Posted
9 minutes ago, McQueen said:

The irony.

You’re usually the first poster to come out in defence of players when they’re shitcanned and here, in such an obviously wrong assertion you’re in support.

Unbelievable.

It's an opinion, woe betide anybody that tries to do the same to some of you wonderful experts, hence the hypocrisy comment

I don't agree with his opinion on Brayshaw, but wouldn't call him a troll, as he quoted an opinion and didn't launch an attack on a poster

Notice the difference, probably not

I normally get trolled whether I give an opinion or not, notice the difference, probably not

Posted
2 hours ago, dimmy said:

I am afraid you have either found an early drinking hole or have not been taking notice of Brayshaw's efforts. He is our outside mid !!!!! and we would be mad to lose him.

Best outside mid can't be the guy that is the worst field kick in the team sorry. An being an outside mid doesn't mean that you traipse around for 120 minutes and not manage to find a single guy wearing black and white to maybe you know.. tackle

Posted
2 minutes ago, Big Demon said:

For sure if Vanders comes back 100%. We need to be looking ahead to finals footy now and Vanders is the type of guy that is going to be handy in that environment if right. You can't play a guy like Angus in finals, he would be like a deer in the headlights.

7ED46323-E79B-4FC4-A0BF-68EAB97DE5C6.jpeg.9eafdc8ad997bef547854ff973c9aa0c.jpeg

Posted
10 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

It's an opinion, woe betide anybody that tries to do the same to some of you wonderful experts, hence the hypocrisy comment

There’s just too much irony now I’m actually laughing.

Keep ‘em coming.

Posted (edited)
21 minutes ago, McQueen said:

There’s just too much irony now I’m actually laughing.

Keep ‘em coming.

Actually you are just being a troll, anything to add on the topic?

At the moment I would say, in my opinion, the only 2 I would say are 'going' would be JKH and Pedersen

Posted

For me it's delist Pedersen, Bugg, JKH, Johnstone, McKenna, Keilty

Trade Tyson, Stretch, Josh.Wagner, Garlett, Kent and Frost

Promote Tim.Smith

Rookie McKenna

Posted
4 hours ago, dimmy said:

I am afraid you have either found an early drinking hole or have not been taking notice of Brayshaw's efforts. He is our outside mid !!!!! and we would be mad to lose him.

Actually, I see your point dim...

We trade Angus and Hogan to the Blues, for  Furphy, and change.  The change being, charlie and jacob... curnow, and weitering.

Posted
4 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

Dion Johnstone seems to be going ok in his new role as a small defender for Casey.

Reckon he is safe.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

Dion Johnstone seems to be going ok in his new role as a small defender for Casey.

Reckon he is safe.

If he continues his recent form he's every chance to stay but if his form drops he's a goner

Posted
6 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

Promote Tim.Smith

Rookie McKenna

With all due respect, we aren't turning over close to a third of our list now..  We did that in the early Roos days when we had to because our depth was non-existant and we had only a few decent players on the list.  That's changed now.

There is absolutely no chance we not only delist 6 players but trade six as well.  It's not good for the stability of our list and we aren't going to top up with lots of kids at this stage.  It just won't happen.  

Posted

it's three off as a minimum, yeah?

currently out of contract at the end of 2018: 

Name Years Service Status
Aaron Vandenberg 4 Non-Free Agent
Angus Brayshaw 4 Non-Free Agent
Bernie Vince 5 Non-Free Agent
Cameron Pedersen 6 Non-Free Agent
Dean Kent 6 Non-Free Agent
Declan Keilty 2 Non-Free Agent
Dion Johnstone 2 Non-Free Agent
Harley Balic 1 Non-Free Agent
James Harmes 5 Non-Free Agent
Jay Kennedy-Harris 5 Non-Free Agent
Joshua Wagner 3 Non-Free Agent
Lachlan Filipovic 2 Non-Free Agent
Mitch King 3 Non-Free Agent
Neville Jetta 10 Unrestricted Free Agent
Oscar McDonald 4 Non-Free Agent
Patrick McKenna 2 Non-Free Agent
Tim Smith 2 Non-Free Agent
Tomas Bugg 3 Non-Free Agent

i would personally like to keep all of avb (rose-coloured glasses from memories of his few really strong games, in reality his body doesn't look capable of coping with the physical demands of afl football), brayshaw, harmes, filipovic, jetta, o mac, tim smith of that list as a bare minimum

that leaves vince as a potential retirement, pedo the same, kent as trade bait, keilty as a potential re-rookie, dj and balic who knows, jkh as a delist, wagner as a delist, king as a downgrade to rookie, mckenna as a delist, and bugg as a potential delist

then you'd expect we'd get enquiries about some contracted players - the obvious examples are tyson and kent

i would have my top five priority of free agents as being:

1. andrew gaff
  2. rory sloane
  3. cameron guthrie

harbrow and wallis or dahlhaus would be next...in the presumption that we're not a surprise dark horse candidate for tom lynch from gc17

it would seem that we are keen on ed langdon either this year or end of next, and who knows what other player will suddenly "demand" a trade

it'll be interesting to see who is out of favour and suits our needs of a ball mover

Posted
14 hours ago, Big Demon said:

For sure if Vanders comes back 100%. We need to be looking ahead to finals footy now and Vanders is the type of guy that is going to be handy in that environment if right. You can't play a guy like Angus in finals, he would be like a deer in the headlights.

Can I ask based on what evidence? Who's to say Brayshaw can't stand up in big games?

Posted
16 hours ago, Satyriconhome said:

I don't agree with his opinion on Brayshaw, but wouldn't call him a troll, as he quoted an opinion and didn't launch an attack on a poster

Notice the difference, probably not

I normally get trolled whether I give an opinion or not, notice the difference, probably not

On that basis, you telling Wiseblood to "why dont you [censored] off" last week was a hypocritical attack on a poster. There's no difference.

Delist/retire at end of year: Pedo, Vince, JKH, Kelty and McKenna.

Possible trade bait: Tyson, Kent, Bugg, Stretch

Target: Gaff, Wallis, Ed Langdon

Keep 2018 2nd round pick if possible

Give Petty a taste of senior footy before the season is over

Posted
17 hours ago, Big Demon said:

I could not disagree more. Vanders has had a couple of reasonable games in an injury crippled career. He's soooooo far away from 100% it's very doubtful he will play seniors this year, maybe not again. Brayshaw was a star before his concussion issues (remember his first game with 9 tackles?) And has made a sensational comeback to the extent that he would surely be near the top of the target list for Freo and WCE to join his brothers. He most certainly has a couple of 3 vote Brownlow games this year.

Keep Vanders and get rid of Gus? Crazy talk.

Posted
37 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

On that basis, you telling Wiseblood to "why dont you [censored] off" last week was a hypocritical attack on a poster. There's no difference.

Delist/retire at end of year: Pedo, Vince, JKH, Kelty and McKenna.

Keep 2018 2nd round pick if possible

Give Petty a taste of senior footy before the season is over

I contributed to the topic, Wiseblood made a smartarse comment, I had had enough of that, I got a holiday, move on

There seems to be rules for some and not others on here, something I have expressed to the mods as well

Back on topic and in answer to the above

Gaff hope not, downhill skier, as evidenced by him going missing when it was hot against Sydney

Wallis hope not, we have enough of his type

Langdon hope not, needs a consistent season or two

But I don't do the recruiting and if any of the above happens will support

Posted

Ideal scenario would be bringing in Gaff, Langdon and Wallis.

Vince retires and we move Jones to the half back flank.

Best 22 next season:

B: Jetta              OMac       Hibberd

HB: Jones          Petty       Lever

?   Gaff             Viney        Salem

HF:   Melksham  Hogan      Neal-Bullen

F:      Spargo        TMac        Petracca

R:    Gawn           Oliver        Wallis

Int:  Langdon     Lewis       Fritsch    Brayshaw 

We win 2019 flag. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Satyriconhome said:

I contributed to the topic, Wiseblood made a smartarse comment, I had had enough of that, I got a holiday, move on

There seems to be rules for some and not others on here, something I have expressed to the mods as well

Back on topic and in answer to the above

Gaff hope not, downhill skier, as evidenced by him going missing when it was hot against Sydney

Wallis hope not, we have enough of his type

Langdon hope not, needs a consistent season or two

But I don't do the recruiting and if any of the above happens will support

Langdon made a lot of mistakes yesterday. Don't think Freo will let him go.

Gaff will cost a fortune and I am not as crazy over him as others on here. I know he racks up the stats. Would he improve us, possibly/probably? 

Wallis to me would be a great value get and would make our 22 ahead of say ANB, on his ear.

I just reckon there are more Tim Kelly's out there.

Posted

The trick is finding the guys who are about to emerge, rather than have emerged (big bucks) or never will (Carlton’s GWS retread strategy).

what if Pat McKenna is that ideal player for outside run?  If he can get on the park, maybe we will find out.

Posted
20 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

Promote Tim.Smith

Rookie McKenna

Jeez Werridee there goes our depth, 12 changes and hang onto someone that has never played a game?????????????????????

Posted
3 hours ago, Redleg said:

Langdon made a lot of mistakes yesterday. Don't think Freo will let him go.

Gaff will cost a fortune and I am not as crazy over him as others on here. I know he racks up the stats. Would he improve us, possibly/probably? 

Wallis to me would be a great value get and would make our 22 ahead of say ANB, on his ear.

I just reckon there are more Tim Kelly's out there.

Watching Wallis this year I don't think he would. Struggling big time to get contest to contest as a half forward, and for all his faults ANB is constantly moving. Obviously the Dogs aren't moving the ball at all well but I'm not impressed. Remember how nasty his leg injury was.

If we were to get Wallis I'd play him as a tagger and make the other mids rotate more forward or outside. I think that's his best role. Given other teams like Essendon are interested I'm not sure how much money I'd commit towards a tagger. Might not be too may other Tim Kelly's out there but there's surely some state league or delisted players who could do a tagging role.

Posted (edited)
9 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

I wouldn't be targeting Wallis 'Moon'...

I think Tyson is a much better player/prospect and he's struggling to get a game.

We need a bit of run & carry/class.

Looking for someone to emerge like Yeo has at WC...this is the type of player we need.

Who has the skillset but hasn't put it all together yet?

Someone to really work with Oliver...

The dogs have a kid Webb or Williams maybe another, can't remember who but looked to have the raw talent.

I'm sure we like all clubs are on the lookout, that's why Langdon's name is popping up.

Edited by rjay
Posted
7 hours ago, buck_nekkid said:

The trick is finding the guys who are about to emerge, rather than have emerged (big bucks) or never will (Carlton’s GWS retread strategy).

what if Pat McKenna is that ideal player for outside run?  If he can get on the park, maybe we will find out.

We don't need one quick player in our team.

We need to install 2 or 3 quick players, over our journey building this team.

And its not 'outside run' that we need.....  we need breakaway pace, inside/outside, in defence, around the middle, and forward Re smalls.

Not your Garlett type pace forward, but more your DeGoey type pace forward.  or midfield.