Posted

Revived his career and became one of the top stories of the season, after being delisted by the club at the end of the 2013 season. Started 2014 as a rookie and by the seasons end was an important member of the team as a defender.

Games MFC 2014 16

Career Total 57

Goals MFC 2014 1

Career Total 20

Games CSFC 2014 2

Goals CSFC 2014 2

Keith "Bluey" Truscott Memorial Trophy 191 votes

Posted

Couldn't be happier for Nev. A-grade person made of the right stuff - always wanted him to make it due to his tenacity and aggression, but didn't think he would. Well done.

Posted (edited)

Easily in the top 10 players at the club and if he played all year I think he could have made the All-Australian squad of 40.

What impresses me most is that he stands up in the tackle and rarely fumbles. These are two attributes many Melbourne players struggle with.

Edited by Clint Bizkit
Posted

In the games where we were playing footy worthy of VAFA C-Grade, Nev looked like one of the few reliable and professional footballers. Great season, can put him in the XVIII each week with no second thoughts.

Posted

Magnificent season whyich I didn't see coming. Well done Nev and well done PR and GS!

Posted

Unlike many around here, I'm not a member of his cheer squad, but clearly he improved markedly over the course of this year and he deserves credity for that. The next step in Nev's development is for him to be prepared to leave his opponent to help out his teammates, rather than watching the game carry on around him.

Posted (edited)

Unlike many around here, I'm not a member of his cheer squad, but clearly he improved markedly over the course of this year and he deserves credity for that. The next step in Nev's development is for him to be prepared to leave his opponent to help out his teammates, rather than watching the game carry on around him.

Nev does contribute with rebounds, but asking him to be the next wanganeen or malceski might be unfair on him (also unnecessary for the team). Reckon Ben Matthews has been showing Nev tapes of himself non-stop for the last 12 months.

Edited by pitchfork
Posted

Had a great season and often did rebound with very accurate kicks to a teammate.

Posted

Can't link to any specific examples but Nev is absolutely prepared to leave his player and help out a teammate if he thinks it's likely to benefit the team. He's not a "shut down my man and the rest of the team can worry about their own stuff" kind of a player, in my opinion.

Posted

Can't link to any specific examples but Nev is absolutely prepared to leave his player and help out a teammate if he thinks it's likely to benefit the team. He's not a "shut down my man and the rest of the team can worry about their own stuff" kind of a player, in my opinion.

he is a shining example of a player playing his role week in week out. has the attributes required to play pressure football. stands up in tackles, strong, calmly delivers the ball. not a long kick but effective. we just need about 10 more Jettas who can play their role, along with some elite talent to compliment them.

Posted

One of the positives of the season, a great example of hard work and perseverance.

Posted

My last post on Nev Jetta was when people were talking about rookie listing him again

If we were going to re-draft a never was we mind as well have taken Heath Scotland. At least he was a has been and still might influence a couple games next year

Might have been a bit off on that one... yuck

Couldn't be happier that you made me eat my words in the similar fashion Dunn and Pedo have.

Great work and hope you keep your body right and have another good year.

Congrats mate.

Posted

Nev is the perfect roll model for others at the club who might have been under achieving.

Look at what can be done by hard work, perseverance and some raw talent.

I really admire the lad for what he has so far achieved, but there's still work to do for a potential 200 gamer!

Posted

Nev did something that is rare in our best 22. He did his job, and did it for 4 quarters, and did it every game he played. He was a surprise packet, because I like many thought he was done. He still has some things to work on, but if he can keep doing what he did this year next, he will be a permanent fixture in our best side.

Nev had a terrific season and I hope to see more of him in 2015.

Posted

Loved watching Jetta develop this year. A consistent bright spot and always seemed to be doing positive things around the footy. Exciting to see whether he can back it up and improve next season.

Interesting little stat:

Among players with 150+ disposals, Jetta was equal 1st with Ben Rutten with a Disposal Efficiency of 87.5%.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.