrow, it's going to make for an interesting EF. We win, we play against a team coming off two 100pt wins and have beaten us twice during the year, both close at least. We lose, we play the same team again, high on confidence because they just beat us, their home ground and a few more players back for EF. We will have Viney back too. Geelong with the fixturing equivalent of a reach-around leading into finals. Will go into the EF without having been challenged for 4 weeks. We will absolutely smash them. 1 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,808 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 15 hours ago, GCDee said: Now that the top 4 dream is dead I REALLY want the cats at the G. Maxy to slot one from 50 after the siren for the dees to win by 5 points. Danger gaz and selwood all leave the field crying Perfect scenario but you forgot Dangerfield breaking a leg in the first quarter, Selwood with a dislocated jaw from Viney, Gaz with a ruptured knee attempting to kick Salem in the head, and Hawkins with a fractured face after running into Pedo off the bench. 1 Quote
beelzebub 23,392 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 Over this weekend we've been able to see our fellow contenders in action.An opportunity to gauge where they might be going into finals Richmond...yeah the pups went all out...did the Toiges ?? probably just a good chance to run some 'returnees' back into form. Probably a grand-finalist again Eagles...this will be fascinating...Lions on the prowl...they sniff something...Interesting game this one Collingwood. Gotta respect their ability to play and win...overcoming injuries etc.....the result of the above game wil lbe huge for the Pois. ... but they struggles against Freo.....freo !!!! they won...but struggled.I think their lofty ladder position flatters !! Hawks...you just have to marvel at Clarko...he da man. His charges are coming good at the right time of the season for them ( not anyone else..lol )...Serious contender here. Swans...playing well.....Hawks worked out what to do where we didn't ...I hope we were watching. Not contenders though. Giants....will be sore and disheartened after a MCG routing today. They are worthy of finals...but dont think they will have the men or the game to go deep. Cats gotta love how they are traelling...running on the very smell of kitty excrement....all washed down with Barwon Koolaid......chilled with blocks of ice from local bathwater. No soup for them Depending on how we go today....( as I could be made to look darn foolish...lol ) I see just three teams really in the hunt for this flag Richmond, Hawthorn........and US !! Go Dees 1 Quote
Tony Tea 2,816 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 18 hours ago, Chook said: The only finals teams I fear are the Hawks and the Tigers. Everyone else can bring their best and we can take it. The Hawks are a big chance to pinch a flag now they are in the top 4. Clarko footy, genius, GOAT. 1 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,716 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 (edited) If I've read the schedule correctly and if we keep winning the Road to the Cup looks like this: Week 1 -vs Geelong (MCG) Week 2 - Loser of Hawks/Rich (MCG) Week 3 (Prelim) - Winner of Week 1 - Pies/WCE (MCG/OO) Week 4 (GF) - Whoever is still standing from: GWS/Syd/Haw/Rich (MCG) Hate to say it but the Pies winning next week will be good for us as we won't need to go interstate. If we get to the Prelim I reckon we can account for either WCE/Coll. Edited August 26, 2018 by Lucifer's Hero 1 Quote
david_neitz_is_my_dad 4,084 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 (edited) Edited August 26, 2018 by david_neitz_is_my_dad Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,716 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 Week 1 Toyota AFL Finals Series Thursday, September 6 First qualifying final Richmond v Hawthorn at the MCG, 7.20pm AEST Friday, September 7 First elimination final Melbourne v Geelong at the MCG, 7.50pm AEST (series ticket match) Saturday, September 8 Second elimination final Sydney v Greater Western Sydney at the SCG, 4.20pm AEST Second qualifying final West Coast v Collingwood at Optus Stadium, 6.10pm AWST 1 2 Quote
Macca 17,127 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 42 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said: If I've read the schedule correctly and if we keep winning the Road to the Cup looks like this: Week 1 -vs Geelong (MCG) Week 2 - Loser of Hawks/Rich (MCG) Week 3 (Prelim) - Winner of Week 1 - Pies/WCE (MCG/OO) Week 4 (GF) - Whoever is still standing from: GWS/Syd/Haw/Rich (MCG) Hate to say it but the Pies winning next week will be good for us as we won't need to go interstate. If we get to the Prelim I reckon we can account for either WCE/Coll. Spot on LH ... if the Pies can eke out a win against West Coast we will play all our finals at the MCG. That's all 4 finals of course ? But it's one week at a time. Or one fortnight at a time for all the finalists - first time up. 2 Quote
Demons1858 1,823 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 1 minute ago, Macca said: Spot on LH ... if the Pies can eke out a win against West Coast we will play all our finals at the MCG. That's all 4 finals of course ? But it's one week at a time. Or one fortnight at a time for all the finalists - first time up. Stuff the afl, how dare they prioritise broadcasters so blatantly and leave us with a 5 day break to deal with Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,773 Posted August 26, 2018 Author Posted August 26, 2018 1 minute ago, Demons1858 said: Stuff the afl, how dare they prioritise broadcasters so blatantly and leave us with a 5 day break to deal with mmmmmmmm then again if the VFL final is played on Sunday we may just be looking at that scenario for a few players. Makes it very unlikely that Viney would have a run for Casey. 1 Quote
Demons1858 1,823 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 7 minutes ago, Demons1858 said: Stuff the afl, how dare they prioritise broadcasters so blatantly and leave us with a 5 day break to deal with Oops forgot the bye this week 2 Quote
Macca 17,127 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 (edited) 12 minutes ago, Demons1858 said: Stuff the afl, how dare they prioritise broadcasters so blatantly and leave us with a 5 day break to deal with I was originally opposed to the fortnight break but I now reckon it's a terrific concept. Gives all the clubs a chance to regroup, get over niggles and reload. And we've had a tough and grinding 3 weeks with a lot of mental pressure included as well - the fortnight break probably helps us more than a few others. For instance, Geelong won't have been tested since they played the Hawks on Aug 11. Not that you'd ever take anything for granted - their stars need to be quelled and we need to take today's intensity into the game against them - and then some! Edited August 26, 2018 by Macca 1 Quote
Deesprate 1,324 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 Typical AFL Thursday night final who want that! Quote
Hellaintabadplacetobe 4,335 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 13 minutes ago, Demons1858 said: Stuff the afl, how dare they prioritise broadcasters so blatantly and leave us with a 5 day break to deal with ??? Am I missing something? You are aware of the bye right? Quote
Sideshow Bob 2,498 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 Friday night footy [censored] yeah! big night big stage Finals performer for a decade or so. BRING IT ON 1 Quote
GCDee 3,202 Posted August 26, 2018 Posted August 26, 2018 33 minutes ago, jako13 said: Friday night footy [censored] yeah! big night big stage Finals performer for a decade or so. BRING IT ON Yeah its exciting... however I really wanted Saturday so I could jump on a plane and get yo the game. Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,773 Posted August 27, 2018 Author Posted August 27, 2018 Geelong, Hawthorn, Collingwood and then Tigers .......... not impossible Geelong, Tigers, West Coast, GWS... would be interesting 2 Quote
Wadda We Sing 10,685 Posted August 27, 2018 Posted August 27, 2018 23 hours ago, Deesprate said: Typical AFL Thursday night final who want that! God the Hawks and Tigers fans have not stopped whinging about it yet, even ringing in radio and yelling......the want a final exactly when they arernt working!! haha.......good. Quote