AFL - Round 1 (non MFC games)

Hasn't finished just yet...

Did they forget the siren or was it really a 40 min quarter! A good way to wear Ess down!!

Oh my god my day just got better. I put on another thread that my day was ruined by essendon beating the swans because they were 6 goals up in the wet, but I just checked the website and they lost. you ripper.

Did they forget the siren or was it really a 40 min quarter! A good way to wear Ess down!!

Stretcher was used.

Thank god for that last quarter.

I was bracing myself for an avalanche of vomit. I never read the Herald Sun, but I wouldn't have been able to go within smelling distance of a copy if the Druggies had won.

As it is, I'm sure Hirds toadies will be farting out garbage about the team's 'fighting spirit' and how they would have won had it not been for the evil ASADA robbing them of their Pre-season.

Marvellous that Drugendon got beaten and Hird was booed

Must watch the last Q this week :)

Edited by Sir Why You Little

Hird getting booed every time they show him on the screen.

Heaney seals the game.

SYDNEY have got out of jail on this one.

Swans fans getting knowledgeable finally...

There is hope for footy in NSW!

Pick 7 for pick 19 (Boekhurst), Jaksch & Mark Whiley.

Could still get some value out of that trade, but for a top 10 pick?

I'd expect more.

I think they paid overs 'Machsy', early days I know but they've overrated Jaksch.

Pick 7 for pick 19 (Boekhurst), Jaksch & Mark Whiley.

Could still get some value out of that trade, but for a top 10 pick?

I'd expect more.

Jaksch is ok, I'd give him time, he's probably a solid 2nd tall forward than a key defender though. The issue I have is taking Boekhurst, much like us taking Salem and Tyson you have to make sure you're at least getting 1 class player. A mid level WAFL player with a bit of speed is unlikely to be as good as pick 7! That said I doubt Carlton would've had the guts/ability to make the tough call and pick Nakia Cockatoo whom with hindsight seems the steal of the first round (Heeney aside). I think they had their heart sets on Kyle Langford lasting all the way to 19 but the Bombers pounced and got him at 17.

Was watching the Swans game, needs to be another crackdown on trainers lurking with intent. Conveniently standing in space giving messages to no one.

Edited by Al's Demons

Jaksch is ok, I'd give him time, he's probably a solid 2nd tall forward than a key defender though. The issue I have is taking Boekhurst, much like us taking Salem and Tyson you have to make sure you're at least getting 1 class player. A mid level WAFL player with a bit of speed is unlikely to be as good as pick 7! That said I doubt Carlton would've had the guts/ability to make the tough call and pick Nakia Cockatoo whom with hindsight seems the steal of the first round (Heeney aside). I think they had their heart sets on Kyle Langford lasting all the way to 19 but the Bombers pounced and got him at 17.

...but they did over pay for him 'George'. Their recruiting has been very strange over the last few years and that's a good thing I reckon. Can't stand 'em.

reality check for Brisbane...

And for me. i thought they'd go alright this year. On this performance they have absolutely nothing going on.

reality check for Brisbane...

They look absolutely terrible.

Rockliff might be injured too, which just adds insult to the injury that is this abysmal performance.

I had them pushing for the finals this year; if they play like this they'll be closer to the bottom than the 8.

The Lions are having one of our start to the year, in years gone past of course - 'good' new recruits and a thorough deflation of hope and life itself.

They look absolutely terrible.

Rockliff might be injured too, which just adds insult to the injury that is this abysmal performance.

I had them pushing for the finals this year; if they play like this they'll be closer to the bottom than the 8.

The Lions have a good midfield and NOTHING else. Their forward line is abysmal.

So are Collingwood good this year or are Brisbane just crashing back down to earth?

Column A just looked at Column B and shrugged...

• Author

The Lions have a good midfield and NOTHING else. Their forward line is abysmal.

If not for terrible kicking for goal we would have beat them at Etihad last season too

brisbane dont have a key tall forward with brown gone. They were tipped by many to make the 8. the pies are doing it easily.

The bulldogs west coast game is close. Wouldnt it be nice to see them get up and hopefully the saints beat gws and the 3 of us will be sitting in the 8.

Geez some peculiar matches tonight. Thought Brisbane were going to kill it this year, Collingwood would be pathetic and Bulldogs would threaten Saints for the spoon.

Wrong on all counts.

Brisbane are a very young team getting ahead of themselves. Pies are a team with some smart veterans playing hard. Every time I hear about Stefan Martin's weight room dominance I feel it's cursing him and Brisbane. He's had a career year as a mobile speedy ruckman and he goes and turns in to being built like a monster but not moving nearly as well?