Farewell Jack Watts

Trade Jack Watts or not? 477 members have voted

1. 1. Do we trade Jack Watts?

• Yes.
    • No.

Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

16 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Never been close to a bnf in 9 years, let alone all Australian. Not in the leadership group. Rocks up in poor shape for pre-season training. Has been dropped to Casey by both Roos and Goodwin. Really poor comeback after his hamstring, especially in terms of intensity. A known party boy. 

Cant understand the criticism of Goodwin, McCartney and Jones for being sick of him. I only hope we get a decent trade.

I have also heard that he "party's hard". 

Edited by Skin Deeamond

1 hour ago, Lord Travis said:

Goodwin just interviewed on pre-game coverage for the Grand Final on change 7. He was quite open when asked about trades.

When asked about Watts, said the club was happy for Jack to explore his options but was welcome back at the club if he didn't find what he was looking for. They then mentioned Watts was in Port Adelaide seeing their facilities and having some meetings and what he thought of that. Goodwin said he was happy for Jack to explore his options, as he's had 9 years at MFC and a lot of pressure to deal with. Said a different environment may be good for him.

Based off that interview, Watts is gone. 100% gone if the club get a decent offer.

The key word in your concluding sentence is IF. A big IF indeed. We can't accept a second round draft pick. It is just a pig in a poke. Could be OK could be awful. Hope Jack stays as nearly three quarters of us do.

9 minutes ago, Skin Deeamond said:

I have also heard that he "party's hard". 

Hearsay is not always a good source of information.

100% agree chook. I can't understand the criticism either. Emotions in sport are a funny thing and as a dees supporter, we have seen the lot. He is gone however let's hope we receive something decent in return. 

3 hours ago, Mondê said:

Would love to somehow get jarman impey or aaron young out of a watts to port scenario

FFS. NO and NO.

The move will make or break Jack.

He will go in the Bernie Quinlan/Russell Greene/Plugger direction and revitalize his career.

Or he will be going in the Colin Sylvia/Cale Morton direction.

By the sounds of things, it sounds like Jack is the footballing equivalent of Michael Scott from The Office. At his core, he means well but his act is now too much of a distraction.

2 hours ago, Lord Travis said:

Goodwin just interviewed on pre-game coverage for the Grand Final on change 7. He was quite open when asked about trades.

When asked about Watts, said the club was happy for Jack to explore his options but was welcome back at the club if he didn't find what he was looking for. They then mentioned Watts was in Port Adelaide seeing their facilities and having some meetings and what he thought of that. Goodwin said he was happy for Jack to explore his options, as he's had 9 years at MFC and a lot of pressure to deal with. Said a different environment may be good for him.

Based off that interview, Watts is gone. 100% gone if the club get a decent offer.

After watching the interview, I got the impression that the FD doesn't feel he's part of their plans and basically said, you can try your luck exploring other clubs to get better opportunities, but if you stay you'll be certainly battling an uphill battle to be selected based off your current playing style and preparation i.e. you'll be on the outer.

Since how he's contracted he doesn't have to agree to the trade, but I can understand why he wouldn't want a whole year playing Casey.

38 minutes ago, Skin Deeamond said:

I have also heard that he "party's hard". 

That's interesting because my only meager source of football gossip is someone involved high up in local football and as such has meetings with his AFL equivalents, said he has heard that he's too much of a party boy.

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

there it is

Basically just means they don't care if he stays or goes. He's not going to create too much of an inconvenience at Casey all year, but the media attention will be ridiculous, so perhaps that's another reason they want him to leave. 

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

None of those quite frankly though capable of goals are in the same league as JW in terms of accuracy  and clutch kicking.

The distance is not a problem for Bernie or Milkshake but no money on them front a set shot after the siren!!

All things aside. Watts is our best kick

He's also a much better forward and ball user than Castagna Butler Townsend & Lambert but it takes many parts to make a forward line function. All 22 have to play their role.

I'll wait and see the outcome as the next year to 2 progresses over jumping to conclusions based on the player or pick we get.

We can have outcomes where all involved can come out positive. I wish Jack well whatever the outcome but the club moving forward is priority for me

24 minutes ago, Colin B. Flaubert said:

The move will make or break Jack.

He will go in the Bernie Quinlan/Russell Greene/Plugger direction and revitalize his career.

Or he will be going in the Colin Sylvia/Cale Morton direction.

By the sounds of things, it sounds like Jack is the footballing equivalent of Michael Scott from The Office. At his core, he means well but his act is now too much of a distraction.

Or option 3: He could do a Brad Sewell, stay and prove the club wrong as a 3 time premiership player...

Edited by rjay

5 minutes ago, rjay said:

Or option 3: He could do a Brad Sewell, stay and prove the club wrong as a 3 time premiership player...

Yep. The rocket has been ? fired

Take it or leave it

Given it seems the club is determined to push him out the door my hope is that Jack can’t find another suitable home. My hope is that he then comes back to pre-season in career best shape and determined to fulfil his considerable potential. 

He is never going to crash packs but I would definitely take what he offers in his best games but for that standard to be met on a consistent basis. Let’s face it we are going to get 2/3 of f. all for him in a trade whereas at his best his is worth a lot to us in a red and blue jumper. 

12 minutes ago, rjay said:

I would say that probably is least likely. He is goneski.

Is Watts our Tyrone Vickery?  Shed the player, spuds it up elsewhere, take a big step forward?

5 minutes ago, buck_nekkid said:

Is Watts our Tyrone Vickery?  Shed the player, spuds it up elsewhere, take a big step forward?

Brent Grgic mark 2

Watching Jack Riewoldt today just reminds me how important it is to nail yours set shots

32 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Watching Jack Riewoldt today just reminds me how important it is to nail yours set shots

And what it looks like to be a painful sook.

3 hours ago, Unleash Hell said:

Ill trust the FD decision mate.

And personally I'd take t Mac over watts everyday of the week as a kpp

You've missed the gist here. Its kicking abilities. Watts has Tmac covered in spades.

37 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Watching Richmond today just reminds me how important it is for every player on the ground to pressure the opposition

If you watch today's game and think we should keep Watts, you're out of your damn mind. A downhill skier, "cherry on top".

Elite skills are negotiable. They can be taught. He lacks the ability to apply non-negotiables. TRADE.

Edited by praha