Posted
12 hours ago, Deestroy All said:

What screams Richmond more than Daryl Braithwaite's 'Horses'? Probably someone OD'd on horse behind Dimmeys... but let's get back to the entertainment...

The Toigs are going with Daryl Braithwaite's Horses for the season opener. Daz himself will be on stage singing it before the game whilst horses gallop around our hallowed turf, I [censored] you not. 

But the fun and hijinks don't stop there, there'll also be karaoke cam at quarter and 3 quarter time. To which songs, you might ask, well just the one, Horses. 

And there'll also be a lip sync battle at half time, if you haven't got enough of Horses yet, it'll be to Horses. 

I'm not making this [censored] up. Thank you Richmond, I for one, cannot wait. 

I couldn't hate this song more if I tried! Chuck in John Farnham & Bon Jovi's summer of 69.. 

I'm glad the Dee's use Hells bells to rev up the team!!

Posted

This is a genuinely awful idea from Richmond, Bingle, the AFL, the MCG and anyone else involved.

The "match-day experience" is one of the biggest things going wrong with the sport at the moment.

Posted

Obviously Richmond have decided that 25 years after the demise of the "Swagman Restaurant" that the time is right for reviving cabaret entertainment. 

Cringeworthy really. This will be like Angry Anderson at the the 91 Grand Final which is coincidentally the year the Swagman burnt down.

An embarrassment for the ages.

Posted
53 minutes ago, Coup Cooper said:

Bon Jovi's summer of 69...

Coup, whilst I agree with your Hell's Bells appraisal, I just have to point out something.  Summer of 69 isn't Bon Jovi.....it is by Bryan Adams.

Posted
55 minutes ago, Coup Cooper said:

I couldn't hate this song more if I tried! Chuck in John Farnham & Bon Jovi's summer of 69.. 

I'm glad the Dee's use Hells bells to rev up the team!!

Not meaning to be picky, but I think you mean Bryan Adams 'Summer of 69' - but agree that they're all in the one category of music for me.  

Not sure how much the Tiges would be making from such a venture, but not enough to buy back their dignity.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Maple Demon said:

Coup, whilst I agree with your Hell's Bells appraisal, I just have to point out something.  Summer of 69 isn't Bon Jovi.....it is by Bryan Adams.

Beat me too it Maple,

Maybe we can do our season opener to an Ozzy or Alice Cooper rendition.  Plenty of pigeons in the local environs. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Maple Demon said:

I thought 'Coup' was taking the P155...

Posted
12 hours ago, McQueen said:

Holy fark, I thought you were extracting the urine and then I went googling.

image.jpeg

Next they will be playing for the Bingle-Sherbet Cup ...☺?

Posted

I have just finished reading a few articles on this ridiculous start to the season and I am still in shock!

It is well known that Hawthorn bust out a team rendition of Horses in the change rooms after their AWAY victories and the Feral Sun article has a big picture of DB singing with Clarko and the team after the 2015 premiership.

What the hell are Richmond thinking?!?! I would be deliberately rolling up late so I missed that crap and then ensuring I am at the bar during the breaks so I don't have to witness the karaoke on the big screen!

Stealing someone else's song ---- $1,000

Embarrassing your supporters ---- $500

Finishing 9th and still being the laughing stock of the comp ---- PRICELESS :cool:

Posted
1 minute ago, daisycutter said:

why are they holding green stubbies?

Because Demon supporters snapped up all the red and blue ones, of course ... :lol:

Posted
14 hours ago, biggestred said:

The thinking behind this  is everything that is wrong with footy. 

Just give us the 2s, a cold pie and some peace and quiet.

And for god's sake kick the bloody thing!!!

Posted

I would be so worried if i was a tigers supporter, i look at their team and wonder where the next wave is, and their current stars are overrated and not going to get them near a flag so they should worry far more about than then any off field music stuff

Posted
48 minutes ago, Roger Mellie said:

I'm quite comfortable with the idea of Richmond looking like a cringeworthy laughing stock.

There's already the finals series for that.

Posted

When will the AFL and it's clubs realise that we aren't Americans............We don't need to be entertained every minute of a trip to the footy.

If I want to listen to a entertainer I will go to a concert........If I want to sing I will go to a karioki bar or have a shower and sing my heart out.

I hate being yelled at, at the footy with loud adds and latest odds    I can tell the score by just looking at the score board, don't need to be told at the breaks ...I like to read the Record and talk to my family before a game or even better watch the seconds and try to pick out our next big player.

In a few years I wouldn't be surprised if we all have to stand for the American National anthem.

The football is all the entertainment I need.

• Like 13
Posted
15 minutes ago, Bossdog said:

When will the AFL and it's clubs realise that we aren't Americans............We don't need to be entertained every minute of a trip to the footy.

If I want to listen to a entertainer I will go to a concert........If I want to sing I will go to a karioki bar or have a shower and sing my heart out.

I hate being yelled at, at the footy with loud adds and latest odds    I can tell the score by just looking at the score board, don't need to be told at the breaks ...I like to read the Record and talk to my family before a game or even better watch the seconds and try to pick out our next big player.

In a few years I wouldn't be surprised if we all have to stand for the American National anthem.

Well said.... :roos:

Posted
1 hour ago, Bossdog said:

This marketing stunt is plainly ridiculous.

However, check out the success of the Big Bash. It was essentially designed by a Yank who'd never seen a game of cricket before.