How's everyone coping?

Fine, let's hit them harder.

The closer we get to the top of the mountain the more people are going to be gunning for us. 

3 minutes ago, Big Demon said:

Fine, let's hit them harder.

The closer we get to the top of the mountain the more people are going to be gunning for us. 

Also the more people we must push down the slope, their frozen bodies never to be found....

OK, a bit ott there

1 minute ago, Moonshadow said:

Also the more people we must push down the slope, their frozen bodies never to be found....

OK, a bit ott there

Sounds fine to me - do it to them before they do it to you.

This new feeling of negative attention we are getting has a name and it is called Relevance.

I find a "yeah we had a bit of luck" "we could be anywhere from 4 to 9" "your mob are doing ok but a bit unlucky, poor umpiring, injuries,  bad draw, unwarranted reports you know the sort of thing we have had as well?""good luck with your finals see you there"

is suitably received as most people are not good with irony.

Coping ?   As quite a senior and conservative member of 44 years standing I have shocked family and friends by having the MFC monogram tattooed on the underside of my right forearm .

Had it done after the QB game to celebrate our fourth consecutive win over the Pies .

1 hour ago, Win4theAges said:

Like they always say any publicity is good publicity??

I've also heard it said that there is only one thing worse than being talked about and that is not being talked about!

So let them talk, and when they're done talking they can sit and eat their words followed by a huge serving of humble pie (there's plenty to go around)!

P.S. I'm fine thanks.

1 hour ago, dee-eee said:

Coping ?   As quite a senior and conservative member of 44 years standing I have shocked family and friends by having the MFC monogram tattooed on the underside of my right forearm .

Had it done after the QB game to celebrate our fourth consecutive win over the Pies .

You went and got a tattoo after just a four-game winning streak? Would love to be around for your post-GF celebrations. 

2 minutes ago, Skuit said:

You went and got a tattoo after just a four-game winning streak? Would love to around for your post-GF celebrations. 

fully-tattooed-man(2).jpg

8 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Just on this, I was was wondering if when you go into a users profile if it's possible for their previous usernames to be listed? 

And I'm coping fine thanks, thanks for asking. 

If you go to someone's profile next to their name there is a little icon that you can click that will display their previous incarnations. 

Loving the fact that we're talked about, loving the fact that teams are hating us, loving that fans of teams fear playing us (or at he very least know it ain't gonna be easy), loving the media trying to bring us down, and loving that every time they try to we seem to shrug them off like Jack Viney shrugs off a tackle. 

This culture stuff they've been talking has been the biggest load crap I've ever heard. It's actually funny it's that bad. 

2 hours ago, Demonland said:

If you go to someone's profile next to their name there is a little icon that you can click that will display their previous incarnations. 

Where, exactly?

(Sorry, I know this isn't a Forum Help thread).

6 hours ago, Deestroy All said:

fully-tattooed-man(2).jpg

Is this Molly Meldrum ????

Really well. How nice is it to be in the top 8, with hope of finals footy and a future that looks bright. With a coach who is clearly a leader of men, who is measured and intelligent driving us for sustained success (hopefully). An off field team lead incredibly well by PJ that is quietly quietly going about its business of making enoug money to give the footy dept every chance of success. No histrionics just getting the Jon done!

It smells like [censored] roses to me at the minute.

I've not really picked up on any negativity about us from other fans at this point, although watching the baggers replay I did really enjoy winning as their fans were really up and about when they went a few goals ahead in the last! Suck it you cheating for flags, self indulgent flo gs. 

Bit hysterical to think the media/football world is out to get us

Hopefully the boys just keep going on the path they are on, the rest is just noise that can be ignored without thinking we're always the victim of something

10 hours ago, deanox said:

Im struggling. 

On one hand I'm bullish. But I fully expect it to all come crashing down. 

Im not ready to deal with being successful yet: I don't want to gloat but people either say "how about those dees ey?", which is hard not to respond by talking them up out they whinge about how we didn't deserve it due to umpiring etc. which makes me want to respond.

I had resorted to talking up underrated players as having potential but everyone knows about Hunt now and Oliver is hated more than anyone. 

Now I'm resigned to copping it and Im just holding on, hoping we keep robbing so I can start dishing it back. 

People spent ages talking about how Hawthorn didn't deserve it. Free kick Hawthorn was a meme for a while.

Pretty sure all those cups are more than enough comfort.

Can't wait till we have some too.

I'm enjoying it. Beats the crap out of being on the receiving end of bad games.

Balls to the rest of the comp. The more the opp fans and media hate us and want to bring us down, the bigger my smile gets. 

And I love that we have a team of angry young men. Just gotta harness it, but I reckon Goody and co will get that right.

7 hours ago, yoSMOKIE said:

Bit hysterical to think the media/football world is out to get us

I wouldn't say they're "out to get us", but 3-4 years ago the pitied us. They definitely don't pity us now and it's more marketable to bring us down at times. That said they also like to pump us up too, or probably more accurately they like to jump on a bandwagon. 

Ultimately it's just enjoyable to have us in the media, even if it is a couple of articles that feel a little made up. 

I'm a nervous wreck working out how to get home for finals, I nearly broke my lap top 3 times watching the game on Sunday, I spend alot of time in Google and medical websites reading about recovery from injuries, I dearly miss having all the Essendon, Pies and Carlton supporters I know around to give it to them. On top of that I spend far too long in the funny reading this website when I should be working. And I will probably nuke my career if we win this weekend because I'm going to call Downer in London and give it to him.

I'm with DA - where the [censored] were you 4 years ago?!

You're checking in with my mental state now because a few Carlton twats think we are mean?!?

Nah, mate.

Just...forget about it.