Post Match Discussion - Round 3

1 hour ago, olisik said:

Ben Browns stats look inflated. 3/4 of his goals were from frees. (One where he faked it and another earnt by his team mate).

Finally agree with you on something. 

Hhhmmm who played on him all game..... the Grouch! Didn’t have many but if it wasn’t for some gifts he would have would have put Brown in the bin.

8 minutes ago, DaisyDeeciple said:

also just arrived back in Rome from Port Moresby yesterday, woke up to watch it with my beautiful French partner who helped celebrate... perfect way to watch the team song 

If you get tired of the life you're living and need someone to take over, let me know

Today I was reminded of the sage words of tennis great Vitas Geralaitus. He beat Jimmy Connors after Connors had beaten him 16 times in a row. At the post match press conference he said:

And let that be a lesson to you all. Nobody beats Vitas Gerulaitis 17 times in a row."

Gold

21 minutes ago, CityDee said:

One official hoodoo remains to conquer? 

It's the longest hoodoo in the league since 1964.

9 minutes ago, DaisyDeeciple said:

......also just arrived back in Rome from Port Moresby yesterday, woke up to watch it with my beautiful French partner who helped celebrate... perfect way to watch the team song.

How is Pierre?

44 minutes ago, old dee said:

This winning thing is getting to be expected R and  B .

Reckon I can handle it.

Winning when expected to is a feeling I will have to get used to, OD ... :blink:

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

Phew

A pox on you North

Words fail to describe the contempt for Nicholls . Scum

No.26 was way worse BB.  Would rate up there as one of the worst performances ever, mostly non-decisions though so he will not be scrutinised.  Should be sent to a country league for 12 weeks!

2 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

No.26 was way worse BB.  Would rate up there as one of the worst performances ever, mostly non-decisions though so he will not be scrutinised.  Should be sent to a country league for 12 weeks!

Send both to Hades... seems fitting

1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

A win but let's not get carried away!

Your right Bbo.  it's great this Win, but we've gotta-lotta unfinished business ahead.

1 hour ago, Gorgoroth said:

It was me ?

I to have been super critical of wagner but he was solid today.

Don’t worry I backed you up on Kent, well played Mr Kent. Very well played.

See the source image

Not only did we win.....we stuck the trident a long way up!!   I can finally say we now have ourselves a genuine AFL football team that can run with the top 6!  And no Norf isn't that but that was the biggest hoo doo in the AFL and we just wiped it clean!

The LID is well and truly off guys!!!!

Bar the first 15 mins it was a very solid team performance. 

I can't remember the last time we have played tempo footy like we did in the last. At the game I felt we went a bit early, but realistically we were in complete control. 

A very mature performance.

55 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Denied one goal by one of the worst decisions of all time.

He’s so brave in the air too.

Umpire 26 should actually publicly apologise for that. 

1 hour ago, Jibroni said:

A weekend at Bernies can do that!!

Excellent work Jib 

I just got home and I'm still blinded from the sun reflecting off Nichols' head.

Sorry, don't get it that people are only just waking up to Wagner.  I don't think he's a super fancy sort of player, but in my view he probably played abut as well today as the other games he's played this year.  What I like about him is that he's pretty hard at it, tough, seems to move around the ground pretty well and has got decient disposal.  I do recall a couple of bad defensive plays he was involved with against Geelong, but just look at how we were letting them move the ball into their attacking 50 that day.

Some comments on the match:

The umpiring, particularly in the first quarter, was abysmal.  It may have been the worst I have seen.

Hats off to Jones - I thought he was poor last week, but he was som much more composed and really valuable contributor.

Lewis (aka Grandpa) did some good things, but goes to ground too much and stays there.  Was not disgraced today.

GAWN.  Nothing else on this.  GAWN.

Trac and Hogan - really stepping up.

Bugg - heart in the mouth, only butchered one!

Kent - showed his value.  Ran hard, worked harder.

Our inside 50 work was a mess.  Early we bombed it to a contest, later we simply overpossessed it inside the arc.  If we can clean this up, we will be much better.

North are rabble.  From about the 6th minute in the last, they were cooked.

Majak daw can take a mark, but he is as dumb as a weet-bix with the footy.

4 points.  Good job.

Gee life's good right now.  2010 St Henri.  Those who know their wine will know what I mean.

1 hour ago, DeeZee said:

Jordan Lewis was very very good today.

If not for those silly umpires it would’ve been a ten goal win.

Best performance in the Red & Blue for mine.... waited a while for that one but great timing! 

1 minute ago, Deeoldfart said:

Gee life's good right now.  2010 St Henri St Henri.  Those who know their wine will know what I mean.

had an '85 Grange on Easter Sunday ... good colour but no fruit left

A "young" shiraz sounds great

A quiet whisky after a win is my go ... Go Dees

5 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Umpire 26 should actually publicly apologise for that. 

Umpire 26 and the rest of them weren't worthy of officiating at the Humpty Doo under 10s today.  They should seriously be demoted for some of that rubbish today.

2 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Phew

A pox on you North

Words fail to describe the contempt for Nicholls . Scum

North thought it was funny until they were rats##t.

7 minutes ago, buck_nekkid said:

Some comments on the match:

The umpiring, particularly in the first quarter, was abysmal.  It may have been the worst I have seen.

Hats off to Jones - I thought he was poor last week, but he was som much more composed and really valuable contributor.

Lewis (aka Grandpa) did some good things, but goes to ground too much and stays there.  Was not disgraced today.

GAWN.  Nothing else on this.  GAWN.

Trac and Hogan - really stepping up.

Bugg - heart in the mouth, only butchered one!

Kent - showed his value.  Ran hard, worked harder.

Our inside 50 work was a mess.  Early we bombed it to a contest, later we simply overpossessed it inside the arc.  If we can clean this up, we will be much better.

North are rabble.  From about the 6th minute in the last, they were cooked.

Majak daw can take a mark, but he is as dumb as a weet-bix with the footy.

4 points.  Good job.

Summed it up pretty well to me.

We dominated so much after quarter time, but failed to capitalize quite as much as we really should have, but given the history of things, 4 points is what really matters.

...grandpa LOL

1 hour ago, red and blue forever said:

Max gawn 50 hit outs to goldstein 15   awesome!

He literally towelled him up R&B.  What a performance from the big fella today.  Was in everything.