Forest Demon 4,681 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 Played a ripper. Goodwin said before the game he just had to keep making a contest, and he did exactly that. Every time he went near it, he broke even at the very least. 7 Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 Gave us far more today than a hindered Jesse would have. Not sure what we'll do next year. We could play all 3 of McWiedHogan but only if Hogan's roaming far and wide, and potentially not on the G where you need a very fast team. Quote
Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,793 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 Pass mark - outperforming my expectations Overs in the contested/effort which was pleasing Unders in the disposals and would like to see a high percentage of grabs stick I think he'll take a lot of confidence from the game, well done! 2 1 Quote
IWAP 170 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 Max mentioned on Triple M post-game that he was presenting so well as a forward, they didn't want to waste him in the ruck. So they put TMac there instead. Fairly tongue and cheek, but not far off IMO 1 Quote
Nasher 33,686 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 First game where he’s consistently looked like an aerial threat. I’ve been bullish anyway because he’s shown other attributes like getting involved in linkup play and cleanliness with the ball, and he’s played a marking game in the VFL, but this is the final big tick required. I’m happy now to play the waiting game while he fills out and matures, confident in the view that he will make it as an AFL quality forward. 15 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,334 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 Holy [censored] he was good. I was definitely skeptical about this selection, but he showed that he'll be a hreat target up forward in years to come. Roosy's philosophy if developing talent in the VFL for a big stretch of games is potentially about to be paid off. 5 Quote
Cards13 9,117 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 (edited) Well done Weid, attack that ball like you own it. Deep breath before the goal shot and you’ll be all good. Next preseason he just needs to work his bum off to get that tank up to a higher level. Contest after contest. Edited August 19, 2018 by Cards13 1 Quote
Return to Glory 8,518 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 Hasn't the Weed timed his run to perfection. Well done young man. 3 Quote
Pates 9,697 Posted August 19, 2018 Author Posted August 19, 2018 He did what was asked of him for the most part, still needs work on settling his nerves in front of goal. But attacked the contest well, clunked a couple and probably should've clunked a couple more. But there were good signs. Quote
TGR 1,367 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 How many games has Weed played in succession? I recall him getting picked then dropped...then picked and dropped and so forth. One thing that Goodwin and Co have done poorly IMO is not giving guys at least 2 games to shine. Yes his marking looked great today and will probably play next week. But young guys coming in, shouldn't have the shadow of the axe over them constantly. Most guys with reputation are given a licence to have a poor game or two. Yet young kids aren't given a licence for at least one. Many a great coach has picked a kid and guaranteed him two or three to remove focus from the axe above. Quote
Vineytime 855 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 40 minutes ago, IWAP said: Max mentioned on Triple M post-game that he was presenting so well as a forward, they didn't want to waste him in the ruck. So they put TMac there instead. Fairly tongue and cheek, but not far off IMO Weed was great in the first half, looked to run out of puff a bit in the 2nd half, been out of the AFL team for a while and with a high intensity game that’s ok, some great signs from him today, could become anything.. 1 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,717 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 (edited) I'm worried about the report from a reputable poster that Sam may ask for a trade to Geelong because he can't get enough opportunities in the seniors. Can see his point with Hogan and Tommy in front of the sticks. But Crikey, I hope we find a regular spot for young Sam as would hate for him to go. A terrific fighting game from him today. And great back up for Max. Edited August 19, 2018 by Lucifer's Hero Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,729 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 Loved his game. Do that every game for the remainder of the season and we will be tough to beat! Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 He started taking the marks we've been waiting for. Quote
chookrat 4,268 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 My wife and I generally have some bedroom action after a W and tonight will be no exception. I reckon I'll ask her to refer to me as Weiderman. 3 1 1 1 Quote
jnrmac 20,375 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 Competed very well today. Just what he needed to do. Halved or won most of his contests. Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 1 minute ago, chookrat said: My wife and I generally have some bedroom action after a W and tonight will be no exception. I reckon I'll ask her to refer to me as Weiderman. Good hands but lacks penetration? 3 4 2 Quote
jnrmac 20,375 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 2 minutes ago, chookrat said: My wife and I generally have some bedroom action after a W and tonight will be no exception. I reckon I'll ask her to refer to me as Weiderman. As in 'smoke the weiderman'? 1 Quote
Dirts 429 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 19 minutes ago, Cards13 said: Well done Weid, attack that ball like you own it. Deep breath before the goal shot and you’ll be all good. Next preseason he just needs to work his bum off to get that tank up to a higher level. Contest after contest. Said before I love this guy. Next year will be huge for him Quote
Dirts 429 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 11 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said: I'm worried about the report from a reputable poster that Sam may ask for a trade to Geelong because he can't get enough opportunities in the seniors. Can see his point with Hogan and Tommy in front of the sticks. But Crikey, I hope we find a regular spot for young Sam as would hate for him to go. A terrific fighting game from him today. And great back up for Max. New thread , keep the weed! Quote
M_9 2,216 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 55 minutes ago, IWAP said: Max mentioned on Triple M post-game that he was presenting so well as a forward, they didn't want to waste him in the ruck. So they put TMac there instead. Fairly tongue and cheek, but not far off IMO I suspect Weid was relieved of his ruck duties after being soundly beaten in the half dozen or so contests he competed in. And I'd given him a rap after seeing him v the Suns. Quote
whelan45 203 Posted August 19, 2018 Posted August 19, 2018 Think improving his tank will see his largest improvement. Looks noticably more tired around contests after half time in the games I've seen him at AFL level Quote
Pates 9,697 Posted August 19, 2018 Author Posted August 19, 2018 9 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said: Good hands but lacks penetration? Not a great finisher..... 1 1 Quote