Posted

You can't work out a players worth from stats alone. I suppose you were a Moloney and Silvia fan too 'Hogan'? He shares many similar traits, I'm talking on ground but come to think of it off field as well.

I understand that

I was just addressing the people that said he was a crap footballer, which he clearly isn't

Posted (edited)

An [censored] who has a severe lack of understanding in making choices he may be but if you could get him cheaply through the preseason draft with a contract loaded with several conditions, I would actually not mind having a look at Robinson.

Hard as nails and you never die wondering, Robinson has limited ability but he is everything in his endeavours and way in which he hits the ball that has seen the likes of Sylvia, Morton, Gysberts and others never get near their best

I would not rule out chasing him

MFC can hardly be choosy.... i would go hard after him and Garlett at seasons end in a swap for Frawley and picks etc.

We could do much worse than having these two running around. Miles ahead of many in our current list in terms of competitive animal attack (Robinson) and pure speed and damage on the run and kicking goals (Garlett).

I can't recall "niceness" on a footy field winning too many big matches or finals.

One of the nastiest dirtiest a'holes i ever saw grace a footy field is now considered and venerated by many critics and experts to be one of the greats in the game....and by some to be the greatest ever. And he led his mob to a few premierships. Robinson certainly doesn't have that ability but like i said, a fair way ahead of many on our present list.... and we can't be all that choosy. I don't see a conga line of amazing players beating our door down anytime soon to select from as replacements for the many who aren't even close to being AFL competetive.

Posted

MFC can hardly be choosy.... i would go hard after him and Garlett at seasons end in a swap for Frawley and picks etc.

We could do much worse than having these two running around. Miles ahead of many in our current list in terms of competitive animal attack (Robinson) and pure speed and damage on the run and kicking goals (Garlett).

I can't recall "niceness" on a footy field winning too many big matches or finals.

One of the nastiest dirtiest a'holes i ever saw grace a footy field is now considered and venerated by many critics and experts to be one of the greats in the game....and by some to be the greatest ever. And he led his mob to a few premierships. Robinson certainly doesn't have that ability but like i said, a fair way ahead of many on our present list.... and we can't be all that choosy. I don't see a conga line of amazing players beating our door down anytime soon to select from as replacements for the many who aren't even close to being AFL competetive.

Wow, thinking that a gameday drinker late night unprofessional boofhead who abandons his team mates would be good for the club. I'm impressed.

Garlett I'm less certain of, but I don't see the risk-reward coming out in our favour if we did select him.

Neither are 'cultural assets'. And neither would make an important difference on the field.

Posted (edited)

Wow, thinking that a gameday drinker late night unprofessional boofhead who abandons his team mates would be good for the club. I'm impressed.

Garlett I'm less certain of, but I don't see the risk-reward coming out in our favour if we did select him.

Neither are 'cultural assets'. And neither would make an important difference on the field.

Garlett could be handling himself and thinking about some bird in the crowd and still kick 35 goals per year without laying a tackle.

Edited by jazza
Posted

I understand that

I was just addressing the people that said he was a crap footballer, which he clearly isn't

He has poor disposal.

No thanks we have enougb of them.

Posted

People saying hes a terrible player are clouded bu their blind hatred for him

He is far from a bad player, he is well above at least 50% of our list

Career averages of 19 disposals and 4 tackles, can kick a goal and doesn't take a backward step

Averaged 22.5 touches in 2012 and had 9 Brownlow votes

But yeah hes a spud, would never get a game at Melbourne!! Fools

It's not about whether he's a spud.

It's about the fact that he's not a star, and so the obvious negatives of bringing in a sh*t bloke on our culture far, far, far outweigh bringing in a player who is average (i.e. not terrible, but not great either).

Posted

I'd give him permission to train just to give Roh Bail the chance to run through him.

Good memory. Ro's first serious concussion if I remember correctly.

Posted

I can add a bit more to this, An of the ball event in fact miles away from the action and he turned around and King Hit Rohan Bail! The game was the Affiliate clubs Casey Scorps Vs Northern Bullants and it must have been about season 2011 I reckon maybe 2010. Not sure!

If I recall correctly the club were absolutely livid! I think he got 4 weeks but given the lack of video evidence etc he was extremely lucky to have only got that!

If it had been a main game and the hit was seen he would have got months such was the severity and thuggery of the incident.

Apologies for putting his name up earlier as a potential recruit. In light of current scenario I think AFL Footy is better of without this type of player!

Posted

I think as punishment Mitch should be put in a dark Alley with Jesse Hogan and dressed as a weekbix

Posted

Robinson is I contracted I'm sure he and his manager are aware he is borderline so he opted to lie about to not reduce his chances on a new contract paying him as much as he can get. Blown that out if the water but made his own choices (to be out at 5, to get in a punch on, then telling a porky about it) and it will have consequences for the peanut.

He clearly bruises and breaks.

^ ^ ^

Posted

He is a deadbeat, he is a thug but if he came cheap (ie delisted free agent or token swap for someone like Strauss) and Roos thought he could turn him around then I would take him in a heartbeat.

So sick of our soft on-field culture and the fact no one ever remonstrates with guys like Merrett last week. Just like that bogan Campbell Brown helped some of those kids on the Gold Coast, Robinson and Hogan would be a great injection of aggro next year.

Averages about 20 possessions and a goal a game and loves smashing blokes. If Roos thinks he could keep him on the straight and narrow like he did with Shaw at Sydney I'd happily offer Robinson a 1 year, zero warnings type of deal.

'sniper' & not much else, & when the heat is applied he's butter.

not the sort of 'FO Tough' you want your kids to see around the club.

Posted

that's what they said about martin pike too

just saying

chalk & cheese

daisy surely you can tell the sort who will abandon you in trouble, & those who will stand beside you.

shouldn't insult Pikey like that.

Posted

this is exactly what we need to be, & Now more than ever.

Posted

I'd give him permission to train just to give Roh Bail the chance to run through him.

Cant everyone line up for a shot....not like he's thinking he'll get bruised !! :)

Posted

Garlett could be handling himself and thinking about some bird in the crowd and still kick 35 goals per year without laying a tackle.

down hill skiers aren't what we need Jazz.

its 'loco motives' we need firstly, & then the 'goods vans' shortly after. heavy haulage main priority, followed up buy nimble parcel vans. garlett isn't a mckay imo

no more 'bling types' please

Posted

We don't need any more Not Quite Rights let alone Not Even Close to being Rights.

Robinson, Garlett and the like will never get us close to finals. Let's put our energy getting types who will.

Posted

broken Jaw if I remember correctly behind play I think, for Ro

& one of Nev Jetta's first hit-outs, If its was the same game at princes park, 'pin the arms Nev' !