Posted
1 hour ago, Pates said:

Can't agree more, I haven't heard a bigger batch of whiners. We got some lucky ones, they got some lucky ones, I would say (for once) it was actually a very evenly umpired game. 

They're never happy unless they've got 15 more free kicks than the traveling teams.

They are shockers. Even booing when the siren goes at the end of each quarter. 

Posted

A roller-coaster of emotion. Delighted for team and coaches and every Dees fan.

still think we over-commit chasing the ball, but heh, tonight I don’t give two hoots!

finals - finally. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

Umpiring was good today, except that free kick paid against Vanders

They didn't umpire to the mass hysteria of the pro Meth Coast fans

And the free kick that should have been paid against Tyson just before half time. (lol)

Posted
49 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

I'm so delirious that I would even give a Stuie post a like.

Hope the maid enjoyed the win.....

Posted
4 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

That free was a guess at best, and a very bad one at that!

Posted
Just now, bingers said:

And the free kick that should have been paid against Tyson just before half time. (lol)

I feel like that one was 60/40 (in favour of West Coast) but the WC player did catch him high. The one on the goal line was 100% incorrect disposal/HTB, why he didn't rush it through is beyond me. He doesn't think those situations through very well.

Posted
34 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

You're both precious.

Better?

Yes thank you

Good to see all the 'supporters' who have been so critical of anything MFC finally having a wagon to get aboard

My unconditional support seemed to bother some in the past

And the inference there was something untoward between Le Cras and Jetta is incorrect

Posted
20 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

That was the plan. And I’ll have the theme song ready to go in my pocket as I walk into the office. 

Video or it didn't happen. 

Posted
1 hour ago, RedButMostlyBlue said:

How good was that! Milkshake is crucial to this club. Harmes was awesome. Jonesy played a captain's game. Gus, Clarry and Maxxy solid as always. Loved the INs. Hannan was fantastic. Didn't hit the scoreboard (kicks were woeful), but I really liked what I saw from Weids. He's going to be a great contributor. Even Kent gave a little in the second half.

Modelling for the finals:

First good news (from a 'I don't like the Roos' perspective) is it doesn't look like they can make it from here, same as Port as they need the cats to lose to the suns... Yikes.

If we win (regardless of hawks Sydney game) we finish 5 and we play cats at G.

If we lose and Hawks win, we play Sydney over there.

If we lose and Swans win, we play Hawks at G.

I really don't know what I prefer. I'd rather win (obv) and knock the cats out of the finals. Can't lose to them 3x in a year, right? Plus, it would be great for the story to knock the cats out of the finals!

BRING IT!

If we lose and the cats win big we'll finish 8th and play GWS in Sydney. 

Posted
12 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

A few times they did but you expect a couple in that Colosseum like atmosphere. 

According to the Eagles around me they got screwed by the umps today. 

Posted
23 minutes ago, layzie said:

Oh man. Oh man. I have honestly needed the last 2 hours to come down. I reckon I came as close as a 33 year old male could come to a cardiac arrest in those dying stages. 

There were some people on here who picked it and were fully confident, I want to thank you guys because you had confidence I just didn’t have and your enthusiasm should not be under appreciated. I said before the game it felt like we were walking the plank.

Where do you start with the performance? I thought we were outstanding right from the get go. We had moments where we lacked polish and probably could have nailed more chances but I couldn’t give a stuff about those right now. One thing we had was our effort which we brought 100% for nearly 100% of the game. I said in the game day thread that it just had this feeling that a club like West Coast would end up taking over because clubs like that win this games and play finals and clubs like us don’t belong. Newsflash: [censored] that! WE JUST RE-WROTE THE NARRATIVE IN THE MOST EMPHATIC WAY POSSIBLE!!!

Hard to pick a BOG because it was such a great team effort. But my god it was so good to have Milkshakes back. He kicks the ball like no other and something that no-one has said much before, he has great football sense. Those two times he choose to lead back out the back were genius. The midfield has one of their best collective efforts for the year, Oliver and Gus doc their thing but once again Harmes went above and beyond. That kick to Kent when we could barely deliver a ball inside was absolute mint from the plomb. Max battles all day and took some crucial grabs, he’s clearly banged up but he’s toiling on like a champion.

To the backline. They were always going to have their hands full but never gave in. Hibberd makes a big difference, hopefully he’s just had some thightness. Never Jetta just delivers in crucial moments time and time again and has well and truly cemented his place as one of the leagues players of quality. Oscar did his job. Lewis went to ground a bit but when we needed the experienced head I thought he was excellent. 

And the rest, The moment was boiling to a climax when Kent had his shot. The image of him lining up for goal is now burned in my mind as it literally felt like 12 years were hanging on this ‘either way’ moment. And when he delivered there was a feeling that you really only get once in a blue moon. It’s hard to explain but the body language when Clarry and (Nibbler I think?) embraced Kent, man, I can’t even explain it I really can’t. There are celebrations in football but in my options there are ones that go even beyond that stuff. The closest comparison I can think of is in the 2012 grand final when Malceski kicked that snap to seal it and that particular elation that followed it from the Swans players.

Im not forgetting Mitch Hannan who was outstanding. Kicked most of his chances and made contests wherever he could, he had a serious presence. AVB played the game of his life, his tackling early was a massive reason why we got a run on, hopefully he’s not in trouble for that elbow.

I could go through everyone, Salem used it well when it counted, Fristch had two crucial long kicks in the last 5 mins and always gives you the calming feeling that he will use it.

I am so proud of these boys and this footy club. I love you MFC so much, no matter how many disappointments games like today feel so great and erased the hurt of last week. I love each and everyone on Demonland, even the out there ones. The only people who have ever truly understood what it is like to be a Melbourne fan. I would never have it any different, being a Melbourne fan is the best ever and I don’t envy any other club’s fans one little bit. 

We did it people we did it! :)))))))

Spot on mate, absolutely spot on.

Posted
31 minutes ago, jako13 said:

Final Round year 2000. we smashed West Coast in West Coast. I was there - did my grad dip in Perth that year, must have been 3 Demons in the crowd and a cheer squad of 10. Bluey Mckenna's final game for the Eagles.....

Only fitting we go very [censored] Deep from here

I was there!

Posted
54 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

That's because we changed it. Good of you to notice :)

Not meaning to follow you around threads but I'm just not clear on which parts of the game plan we changed and I'm interested in what you thought it was?

Posted
2 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Well done Dees..... flying back to Oz next week and will be coming to the MCG to watch the GWS game with my fellow Dees supporters.

Let's go into this final series with momentum and belief.

Glad to see that win has turned the frown upside down DJ!!! Go Dees!