Posted
2 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

You assume a lot about me, anyway too tired plus plane is about to take off....

Bombay out.

First line was a just a light hearted joke mate, sorry if I offended you.  The rest I thought explained and justified my position with no assumptions or judgements, but fair enough.  Enjoy your flight.

Posted

Don't pack a beanie BA, there'll be plenty of nice blue ones to purchase at the ground.

if you're behind the Punt Rd goals, I'll be the loud one having a go at the umpires. Say g'day!

Posted

How long can ch 7 hang on to that dreadful commentary team?  I guess there being no competition in broadcasting FTA it will continue   

Cliche central -- "puts up the dukes", "sells the candy" --  time after time, night after night.

Horrible. 

Posted
27 minutes ago, small but forward said:

Don't pack a beanie BA, there'll be plenty of nice blue ones to purchase at the ground.

if you're behind the Punt Rd goals, I'll be the loud one having a go at the umpires. Say g'day!

Don't be so sure they said on afl360 they ordered 60,000 beanies then the next night said they had 100 left 

Posted

That was my interpretation.

He certainly makes little impact on games. Is he not ready or simply not good enough? Have the Saints bought themselves a lemon?

Posted

I think the thing is with McCartin he dominated under 18s because he was bigger, now he is against men he struggles a bit, can that change I'm not sure wouldn't be the 1st person to dominate at lower levels and not step up to AFL, I am glad the saints took the choice away from us, if he played for us would be the new whipping boy 

Posted

Gee I hope the Lions can cause an upset over Freo. That happens and we win we'll be sitting pretty in 6th possie.

Posted
1 minute ago, McQueen said:

Gee I hope the Lions can cause an upset over Freo. That happens and we win we'll be sitting pretty in 6th possie.

I tipped Brisbane, I think they're due for a win. 

Posted
39 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Let me repeat, McCartin looks solid.

I know he gets a fair bit of the footy, but Jack Steven looks very, ahem, solid..............too. Been in a good paddock has Jack.

Posted
2 hours ago, olisik said:

It's beyond belief this team gets consecutive Friday night matches.

I couldn't believe this when I saw them promoting next week's Friday night game what a Joke. That makes it 3 Friday night games for the season compaired to our 1 F$#@ me AFL. 

Posted
6 hours ago, Win4theages said:

I couldn't believe this when I saw them promoting next week's Friday night game what a Joke. That makes it 3 Friday night games for the season compaired to our 1 F$#@ me AFL. 

It doesn't fuss me that the Saints, and to a lesser extent, the Dogs, get as many Friday nights games as they do. It exposes (to more footy fans) the fact that they just ain't that good. 
Of course more Friday night games for us may help garner greater sponsorship dollars. 

Posted
8 hours ago, monoccular said:

How long can ch 7 hang on to that dreadful commentary team?  I guess there being no competition in broadcasting FTA it will continue   

Cliche central -- "puts up the dukes", "sells the candy" --  time after time, night after night.

Horrible. 

Commentarys not directed towards the 35+'s mate - its all about the young uns

Posted

For those complaining about St Kilda's 3 Friday nights. Just remember we have a couple of pretty big "marquee slots" on top of our 1 Friday night game, in Anzac Eve and Queens Bday.

Posted
1 hour ago, Forest Demon said:

For those complaining about St Kilda's 3 Friday nights. Just remember we have a couple of pretty big "marquee slots" on top of our 1 Friday night game, in Anzac Eve and Queens Bday.

Understood, but the Saints are rubbish. 

Posted (edited)

For those complaining about StK's FTA games it is the Essendon exposure that should inflame.  They have the Saturday Night time slot sewn up!

Including this weekend they have had 6 Saturday Nights, Anzac Day, and a Sunday afternoon game on FTA.

After the bye they have 2 Friday Nights and another Saturday Night.

That is 10 Prime Time FTA games!  These time slots are supposed to be for teams that win a lot of games.  Last time I looked Ess came last in 2016 and there about in 2015.  A great reward for drug cheating,eh!

Re St Kilda, Gil McLachlan is a Saints supporter.  He weilds a bit of influence at Channel 7.  But I don't begrudge the Saints' FTA.  Like us they are a struggling club and need every bit of exposure they can get.  It is those that are already big and powerful gifted lots of prime time FTA that annoy me.

The system is rigged to give exposure to Ess. Coll. Rich. Carlton (all bottom of ladder sides in 2016).  Until we consistently get 60,000+ members and win a few premierships we will continue to be relegated to Foxtel.  Even then those 'big' clubs will still demand the spoils.

Posted

Confirmed my suspicious about the saints, they don't have the top end talent to make it as far as I think we can. 

Posted

As LH points out it is no longer Friday nights that are the big draws from a TV viewpoint.

It is now Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights ... all FTA coverage.

We get two of those plus the QB afternoon game (might rate better as a Sunday night game but perhaps a lower crowd.)

Would be very interested to see the breakdown by club (home or away) of night time FTA coverage

Again as LH says.. I cannot see it changing in the short to medium term but if we expect to attract reasonable sponsorship we have to be able to deliver FTA coverage

Posted
12 hours ago, Nasher said:

First line was a just a light hearted joke mate, sorry if I offended you.  The rest I thought explained and justified my position with no assumptions or judgements, but fair enough.  Enjoy your flight.

All good Nasher, no offence taken, I'm guilty of misreading what you wrote. Flight was a little cramped but thanks, the good news is Melbourne isn't as cold as people make out, it's just how I remember it.

Bring on Monday.

Posted
1 hour ago, Abe said:

Confirmed my suspicious about the saints, they don't have the top end talent to make it as far as I think we can. 

Shows the importance of Riewoldt not just in what he does but the influence he has on the opposition. The other team watch him which frees up other players.

Riewoldt playing last night would not have seen the Saints win but it might have been closer

Would be interested ti hear comments on the relative game styles of the two teams. Saints used a strong forward press that Adelaide managed to break with relative ease.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Shows the importance of Riewoldt not just in what he does but the influence he has on the opposition. The other team watch him which frees up other players.

Riewoldt playing last night would not have seen the Saints win but it might have been closer

Would be interested ti hear comments on the relative game styles of the two teams. Saints used a strong forward press that Adelaide managed to break with relative ease.

Saints started the game in damage control trying to stop the crows kicking a flurry at the start, but as a result the crows got into a groove before the saints ever even got their game going and when they finally did it was to late

Posted
11 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

I tipped Brisbane, I think they're due for a win. 

I tipped the Dockers because my tipping form of late indicates I should get it wrong.