MFC injury list - 2015

I wonder with the injuries to Pedersen and Grimes this could open up a spot for either Harmes or white?

More likely you'll see Terlich

Get excited!

The report said Pedersen fractured AND broke his wrist. Don't think I've heard that happening before.

I reckon he has done enough to earn another season on the list too.

Obviously this means we have two forced changes, with Dawes the likely in for Pedersen but not sure who they swap for Grimes. Could Harmes possibly get promoted at some stage?

Not trying to be clever Wiseblood, but fractured and broken are exactly the same. Bad luck for Cam.

Pretty sure the report stated fractured and dislocated.

OUCH

It was my mistake - it was fractured and dislocated, as mrtwister mentioned above.

Considering he'll be out for about 6 weeks and will then have to return via Casey, i wonder if Grimes has played his last match for Melbourne?

Apparently your not allowed to say that. I suggested as much after not being selected for the QB game. Not sure how he's considered a first choice player. How much is left on his contract could go a long way to determining his future. Feel free to hang on.

Thank god we don't have Jonathan Patten.

That would have been a bad 1st Pick.

Apparently your not allowed to say that. I suggested as much after not being selected for the QB game. Not sure how he's considered a first choice player. How much is left on his contract could go a long way to determining his future. Feel free to hang on.

Of course you're allowed to say that, but you'll just get shouted down by the sensible people who actually have watched his progress this year and noted how much more value he is providing.

It isn't that hard to see, and there is absolutely no way he is being delisted this year (and I don't even know if he is out of contract).

so its

Newton concussion test... assume will pass

Fitzpatrick test... assume will pass

Garland 1 week

Vandenburg 2 weeks

Frost 4 weeks

Salem 4 weeks

Hunt 4 weeks

Kent 6 weeks

Grimes 8 weeks

Pedersen season

Petracca season

Trengove season

Edited by spirit of norm smith

Wait, so did Grimes break his wrist punching the locker?

No it was his thumb. He stuck it too far out when hitchhiking back after the game.

so its

Newton concussion test... assume will pass

Fitzpatrick test... assume will pass

Garland 1 week

Vandenburg 2 weeks

Frost 4 weeks

Salem 4 weeks

Hunt 4 weeks

Kent 6 weeks

Grimes 8 weeks

Pedersen season

Petracca season

Trengove season

Strewth are we cursed? Play a game loose 2, play a game loose 2 more. At this rate we won't be able to field a side. What shytes me is this not a one off, it happens year on year. We don't have depth so we seem to be always playing at around 60% of our potential. No wonder we struggle to get off the bottom rungs.

And what has Hunt done? The kid has been injured for two years.

Edited by Earl Hood

just did a quick count of the injury lists

ade 9

bris 18

carl 9

coll 9

ess 5

freo 9

gee 16

gc 12

gws 7

haw 3

mel 12

nm 8

pa 6

rich 9

stk 3

syd 6

wc 6

wb 9

ave: 8.7

At least we are top 4 in something....

I feel really bad for Grimes. I've rated his performances since he came back into the side (didn't deserve to be dropped IMO). I also feel bad for Pedersen, although he was poor on the weekend I've liked his endeavour and his work in conjunction with Hogan.

As has been said, the continued growing of the injury list has multiple negative effects - we don't get to have the players consistently playing together, which for us is hugely important (also why it doesn't hurt Geelong as much, as they've still got their core players who know each other back to front). Roos made the point on the weekend that we still don't function as a team 100% of the game, and that's not going to improve if we keep having key players get into form and then disappear from the side due to injury. We also have to swap players around into different positions to cover for the gaps, which doesn't help their personal development.

Of course you're allowed to say that, but you'll just get shouted down by the sensible people who actually have watched his progress this year and noted how much more value he is providing.

It isn't that hard to see, and there is absolutely no way he is being delisted this year (and I don't even know if he is out of contract).

Hes contracted until next year. The problem for mine is people are saying things like "starting to show something".....what...now? He was drafted in 2007. I don't need to hear the excuses I've heard them all before.

Well Watts and Toumpas are "starting to show something" aren't they? You are clearly a fan of instant pudding and two minute noodles.

Stkilda at 3 makes me feel a whole lot better about last weekends game, they must be pretty [censored] if that's close to the best they've got

they are average mate and if we had a full team in we'd [censored] 'em!!

Hate to say this, but Grimes' injury sounds similar to Dawes' injury, which still doesn't seem to have healed properly as it's probably what messes up his marking.

And Pedersen's injury sounds like a Galeazzi fracture dislocation, which is a nasty injury.

It's absolutely essential to get the right treatment from the start for both these injuries. They've both had surgery already and it sounds like they're in very good hands.

(these are just guesses from the information we've got so far, I don't have any inside knowledge)

Edited by Akum

It sucks but the injury list could be worse in terms of who is injured. I won't jinx it by giving examples, but it could be a LOT worse. The Giants just lost their first choice ruckman, FB and CHB in one hit. Gold Coast barely have enough players to field a side.

Grimes is a real shame though as he was building into some decent form.

I feel really bad for Grimes. I've rated his performances since he came back into the side (didn't deserve to be dropped IMO). I also feel bad for Pedersen, although he was poor on the weekend I've liked his endeavour and his work in conjunction with Hogan.

As has been said, the continued growing of the injury list has multiple negative effects - we don't get to have the players consistently playing together, which for us is hugely important (also why it doesn't hurt Geelong as much, as they've still got their core players who know each other back to front). Roos made the point on the weekend that we still don't function as a team 100% of the game, and that's not going to improve if we keep having key players get into form and then disappear from the side due to injury. We also have to swap players around into different positions to cover for the gaps, which doesn't help their personal development.

Also, we brought Cross & Lumumba in to be part of the midfield, and because of injuries we're having to play them as full-time defenders.

Barring any setbacks we will have Garland, JKH and Vandernberg back for the game vs Essendope.