View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

GAMEDAY - Round 1

Woke up excited!! My wife says to me "it's been a long summer but today we get to go home"... Home being the G. 

A touch nervous about the game but can't wait for it to start. 

Good luck boys and happy birthday Jack, hope you get a ripping present! 

Have been looking forward to this game for a while now. Unfortunately, our boys and I have been stopped at the front door by my life manager*. We have been told that Easter comes once a year and that we are not wasting any part of this weekend sitting down watching football. She has not decided on what we ARE doing, but has certainly decided what we ARE NOT doing. sigh

I hope we win of course, but I hope it's a dull, boring and lifeless Fremantle style win so we don't miss too much.

*-aka wife

I'm tormenting my just turned 6 month old boy and setting him up for a lifetime of sporting chit, he is off to his first Dees game.

Mumma has laid out all of his Dees gear ready to you, I've got his brand new ear muffs organised as daddy likes to yell at the footy!!!!! 

Trepidation and excitement for round 1 especially against a GWS side that will turn the corner and look to be a powerful side to play against at some stage. Just hope it isn't today.

I've done my pre match meditation so I should remain calm when GWS kick the first goal within the first thirty seconds of the first quarter.I'm expecting a high scoring shootout with the Dees prevailing.I'm heading off to the MCG now because I'm sure Metro will have a few surprise delays in stall for me on the Belgrave line.

Go Demons!!! 2016 will be like 1987 and it begins now.

A bit of rain won't hurt our chances.

Harder for them to play their slick, coast to coast brand of footy when the pill's like a cake of soap

2 minutes ago, Juicebox said:

A bit of rain won't hurt our chances.

Harder for them to play their slick, coast to coast brand of footy when the pill's like a cake of soap

Harder for them to play their slick coast to coast footy when we're pressing up and belting them before they even get out of their defensive 50!

Big games needed by Kent, Harmes, Jeffy and Kennedy!!

29 minutes ago, mrtwister said:

Have been looking forward to this game for a while now. Unfortunately, our boys and I have been stopped at the front door by my life manager*. We have been told that Easter comes once a year and that we are not wasting any part of this weekend sitting down watching football. She has not decided on what we ARE doing, but has certainly decided what we ARE NOT doing. sigh

I hope we win of course, but I hope it's a dull, boring and lifeless Fremantle style win so we don't miss too much.

*-aka wife

Divorce her.

Confident but also nervous. Think we will go OK.

so nervous.

most of my non-dees mates reckon gws will pump us.

hells bells, that better not happen.

ps: series 3 of hannibal is incredible. amazing show. such a shame it wasn't allowed to go for the intended 5-season arc to tell the full story. mads is amazeballs.

19 minutes ago, mrtwister said:

*-aka wife

Heh. In the space of two posts we saw the wife who can't wait to return to the 'G and the wife who is completely anti-football.

Mine's definitely more anti- than pro- though she's never attempted to stop me from getting in to it. It's more of an eyerolling acceptance than a putting the foot down.

As the name suggests, I will be spending the day at sea clicking refresh on the flash scores site and refreshing Demon land.

You guys help these long days go by with hours of entertainment.

MAKE ME PROUD DEMONS

1 hour ago, Josh said:

My foxtel dosent get here till the 4th of April (if its on time) so it's Corowa's anual Easter Saturday Billy kart races for me. Believe it or not it will probably get more heated down Sanger St than at the G today, lots of swearing and throwing bottles, its a great family day

Sounds like a typical day in Corowa without the wife swapping and the sheep tossing.

As for the game, I am feeling supremely confident. Everything just feels right at the moment - a solid preseason, almost a full list to choose from, our senior players fit and firing, supplemented by some serious young talent. I might be setting myself up for disappointment, but stuff it. I want more than the feeling of relief you get when you win unexpectedly. 

I get home from 5 straight weeks at sea next Friday back to Sydney.

The missus should be counting her lucky stars that I am not home to hijack the TV all day and that the days of having my weekend ruined and sulking around the house crying to the dog are over.

Away with the family over easter so will miss the game sadly. Even more sadly the same goes next weekend. File under what was I thinking? (Marital harmony probably)

Will go complete media blackout and watch it 'as live' on Monday (along with the races). Go dees

Well I cannot wait. I'm expecting a win and will just feel deflated if any other result occurs especially after our Nab form. Cannot wait to see our new guys particularly Oliver and see Maxy hopefully dominate the ruck and Jesse kick a bag and everyone get off his backs. 

Hope there is a good crowd as well. 

Gee the partners that won't cooperate WE are sitting in a cafe on Wellington Parade having breakfast before trotting down to the G   reckon we are in for one of the best games we have seen for a while should say we have a commitment before the game  so early

I'm 3 hours behind being in Perth so the games starts at 10:30 here. Got a kids birthday party to attend at the same time, luckily I've the AFL live on my IPhone. Not sure if my misses would appreciate it if I was on my phone the whole time instead of socialising with other fathers. Might have to use the toilet every 30mins to watch a sneaky 5mins.

18 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Heh. In the space of two posts we saw the wife who can't wait to return to the 'G and the wife who is completely anti-football.

Mine's definitely more anti- than pro- though she's never attempted to stop me from getting in to it. It's more of an eyerolling acceptance than a putting the foot down.

I'm in exactly the same position.

Watching today's games in between chores and family commitments. Hoping for a good win today and another next week, before getting to seeing the Dee's playing down here in Tassie at Blundstone for round 3... Haven't seen a live game for a few years, and with a bit of confidence, and some momentum it should be a ripper!

1 hour ago, DemonLad5 said:

I. AM. PUMPED.

Thanks Lad, reminded me I need to pump up the footy for a kick at half time!

3 minutes ago, small but forward said:

Thanks Lad, reminded me I need to pump up the footy for a kick at half time!

Agreed. Bloody good to have footy back!!

56 minutes ago, mrtwister said:

*-aka wife

I tell you what you could do - divorce her.  You don't need that sort of rubbish! ;)

Feeling good about the game today.  I can't make it but I'll be refreshing the scores on my phone every few minutes.  If we stop their run off half back we go a long way to winning this game.