Posted (edited)

The fwd line will look something like

Harmes, Pedersen, Petracca

Hannan, T Mac, Kennedy/Kent

If we can win with that we can win with anything.

Edited by Garbo

Posted

Is Dion Johnstone an outside chance to debut ? With jeffy out we lose one of the best pressure forwards in the league and Johnstone has been praised all season for his pressure, tackling and repeat efforts by the coaches.

i know he hasn't been lighting it up in the VFL but I wonder if he gets a look in due to how important forward half pressure is to our game plan, and goody seemed to be a fan of Dion during the pre season. 

Posted
1 hour ago, stevethemanjordan said:

O-Mac is nowhere near quick, agile or aggressive enough in the air to play on Reid. 

I really don't see a matchup for Oscar this game. He allowed Petrie to kick a bag. 

Petrie is pushing 50.

Actually a couple of Petrie's marks/goals were when Jetta was manning him, so using your logic we should not play Jetta? You can't blame OMac for every goal the opposition kicks against us, even though it clearly suits your tired agenda. 

We don't play a man on man defensive zone, so whoever comes in will be required to help OMac, Frost, Hibberd and Jetta minimise the influence of Franklin, Reid, Papely etc. 

I wonder if we'll let Franklin roam a bit then really pressure him when he gets to within 60, using the speed of Hunt and Frost with some mids peeling back.  

Posted

Playing the MCG where we have struggled this year maybe Garlett out is a blessing in disguise. Opens the door for Weeds maybe. I like our structure going forward, as it showed against the Eagles we didn't let them flood until the last minutes when it was a given for them to. Believe we can beat them in the middle and our defense has been very solid lately. If we can force Buddy to push up it would be even better. Salem is a huge out though because we lose our loose defender. Not sure who you replace with him because few in the VFL are as level headed and reliable with the ball. We lose a lot of skill with him out. Bigger loss than Garlett imo. Jones and Garlett are both big outs but easily covered because we have players to come directly in at those positions.

Posted

Losing Salam is exacerbated by also having Watts out, as both can deliver deep forward with creativity and precision.

Although I did note Clarry kick a couple of neat I50 balls and Pedos lob to Tmac was sublime...

Posted

So yesterday it was Watts and Hogan to play with Garlett as a test.

Today it has all gone to #$%@ ...... MFCSS surfacing again

What makes me think Buddy might find his kicking boot again

O well ... there is hope... Bugg might kick 5 or 6 !!

Posted

If we beat the in form swans with the outs we have I will call us a lock for finals 

Posted

Frost or Tmac on Buddy both have the engine, neither are scared. I actually think the midfield is a bigger challenge when Sydney mids are 'on' they are best in class.  In my mind win this and Goodwin is Coach of the Year, extraordinary run of games to win, especially with 5 of best 18 not just 22 injured. Lewis also needs to play the game of his life he and Hibberd need ti be our elite distributors now that Salem and Watts are injured.

Posted
13 hours ago, Skuit said:

You forgot the great Alex Georgiou. Not just kept him quite, but let Buddy know about it as well.

I thought he was going to be great...why was he delisted in the end??

Posted
5 minutes ago, Danelska said:

For being the opposite of great. 

Posted (edited)

Jetta frost hibberd

hunt. Omcd lewis

stretch. Viney vince 

petracca. Pedersen harmes

kennedy tmcd Hannan

gawn Tyson oliver 

bugg    Neal bullen   Kennedy Harris  melksham

Edited by spirit of norm smith
Z
Posted
8 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Jetta frost hibberd

hunt. Omcd lewis

stretch. Viney vince 

petracca. Pedersen harmes

kennedy tmcd Hannan

gawn Tyson oliver 

bugg    Neal bullen   Kennedy Harris  melksham

Think I agree with this just not sure if Kent or Kennedy I would pick who puts on the most pressure not sure who has been doing the best in Vfl pressure wise, need unrelenting pressure for 4 quarters to beat the swans the goals will come if our pressure is at its best 

Posted
31 minutes ago, Deestroy All said:

For being the opposite of great. 

He was good on twitter.

Posted

I gotta say as much as I would love to see all our guys fit and healthy and on the hallowed MCG turf on Friday night, I'm also super excited to see the strategies that Goodwin cooks up to mitigate the losses and play to our strengths. If we bring a monumental amount of heart and combine it with smart efficient play, we can pinch this one too.

Am I tipping us to win? No I'm not, but am going into the game with the belief that it's absolute possible.

Posted

IN: Tony Anderson into a Corporate Box for Friday night (Yeah Baby) ^_^

Posted
7 hours ago, Garbo said:

The fwd line will look something like

Harmes, Pedersen, Petracca

Hannan, T Mac, Kennedy/Kent

If we can win with that we can win with anything.

Plenty of raw talent there. It's not 2013 anymore. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Danelska said:

I think he never recovered from that time he and young Viney sandwiched (was it Lynch) that Adelaide player where Jack was suspended and in (I think) our only MRP challenge won.

Georgio had been playing pretty decent defensive footy up until then, but was inured and as far as I remember never played again.

Posted

I'm expecting two changes, just the replacements for Salem and Garlett. I'd pick Wagner and then the best of Kent, JKH or Kennedy for Garlett's role.

I don't think we should be picking Weideman on the back of one game. I don't think that's the right signal to send to Casey, especially when players such as JKH, Wagner, Trengove and White have strung together three or four games of solid performances.

I also wouldn't be dropping OMac on the back of one poorer performance after two much improved ones. I think he is capable of playing on Reid and with Frost on Franklin I'm comfortable with those match ups (though if we lose the midfield battle it will hardly matter who plays on Franklin).

Posted
19 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

I also wouldn't be dropping OMac on the back of one poorer performance after two much improved ones. 

Clearly if Hogan isn't playing Oscar won't be dropped, because Tom will be forward.  

The Carlton game may be a different story with Hogan looking a likely inclusion and Carlton having a lack of key forwards.

Posted (edited)
10 hours ago, stevethemanjordan said:

O-Mac is nowhere near quick, agile or aggressive enough in the air to play on Reid. 

I really don't see a matchup for Oscar this game. He allowed Petrie to kick a bag. 

Petrie is pushing 50.

#omacmyths.

Fair dinkum you need to take your bias glasses of. This is is completely untrue.

I just watched the replay. Only one of petrie's goals, his fourth,  involved omac, when he was too strong and outmarked him after a quick kick from the centre. His other goals were from marking mismatches - a point richo made - and one of them frost did not impact the contest when he should have.

Not aggressive enough in the air? Have you been watching the last few weeks? He has been smashing packs and routinely doing huge spoils.

It must be so annoying for you that the selectors dont share your opinion of him. 

Posted

If we can win this without Hogan, Jones, Watts and Garlett, they can just give us the flag straight away, because when they come back ... look out.

Suspect that it'll be a step too far, especially on the back of this run of 6 day breaks and matches away.

Posted

Salems out too

Posted
1 hour ago, binman said:

#omacmyths.

Fair dinkum you need to take your bias glasses of. This is is completely untrue.

I just watched the replay. Only one of petrie's goals, his fourth,  involved omac, when he was too strong and outmarked him after a quick kick from the centre. His other goals were from marking mismatches - a point richo made - and one of them frost did not impact the contest when he should have.

Not aggressive enough in the air? Have you been watching the last few weeks? He has been smashing packs and routinely doing huge spoils.

It must be so annoying for you that the selectors dont share your opinion of him. 

Correct. Only one was kicked on Oscar. 

Talls that mark the ball at the highest point are our biggest weakness defensively. Petrie, Daniher, Ben Brown (Moore if he didn't drop 5 of them). So it doesn't really matter who was down there last week, and Oscar was certainly not to blame. 

It's also why I'm more worried about Reid than Franklin this week, we've got the speed to deal with him on the lead and when the ball hits the ground. He's not much threat with a ball bombed on him. 

Hopefully Reid has one of his I'm not showing up games.