AFL Finals Week 3 - Prelims

Posted

Let's all take a break from the scuttlebutt, fake news, inane bickering and political posturing of the last few days around here and talk about some actual footy. 

I reckon the Cats are a real smoky tomorrow night, should be a fascinating game. Plus we could get closer to sorting out this whole Lever thing a bit quicker if they do it. 

As for Saturday, get the riot squad ready if the unthinkable happened. No reason GWS couldn't do it but surely 90,000 + ferals will be a bridge too far. 

36 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

As for Saturday, get the riot squad ready if the unthinkable happened. No reason GWS couldn't do it but surely 90,000 + ferals will be a bridge too far.

It's going to be a real test of character for the Giants but aren't sportspeople at that level quite able to block out the 'noise'? (in the zone)

They could do all that as well as use the noise that is obviously there as a motivating tool.  The us against them mentality.  In other words,  'don't take it personal'.

The Crows should win but I reckon the Tigers/Giants game could result in a close finish.  Much will depend on Leon Cameron and whether he can get his team supremely motivated.

33 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

Let's all take a break from the scuttlebutt, fake news, inane bickering and political posturing of the last few days around here and talk about some actual footy. 

I reckon the Cats are a real smoky tomorrow night, should be a fascinating game. Plus we could get closer to sorting out this whole Lever thing a bit quicker if they do it. 

I think the perfect storm for perhaps mistakenly blaming 'the bye week' again is around the corner too, because Geelong and GWS do actually have more recent prelim experience than their opponents and it may show when the pressure comes on if things are close. Adelaide have folded easily in the last few years semi finals and in key moments when they could've booked a top 4 spot playing at home, but it should be different tomorrow. So I expect we'll see some choking over the weekend, whether it's enough to see the dreaded Geelong vs GWS grand final, who knows. 

Please. Giants are afl love child so you can expect umps to give them heaps of dodgy frees early. Will get balanced up of course but ive got the umps getting gws home by 8

This finals series has been a big yawn so far... doubt that it will suddenly change

The media are hyping Richmond and to a lesser extent Adelaide .. as the song says.... Is that all there is

The obvious tips are Crows and Tigers.

I can see Geelong pulling off an upset in Adelaide but not so much the Giants against Richmond.

So, it'll be a Geelong vs GWS Granny.

Really just hoping over the next few games that we get a forward that plays a match winner role (e.g Jarrman in the last quarter in '97) 

This finals series (barring the extra time game ) has been as bad a the whorethorn threepeat  GF's in terms of excitement factor

skill levels have been crap ? 

not a fan of any of the teams left over , just want quality contests and plenty of drama . 

P.s and jake Lever to get through unscathed!!!!! 

Most boring finals series (exception Port v West Coke) that I can recall. Weird considering how even the season was.

If the Giants can pull it off it would have to be the best "franchise win" of all time.

The hype for the tigers this week has been unbearable so I hope they don't choke, all the carry on about what jumper they will wear in the grand final is just asking for trouble 

One result of the bye is that the NRL finals are in synch with the AFL finals.

Hard to decide for tonight between the Storm v Broncos and the Adelaide game. Might watch Storm and record the AFL.

The Storm game would be a very hot ticket I would have thought.

Be an interesting crowd if Adelaide end up playing GWS.

Just as a side note its 30 years ago this weekend we played Hawthorn in that game. Where has the time gone!

Credit where credit is due, Tigers are in a pre lim, but they are such an ordinary side. I can't bring myself to rate them, take away their pressure game and they have a lot of ordinary players. GWS need to man them up and not allow them easy territory from cheap uncontested possessions. Force them to kick to a contest every time, force them to second guess themselves. If GWS come to play with a team first mentality and get away to an early lead and can silence the crowd they in my opinion can put Richmond away. I'm tipping this as the Giants finals breakout game. 

Crows / Giants / Storm / Cowboys (in an upset)

Crows & Storm

35 minutes ago, Dockett 32 said:

Be an interesting crowd if Adelaide end up playing GWS.

I think it will be a full house regardless who plays. 

19 hours ago, McQueen said:

The obvious tips are Crows and Tigers.

I can see Geelong pulling off an upset in Adelaide but not so much the Giants against Richmond.

So, it'll be a Geelong vs GWS Granny.

Now that would suck....id have to go for the Cats in a GF...yuk. In fact i dont think i can go for any of these sides in a GF!!

I think Geelong can upset the Crows. They beat them over there last year....only a few goals between the 2 on both occasions this year. Bit of late money for Geelong.

Im at the storm prelim final tonight.  At least 1 team i support plays finals, so will be checking scores.

Hope the crows win.  

As for tomorrow i thinkthe tiges get the job done.  Not sure if I can handle a week of hearing about the tiges in a gf. Part of me wants them to stuff up like only Richmond can. But I don't want the giants in a gf. Only if i knew that they would lose. 

20 hours ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

Im glad at least one of our players is in a final...

It will take ten minutes and three F/K's, either for or against, i reckon,  in the first quarter, to decide Cat's fate.

Dangerflog playing for frees as always.  No shame. 

Well, Chris Scott is still looking quite cheerful. Good for him. He's an upbeat sort of guy.

Golly gee. Crows VERY impressive

Cats ...  Hmmm