Posted

A timely article by Garry Lyon on injuries:

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl-injuries-the-hurt-factor-that-no-one-wants-to-talk-about-20150612-ghmghg.html

According to AFL injury list (a few minor changes since publishing):

Brisb 18, Cats 16, Suns 14, Saints 1, Dees 7 (list adjusted for Dawes/JKH in and Garland out), Others 4 to 9

Ours are Garland, Vandenberg, Trengrove, Salem, Petracca, Evans, Frost

I see every reason to be very conservative with their recovery.

If we rush them back players breakdown again sometimes with dire results (Trengrove/Clarke).

Player welfare is also an issue...a quote from Judd this week: "... he recently literally felt nauseous at the thought of having to play sore."

I like that we are looking after our players especially the young guys.

Misson and medics are doing fine!

On the positive side it gives experienced players a chance to show why they should stay on the list and new recruits a chance to get a taste of AFL.

I think you've mixed up Evans with Kent.

Posted

I think you've mixed up Evans with Kent.

Thanks ttwt...have fixed post...memory not so good in the mornings!

Posted (edited)

Just when he was back looking good and had improved his disposal. Our injury list is ridiculously long now.

If we had a few of these blokes running around the last couple of months wed have a couple more wins.

iOK7Wr2.png

Edited by hogans_heroes
Posted

The curse continues, I reckon we'll be lucky to top our wins tally from last season.

Posted

Who ran over the footy gods cat? Working theory is picket fence mistook it for the recruiter who overlooked ollie wines and now the footy gods are out to get us... [censored]

Posted

Poor Hunt just recovered from the back injury? Would be interested to know how many games of footy he has played. Does he have another year on the contract? If not he could be gone seasons end.

Edit: played 12 VFL games (probably most were restricted game time)

Posted

Bloody hell, we just can't catch a break. Just when we're starting to play okay, the footy gods find a way to keep us down.

I think the problem isn't that we can't catch a break, You may find it is the opposite ;)

Posted

Gee, Pedersen being out for the season is bad luck for him and us.

His contract runs out this year so he won't have another chance to cement his spot.

I was really hoping he would be re-sgined soon as he played well and has good chemistry with Hogan.

Hope we still sign him.

Gutsy effort by Grimes (like Garland last week) to play out the game with a broken thumb.

Posted

Devastating, in particular for Jayden hunt who has never had a chance to have a good crack and may be getting delisted at the end of the season

Posted

Pedersen out for the year? Strewth! I thought it would be a 4-5 weeker a la Wines who also broke his wrist earlier in the year.

May as well put Frost out for the year too. He has been listed as 6 weeks away for 8 consecutive weeks now.

I think we're lucky that despite a long injury list, pretty much none of them are in our best 5-8 players. Imagine if all of Hogan, N. Jones, Vince and Tommy Mac went down!

Posted

The report said Pedersen fractured AND broke his wrist. Don't think I've heard that happening before.

I reckon he has done enough to earn another season on the list too.

Obviously this means we have two forced changes, with Dawes the likely in for Pedersen but not sure who they swap for Grimes. Could Harmes possibly get promoted at some stage?

Posted (edited)

Good chances for a few of the younger guys, but anyone who thinks that this isn't having an impact on our season is kidding themselves. It's not just who is out, it's just the constant changes and instability in the team. More than anything else, they need to be playing together on a regular basis.

Not helping.

Edited by bing181
Posted

Really disappointed for Grimes - he was finally starting to string together some form to get his career back on track.

The injury list is well and truly out of hand now. Very, very frustrating.

Posted

Pedersen out for the year? Strewth! I thought it would be a 4-5 weeker a la Wines who also broke his wrist earlier in the year.

He both dislocated and fractured his wrist I read.

Posted

Unpreventable - Garland, Grimes, Newton, Pedersen, Petracca, Hunt

Old - Trengove

Possibly preventable - Frost (loading etc), Salem, vandenBerg, Kent

And Fitzy, Dawes, JKH as well

I think we've mainly had bad luck especially losing Garland, Grimes and Pedersen to broken bones in the space of 2 weeks.

The thing that's hurt us is the loss of players from 3 distinct positions.

Half forward; Kent, vanders, JKH, Petracca

Half back: Garland, Grimes, Salem

2nd ruck/fwd: Pedersen, Frost, Dawes

A good week next week and the bye will see the numbers on the list shrink down with the hamstrings within sight of rejoining the side as well. In the meantime we take the chance to look at a few more on the list I guess. The midfield and 4/5ths of the spine are in place. With proper depth we'd barely be missing any of those out.

Posted

We aren't the only ones though. Judd and Daisy are gone for the Blues, the Giants just had Mumford go down for the season, Davis out for 6-8 etc.

It's unfortunate but, apart from a few clubs, there are plenty with a long injury list. It's just a shame we don't have the same depth as some of the others.

Posted

The official Melbourne injury list: round 12

Jack Fitzpatrick (adductor) – test

Sam Frost (toe) – 6 weeks

Colin Garland (hand) – 1 week

Jack Grimes (thumb) – 6-8 weeks

Jayden Hunt (jaw) – 3-4 weeks

Dean Kent (hamstring) – 5-6 weeks

Ben Newton (concussion) – test

Cam Pedersen (wrist) – season

Christian Petracca (knee) – season

Christian Salem (hamstring) – 3-4 weeks

Jack Trengove (knee) – season

Aaron vandenBerg (hamstring) – 3-4 weeks

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.