Posted

As designed by Dave Larkin

Posted (edited)

I'm really loving our jumper this year. The red is a great colour, there is no stupid collar and the emblem's gone which makes it look a lot better!

Me too, thats why i brought one!

Now to get some consistency with the red in everything!

Sorry but the southern cross is too much of a bogan symbol these days, watch the bogans that support us this jumper, which makes me torn as the income is great!

Edited by AzzKikA
Posted (edited)

That's a great jumper.

Considering how many Melbourne players were lost in the war, it seemed like a natural fit for Melbourne to do *something* on the day. Collingwood however had a support and player base heavily involved in the union movement at the time, which was striking and causing all sorts of havoc to our war effort. Collingwood's working class base epitomised the anti-war rhetoric, and now they exploit ANZAC Day.

I don't know, I've always felt uneasy about how the AFL deals with ANZAC Day. However I do wish Melbourne would do more seeing as though the club lost more in the war than any other. It's a double-edged sword. I'm not sure how to address it. But a part of me has always been disappointed that Melbourne hasn't done more.

But this is Melbourne. Doing is less is always...well, less.

Edited by praha

Posted

That's a great jumper.

Considering how many Melbourne players were lost in the war, it seemed like a natural fit for Melbourne to do *something* on the day. Collingwood however had a support and player base heavily involved in the union movement at the time, which was striking and causing all sorts of havoc to our war effort. Collingwood's working class base epitomised the anti-war rhetoric, and now they exploit ANZAC Day.

I don't know, I've always felt uneasy about how the AFL deals with ANZAC Day. However I do wish Melbourne would do more seeing as though the club lost more in the war than any other. It's a double-edged sword. I'm not sure how to address it. But a part of me has always been disappointed that Melbourne hasn't done more.

But this is Melbourne. Doing is less is always...well, less.

I think that we are doing a bit this year praha.

Its an Anzac even before the holiday, night game etc. I think a big hoo haa will be made.

I know we did a few years back when we would play Sydney and Barrass would present a trophy etc.

FWIW I like the jumper. Understated. Not too in your face. Although, generally speaking i believe the southern cross is pretty bogan

Posted

Me too, thats why i brought one!

Now to get some consistency with the red in everything!

Sorry but the southern cross is too much of a bogan symbol these days, watch the bogans that support us this jumper, which makes me torn as the income is great!

It's screams bogan when it's a sleeve tattoo or on the back of a V8 ute, not so much when it's being used on Anzac day to honor our fallen soldiers.

Posted (edited)

Are our players worthy to wear such a jumper after our insipid capitulation? I think not unless LMF is stamped across the chest.

Posted

I like the jumper but not sure whether to take up the club's offer to buy one. I contacted the marketing department and asked if they thought the jumper would look as good on me as on Jack? I pointed out that I have a big head and am about 3 foot tall with strings attached.

I haven't got a response yet. Strange!

Posted

I like the jumper but not sure whether to take up the club's offer to buy one. I contacted the marketing department and asked if they thought the jumper would look as good on me as on Jack? I pointed out that I have a big head and am about 3 foot tall with strings attached.

I haven't got a response yet. Strange!

fishing for a freebie, earl? did you announce your title? ^_^

we all know how the privileged aristocracy in this country work. bet you've never bought a beer or paid entrance to a nightclub

Posted

Are our players worthy to wear such a jumper after our insipid capitulation? I think not unless LMF is stamped across the chest.

I get your point I just noticed the ANZAC emblem on the shoulder. That emblem epitomises a level of commitment to the cause that our blokes have never shown, not in my time anyway.

Posted

It's screams bogan when it's a sleeve tattoo or on the back of a V8 ute, not so much when it's being used on Anzac day to honor our fallen soldiers.

It's not a uniquely Australian symbol though? It's relevant to the Southern Hemisphere and several other countries also have the Southern Cross on their flags.

Posted

What an awesome jumper - Im buying one for sure, Beautiful tribute to our fallen diggers and every person who has every served this great country of ours. This jumper will take pride of place in my home. Go Dees. Go The Aussie Diggers.

Posted

It seems like i'm one of the only ones in the camp of that looks like crap. Fine line between understated and bland, a light blue southern cross awkwardly placed at the front just looks bizarre imo. But hey, they could wear pink polkadot lingerie for all i care as long as they smash richmond.

Posted

Will be totally awks if the side lacks effort and loses by 10+ goals.

Posted

Will be totally awks if the side lacks effort and loses by 10+ goals.

Come on mate can't you just be a tad more optimistic?

Posted

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/anzac-round-jumpers-to-be-renamed-for-weekly-discussion-thread.1092482/

Don't mind ours. Understated. Essendon's I get and I think it's good but at the same time I don't like it. GWS, Brisbane and St Kilda though. No thanks

GWS I don't mind, Collingwood and Freo may as well have not bothered and I'm not sure what's going on with the Saints jumper... ours and Essendon's are both well designed and I would think meet the brief of representing the ANZACs.

Posted (edited)

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/anzac-round-jumpers-to-be-renamed-for-weekly-discussion-thread.1092482/

Don't mind ours. Understated. Essendon's I get and I think it's good but at the same time I don't like it. GWS, Brisbane and St Kilda though. No thanks

PMSL@ Freo's and Collingwoods, they just put the ANZAC badge on it and collingwood added that and the poppy...lol

Stk one makes no sense at all.

Brisbanes is HIDEOUS!

I like Essendrugs.

Edited by AzzKikA