Posted
7 hours ago, Call Me What You Will said:

Ricky Jackson Cup? Cameron Clayton Cup?

The more we delve, what a rich history we have......

Jordan McMahon?

6 hours ago, Deemania since 56 said:

Thought it was pretty unfair that no-one seemed to advise Fritsch to stay down so the big boys could go to work because Fritsch is just as good on the groundwork as he is, aerially. Agree about Pedersen bringing the ball down - even though he really only makes those dynamic, scoring spurts for 2 qtrs of footy, these days. 

That would be double the number of quarters that our entire team played last week ?

Posted

Petracca on Dusty for the whole game? He has the size, power and 1v1 marking ability to defend against Dusty when he goes forward too.

Posted
11 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

His next foray at AFL level is probably his 4th (or so).  If he doesn't hit his straps a little this time around it might be a big hit on his confidence.  Would hate to see us do another Watts on him this time around.  Rnd 7 vs the Saints is looking ideal.  Perfect time for a minimum 3 match foray with the next 2 weeks against Gold Coast and Carlton.

Agreed in tota;. Pedo has a game that I like, obviously, and as you say, bringing others around him into the game, plus a capacity to exert his size - moreso now that he if fitter. Often that has been enough to carve a niche into many an opposition defensive line/s. It always was a shame that he could not contribute these characteristics for whole games, but c'est la vie, what he has done and could do is satisfying. 

Posted
11 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

Whill Balic is starting to show something Optimis I'm not sure this week is a good one for testing the waters given last week's debacle.

It was stated ages ago that Balic is moderately quick - only - but he runs into space well to receive and from there, can penetrate defensive space by hand and foot to pass or score within range. He appears to be a 'reader' of play in order to achieve these attributes. A skinnier Petracca without the real grunt and stunt.

Posted
On 20/04/2018 at 9:30 AM, DaveyDee said:

Not a matter of going wrong - more a matter of you can only spend your money once. Tigers over the last 10 years have worked hard to build memberships, crowds and "sponsors" - all trivial stuff I know compared to fixtures, clash jumpers, songs and "hating" the AFL but we have to leave the important stuff to our MFC footy keyboard / armchair experts on Demonland.  

We can beat them - you must break down their defensive structures both in the air and on the ground. Im not going to say much more - but we can beat them, we will have a red hot crack. 

If you eat a red hot curry you get a red hot crack too.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Deemania since 56 said:

It was stated ages ago that Balic is moderately quick - only - but he runs into space well to receive and from there, can penetrate defensive space by hand and foot to pass or score within range. He appears to be a 'reader' of play in order to achieve these attributes. A skinnier Petracca without the real grunt and stunt.

I haven't seen any of his work 56 so i will take your word on that.

Maybe the 3 weeks against the Saints, GC & Carlton is also an ideal block to trial a few from Casey while giving the likes of Vince, Melksham, Bugg, Pedders, Fritsch and Nev a rest (not all at once i mean but rotating) so the likes of Balic, Maynard, Hannan, T. Smith, Stretch & Weids get a run (subject to form at AFL/Casey).

Obviously some of the above will get a call up this week but just saying.

One stat that is interesting for me (and i don't usually bother) was in Maynard's only game for us this year he did manage 5 clearances (one of the few public stats i think carries a bit of substance) which is 2nd only to Clarry right now, averaging 5.5 a game.  We got smashed in this area last week.  It is only one game and usually you would need at least 5 games before bothering to compare...but out of the 26 players that have graced the field so far i have Maynard ranked (objectively via weighted stats) at No. 6,  just behind Jones.

Posted
45 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

I haven't seen any of his work 56 so i will take your word on that.

Maybe the 3 weeks against the Saints, GC & Carlton is also an ideal block to trial a few from Casey while giving the likes of Vince, Melksham, Bugg, Pedders, Fritsch and Nev a rest (not all at once i mean but rotating) so the likes of Balic, Maynard, Hannan, T. Smith, Stretch & Weids get a run (subject to form at AFL/Casey).

Obviously some of the above will get a call up this week but just saying.

One stat that is interesting for me (and i don't usually bother) was in Maynard's only game for us this year he did manage 5 clearances (one of the few public stats i think carries a bit of substance) which is 2nd only to Clarry right now, averaging 5.5 a game.  We got smashed in this area last week.  It is only one game and usually you would need at least 5 games before bothering to compare...but out of the 26 players that have graced the field so far i have Maynard ranked (objectively via weighted stats) at No. 6,  just behind Jones.

That is a good statistic from Maynard; it is a shame that others were below expectation. What surprised me was the rapid way in which he was 'discarded' when he performed modestly against a group of active runners. Surely he has those skills that we need right now - particularly physical skills and clearances.

Posted
3 hours ago, Deemania since 56 said:

That is a good statistic from Maynard; it is a shame that others were below expectation. What surprised me was the rapid way in which he was 'discarded' when he performed modestly against a group of active runners. Surely he has those skills that we need right now - particularly physical skills and clearances.

I haven't seen enough of him 56 but thought in the Geelong game he did ok once switched onto Ablett.  A lot more effective than the first 2 or 3 they put on him and that job is really a bit of a death wish for someone trying to find their feet early on.

Coaches didn't like what they saw as you say.

Might head along to Punt Rd tomorrow arvo to support the boys.  Should be interesting.

Posted
4 hours ago, Micksdemons said:

Casey team v Rich tomorrow 

Vince Fritsch Garlett Bugg and Wagner all named ! 

Lucky it's not more !

I'm not following this?? does that mean that all above names they are all definitely playing for Casey??

Surely Not !!

Harmes, Neal Bullen, Milkshake Bugg all Bantha Foder last week and need to be axed!!

Posted
On 20/04/2018 at 11:08 AM, Deemania since 56 said:

Fully agree, Clint, their teamwork and support for one another is the difference. This enables their star power to come into the play so frequently on a red carpet of teamwork. 

If Martin and Rance or Riewoldt missed 10 games like Max and Hogan last year, they wouldn’t have made the finals!

Posted
14 hours ago, D4Life said:

If Martin and Rance or Riewoldt missed 10 games like Max and Hogan last year, they wouldn’t have made the finals!

If Hardwick didn’t have a full overhaul of his coaching methods and philosophy then they never would have gelled like a team and continued to be mediocre.

Posted

Weid not playing for Casey.

Lock him in for Tuesday night...  we cant go in again with Harmes as backup ruck and no key forward as Hogan plays mostly midfield.

Posted (edited)

We shouldn’t be relying on Hogan in the midfield, there’s plenty of kids in the side. We need him to kick 70-80 and he could if Goodwin left him alone.

Harmes as a ruck is beyond stupid by the coach

Edited by SFebey

Posted
3 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

Weid not playing for Casey.

Lock him in for Tuesday night...  we cant go in again with Harmes as backup ruck and no key forward as Hogan plays mostly midfield.

If Weideman plays he better have some sort of impact

Posted

Weid surely plays this week or at least Smith.

Someone posted they heard Hampson will be selected for the Toiges this week. Not that Hampson can play IMO but we can’t have Harmes contesting the ruck again. 

Posted
1 hour ago, demonstone said:

Or what?

He'll be another passenger that we can't afford.

Posted
1 hour ago, low flying Robbo said:

Ok so Bugg and Lewis are definite outs. Hunt and Weids look like potential INs. Any others?

If Balic and Stretch are not in are they just rested?

I believe Balic and Shane Yarran were close.  May explain him not playing.

Posted
2 hours ago, loges said:

If Weideman plays he better have some sort of impact

Yeah let's put on the pressure on a kid who has played less than 10 game. Give me a spell mate. 

The Weed will be a star but will still need to find his feet.