POST MATCH DISCUSSION - Round 11

5 minutes ago, AdamFarr said:

We're watching a different game then, mate. We desperately needed someone to take the pressure off our defenders a number of times coming out of defence. They kicked to Dawes and even when he had the clear height advantage a number of times he never looked like marking it. He took one good mark at half forward when it was kicked perfectly to his advantage.

His failure to get to contests and provide an option down the line time and again is a massive issue. He'd be at those contests from kick outs, because everyone else is stationery.

Rarely got off his opponent. Most marking attempts were contested and very difficult in this weather. Gawn couldn't take one either nor Hogan. 

Reckon there will be a fair number of positives to come out of this, although final quarter  not acceptable.

General effort, Jack Trengove return , Petracca, Wagner has done pretty well for a kid out of the blue, midfield much better than the past, backs acceptable, Dawes competes.

There's probably more, but we were in it for a long way.

Fearless ability to deliver the killer punch ( am I allowed to say that?) the lesson of the week.

No point in doing the hard yards for 3 quarters and then not get the chocolates.

If rather support the losing team than support a bunch of duckers, droppers and divers. 

32 minutes ago, Demonised said:

So many Hawthorn hacks off the ground went straight to a Hawks player. Couldn't believe it.

Bloody umpires.

4 minutes ago, dl4e said:

I dunno bout you blokes but I was disgusted at the loss today. How many years are we going to go through with this. I know I should be patient but today really got to me.

Try seeing the 70s and 80s flogings!

Im disappointed about the result but dawes trenners and VB will be better for the run.

Still find it baffling the team will constantly kick to Dawes but often ignore Watts.

Dawes did try today and there were some good efforts but he was well held and beaten I'd say. 

Still not an answer.

2 minutes ago, dl4e said:

I dunno bout you blokes but I was disgusted at the loss today. How many years are we going to go through with this. I know I should be patient but today really got to me.

Cheer up . I wasn't the belting most here were expecting.  Stayed with them for 3 quarters and weren't obliterated in the last, we simply lost to a far more experienced team.   Some of you guys just amaze me.

I hope the club raises the kicking in danger issue. And the increasingly ludicrous head ducking issue.  Sue sometimes it requires a bit of mind-reading to know if the player ducked or slipped etc, but they pay frees even when it is glaringly obvious.

Either that or we need to employ a ducking coach.

Olisik and Adam; did you go to the game today? 

Combined you you have over 10,000 posts but thinking maybe you only have time to post and not actually truely watch footy?

I don't know about anybody else, but I absolutely lost my [censored] when that [censored] #40 got that free right in front for an absolutely blatant duck, scores level 5 minutes into the last quarter.

While I am disappointed with the last quarter I can put this loss down to a lack of experience in the team and a lack of experience playing in these conditions. On average the Hawks had twice as many games than we did. if you were to remove the top three most experienced players numbers from the equation i believe it would be more like three time more games experience.

I have no problems with the games of Trengove, Dawes or Vdb. as first runs in a long time, I think they were reasonable and will be better for the run.

I hate to lose but this time after the Hawks game I believe i can see a brighter future.

I was impressed with our game today. It was a hell of a lot better than last week

Two things stood out for me:

1.Our backline struggling which isnt news

2. Our lack of frwd pressure. Unlike the hawks we didnt trap the ball in our frwd line. Watts was good for 3 qrtrs but like Hogan did not lay one effective tackle

Aside from Garlett  taking another holiday we can hold our heads up imo

28 minutes ago, biggestred said:

Kicking in danger rule gone forever

Until we do it. 

I thought Frost was excellent though and the McDonald brothers were solid too.

Effort was there today but we ran out of puff and got beaten by a more experienced outfit.

Depressing to see us sink to 11th on the ladder and 4 points behind Carlton. As good as we have been at times this year we're still a ways off until the kids become consistent.

Just a few skill errors in the end a bit of luck to Hawthorn with kicks off the ground and umpires decisions .

Proud of the effort in the middle without Viney

1 hour ago, Forest Demon said:

I am in the same boat. Players like Lewis and Hodge are looking old and weary every time we smash into them. No doubt they will get a rocket though, and the result will depend a lot on how they respond.

From the game day thread:

Not sure why you thought that of Hodge. I didn't see him all day....

58 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

Shame to lose this one. We were a real chance until the last quarter until the experience Hawhtorn team did what it needed to and started kicking accurately.

We should beat them next year. 

We can do it this year LT.

Overall disappointing not to get the chocolates, delighted to come back the way they did in the second term.

Some horror errors from a few players. Some players really stood up in the wet I thought were Vince, Tyson and Jetta. Dawes presented at least, just wish he had good hands on him. 

Watts was decent overall. I thought Wagner and Hunt were important at times I thought they were accountable. I thought Oscar took another step forward today down back. Thought Jesse could have made decisions better and Garlett I hoped to be more dangerous - both quiet today and probably the difference overall. Liked Oliver again.

I don't usually wish injuries for players, I just wish when the time presents to disguise a knee to a thigh of an opposition player like Mitchell - you should take it on days like today. 

5 minutes ago, Steno said:

Olisik and Adam; did you go to the game today? 

Combined you you have over 10,000 posts but thinking maybe you only have time to post and not actually truely watch footy?

This coming from a guy with 21 posts. Mate your opinion doesn't even matter.

and yes I was at the game and close enough to hear the slapping sound of Dawes hands on the ball 

1 minute ago, Forest Demon said:

I don't know about anybody else, but I absolutely lost my [censored] when that [censored] #40 got that free right in front for an absolutely blatant duck, scores level 5 minutes into the last quarter.

Not just you mate. Small pocket of us went absolutely sick. Got told by the woman in front of me to 'calm down' as she patted my leg.

They must coach the umpires better. You could see them today hesitate on these calls i think after the furore during the week..but then they called it anyway. Afl must sort it out its becoming a real issue. Its the kids who are doing it too, they are clearly being coached. Sicily got 3 free kicks from it today.

54 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Not having a go Wadda but i am sick of us thinking like this tbh. 

Yeah i know, just trying to find a positive in an otherwise gut wrenching match.....God i hate that club....the day will come tho.

3 minutes ago, olisik said:

This coming from a guy with 21 posts. Mate your opinion doesn't even matter.

and yes I was at the game and close enough to hear the slapping sound of Dawes hands on the ball 

Lol, you think number of posts equals significance.....

Dumb footballers or dumb coaches!

Hawks kicked it quickly and long all day, often of the ground if needed. Only Vince, Jones and Tyson did it consistently for us.  Considering our contested play and clearance work is superior to them, this style of play would have benefited us better.  Wet weather football is actually that simple - my two pre-teen boys were screaming "just kick it long" all game (funny enough, they employed this same tactic in their own games this morning against higher placed teams, and won).

Again dumb footballers or dumb coaching!

Much better than last week, however, really didn't play the smarts after Watts goal in Q3.

Great story on Trenners...however, they'll need to think through how to get pace back into him.

we also need to find a midfielder with pace...who can really burst the line.