Posted

For those that didn't know Angus posted a photo on his instagram account on Xmas day doing 100 100m sprints.

While many AFL players would be at home letting themselfs go and having a few beers on this day we have a young 18 year old who has just been drafted grinding it out in the heat doing massive amount of gut running. Leaving no stone unturned. This work ethic and drive is the kinda stuff Roosy would be wrapt about.

It is an amazing self disciplined and drive to be out doing what he was on Xmas day. This kind of stuff is what makes a champion footballer and leader. I hope a lot of the players took note of this. They will be nervous because now spots are up for grabs and this kid is in my round 1 team. Already showing the way and im loving it.

And hows the irony, our number 3 draft pick is already more expensive in supercoach then a former number 3 draft pick who is cruising around in Freo. Fantastic isn't it.

Posted

I love hearing this.... but in saying that Al has a point

But I am sure the club are keeping an eye on him and he has a program set by the club (it probably dosen't include Xmas day) but I have a lot of respect for this kid.

Posted

Massive difference between this and the Tyson one.

First of all we are talking about a kid who has just been in the system for 5 minutes. Most 18 year olds on on christmas day would be having a few beers here and there and relaxing. You just never expect that from a rookie on christmas day doing a gruelling running session.

Secondly Brayshaw didn't ping a hammy while doing this. In fact he got through unscathed. The reason why Tyson did his was because he was hamstring was still a bit tender from his knee injury. He himself even admitted that he went way too hard first up. Besides you expect blokes like Tyson doing be doing this kind of stuff because at the time he wanted to get fit as possible and prove a point. Which he has.

Get the point your trying to make but its a fantastic effort for a kid to be doing this on a day where all you do is eat, sleep and drink.

Posted (edited)

He says he was doing them...

Prob just a quick pic pretending to spring then back for thirds and a slice of pudding with brandy custard. :)

Edited by Gorgoroth

Posted (edited)

I had 100 100ml shots of egg nog. It sounds like a lot but achievable over a whole day.

Sprinted to the toilet a few times. Dedication.

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted

Reminds me of boxing day 2012.

Tom McDonald was working hard in the gym.

Rivers, Frawley and Howe were creating a long snake out of beer cups at the cricket.

Spot the difference in professionalism.

Howe's okay....penny's dropped for him, I reckon....

Posted

I had 100 100ml shots of egg nog. It sounds like a lot but achievable over a whole day.

Sprinted to the toilet a few times. Dedication.

That's what separates you from the pack.

Keep it up!

Posted

Does no one remember Toumpas reportedly doing a similar thing..?

Not sure if there's a point here or not, or rather the point is subjective depending on your perception of Toumpas in particular.

Posted

Apparently TDI{saty}scooted the 100x100 with him.

Trenners couldnt keep up,but was said to be in love with the speed scooter.

Posted

Good to hear our next wave of players are training hard to get a game instead of being gifted a game.

Posted

Reminds me of boxing day 2012.

Tom McDonald was working hard in the gym.

Rivers, Frawley and Howe were creating a long snake out of beer cups at the cricket.

Spot the difference in professionalism.

Media beat up. I'm amazed people still bring this up.

Posted

Apparently TDI{saty}scooted the 100x100 with him.

Trenners couldnt keep up,but was said to be in love with the speed scooter.

No sorry Boxing Day was a day off, although myself and the lady scooted from Collingwood to Malvern and back today, does that count?

Did not sight Angus Brayshaw anywhere, obviously bludging somewhere, he was wasting his time anyway, Roos doesn't like or use Twitter or Instagram

Each player has a program THEY HAVE TO FOLLOW, over the break, so he would not be alone

Posted

I thought the 100, 100's was no longer in the footy training program?

Port Adelaide are a big fan of this drill. The physical pain is one thing but mentally its a whole new level.

Posted

Stupidly, as I clicked on the headline I thought it said "James Brayshaw's comment".

"did I miss Lunch mum, I am actually fairly hungry."

Posted

Correct the 100 /100s are old hat the reason is partially because of the pressure placed on the heart.Plus lactic acid can lead to overuse injury! Love the dedication but I hope with the fitness guru's were OK with this!

As an aside I remember putting cricketers through 50/50 s one night as I was filthy with the 3 run outs suffered on a Saturday which cost us a game, Due to lack of fitness

Sheeit it was funny watching all the smokers nearly cactus themselves doing it!

I made the point, do it or I don't care who you are you won't play next Saturday! One bloke refused and although he could play was offered a no frills transfer to the club of his choice! Sometimes ya just gotta put the stick in the sand!

Posted

Correct the 100 /100s are old hat the reason is partially because of the pressure placed on the heart.Plus lactic acid can lead to overuse injury! Love the dedication but I hope with the fitness guru's were OK with this!

As an aside I remember putting cricketers through 50/50 s one night as I was filthy with the 3 run outs suffered on a Saturday which cost us a game, Due to lack of fitness

Sheeit it was funny watching all the smokers nearly cactus themselves doing it!

I made the point, do it or I don't care who you are you won't play next Saturday! One bloke refused and although he could play was offered a no frills transfer to the club of his choice! Sometimes ya just gotta put the stick in the sand!

Did you end up successful or go down in a blaze of glory Mark Neeld style?

Posted

Anyway, Brayshaw had 40 days off from September to mid October not running on his ankle. So he might be in a hurry to get his fitness back.

Almost every AFL player is a committed professional. Especially any good one. So I'm impressed by Brayshaw, but if other players took xmas day off then they did some really solid sessions on boxing day or Christmas Eve.