Demonsone 2,056 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Which teams can we beat above us? Essendon maybe , North we did beat Not looking great currently to play finals.... Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Wycheproof under 16’s - at a pinch. 1 1 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,716 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 (edited) Its the teams below us we need to beat first! This is our draw for the next 11 weeks: 5 are vs teams below us and 3 vs those immediately above us. If we don't win those 8 it doesn't matter how many of the top 10 we beat. Ideally we win 9/10 of the 11 because 4 of rnds 18 to 23 will be tough to win. Our poor %'age may well be what keeps us out of the finals. Again. Edited October 12, 2022 by Lucifers Hero 1 Quote
beelzebub 23,392 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Carlton. And the Bye. Im calling the Bye a draw 1 Quote
bush demon 2,209 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 We are about level with the Bailey/Scully/Trengrove renaissance, unfortunately. Probably decided on the last kick with either team missing from directly in front. 1 1 Quote
TeamPlayedFine39 8,525 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Current form? As in, which teams can we beat when we’re playing very poorly?? The answer is very few. When the form turns around and things start to click? We can beat anyone in the league. Its up to people’s personal opinion as to if or when our form will turn around, but we’ve seen this team’s best and we’ve seen it’s worst. When in form we can beat anyone. 1 Quote
Ron Burgundy 8,588 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Im calling the Bye a draw Nope - I reckon we’ve got them. 1 Quote
WERRIDEE 5,638 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Its the teams below us we need to beat first! This is our draw for the next 11 weeks: 5 are vs teams below us and 3 vs those immediately above us. If we don't win those 8 it doesn't matter how many of the top 10 we beat. Ideally we win 9/10 of the 11 because 4 of rnds 18 to 23 will be tough to win. Our poor %'age may well be what keeps us out of the finals. Again. Amazingly we can win the next and get our season back on track lose any of them and we are stuffed. Quote
deelete my account 1,194 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 (edited) Carlton. And the Bye. Im more confident of beating Essendon, GCS or StK than Carlton. Their defensive press has contained us well and they probably fancy themselves given the last few matches were only decided in the last. Edited April 25, 2018 by Doodle Dee Quote
Age 485 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Carlton. And the Bye. I don’t think we can beat Carlton. They have beaten us or given us a run the last few years even when they have been horrible. They are of those teams, Luke most in the comp actually who know when they put pressure on us we crumble. Quote
WERRIDEE 5,638 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Im more confident if beating Essendon, GCS or StK than Carlton, their defensive press has contained us well and they probably fancy themselves given the last few matches were only decideed in the last. If we don't beat Carlton I'm predicting a Demonland meltdown Quote
picket fence 18,184 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Melbourne fourths!! although Gordon Duff and the boys would generate a great battle! Quote
Jibroni 5,057 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 We can beat Essendon and Coll'wood but not the rest if your using current form as a guide. If by some miracle we can recapture last years form (mid season) then that's a different answer. Quote
praha 11,267 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 We can beat Essendon and Coll'wood but not the rest if your using current form as a guide. If by some miracle we can recapture last years form (mid season) then that's a different answer. Collingwood is playing top 4 footy. 1 Quote
titan_uranus 25,255 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Collingwood is playing top 4 footy. Rubbish. They beat a woeful side today. Let's see how they go against Richmond on Sunday - I'll happily eat humble pie if they do well. As to the OP, we've already shown this year in every game that we can play high quality football against good sides (see all bar Q2 vs Geelong, all bar the first 15 minutes vs NM, Q1 vs Hawthorn, openings of Q1 and Q3 vs Richmond). If we can't gain consistency and learn how to score against loose men, we'll win maybe 50% of our matches from here. If we improve in those areas, though, we can beat anyone. Quote
deespicable me 1,584 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Yeah Essendon this week hopefully. That's it. Think of nothing else. One week at a time. Quote
SFebes 4,884 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Essendon. Our timing is great. They have one less day break and some injuries and will still beat us Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Highett under 13s just !! Quote
Uncle Fester 2,848 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Get our structures right and I'd say anyone. We lead most stats most games, but screw it up going forward, then git killed on the rebound. It isn't the players this time - it is a coaching box being too clever by half. Good teams win flags by doing the basics right, not by trying to pull an ace out of the sleeve that only works for 15-20 minutes. Quote
praha 11,267 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Rubbish. They beat a woeful side today. Let's see how they go against Richmond on Sunday - I'll happily eat humble pie if they do well. As to the OP, we've already shown this year in every game that we can play high quality football against good sides (see all bar Q2 vs Geelong, all bar the first 15 minutes vs NM, Q1 vs Hawthorn, openings of Q1 and Q3 vs Richmond). If we can't gain consistency and learn how to score against loose men, we'll win maybe 50% of our matches from here. If we improve in those areas, though, we can beat anyone. They smashed Adelaide, took it right up to GWS, took care of Carlton, and were clinical against Essendon. They play a similar brand to Richmond, and predict it to be a 10-20 point difference either way. They still won by 50 points today. You would expect good teams to take care of "woeful" teams in a similar way. As it stands, we're 0-3 against top 8 contenders. 1 Quote
Dee-licious 1,954 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 Yes we are 0-3 against top 8 contenders but we’ve got 10 of the next 12 against non top 8. Heads down, beat the sides we should beat and then demonland will be insufferable because everyone will think we are the second coming. Quote
Nasher 33,686 Posted April 25, 2018 Posted April 25, 2018 The question is irrelevant, because we won't stay in our current 'form'. We will take care of Essendon for starters. 3 Quote