Who did well in the Draft

Theo

Just looking at each clubs picks in the draft. On POTENTIAL and phantom drafts picks some teams appear to have done very well.

North Melbourne: Cunnington, Black, Bastinac, McMillan, Ayden Kennedy

Essendon: Melksham,Carlisle, Colyer, Long

Richmond: Martin, Griffiths, Troy Taylor, Astbury

Port Adelaide: Butcher, Andrew Moore, Jasper McMillan-Pittard

Geelong: Menzel, Christensen, Duncan, Vardy

West Coast: Sheppard, Weedon and Koby Stevens

Sydney: Rohan, Jetta

Brisbane: Callum Bartlett, Ryan Harwood

I know we did well but so did these teams. North seems to have creamed it.

On SEN this morning Liam Pickering could not believe we didn't take Talia at 11. He thought he was the next best player outside the top 10.

I read and laughed this morning in the HUN where they have graded each clubs draft.

Apparently we got an A, North and Syd got A+, I sure hate the HUN sometimes...

How the hell is that possible when we recruited to the best 2 players by far?

Im sure 15 other clubs would have swapped their drafts for ours in a heartbeat...

As for the other clubs I did think North had a great draft as did the Cats given their picks were quite low....

I read and laughed this morning in the HUN where they have graded each clubs draft.

Im sure 15 other clubs would have swapped their drafts for ours in a heartbeat...

There is no doubt that every other club would swap their picks with Melbourne. I'm happy with journalists using some subjective analysis in their grading though. We all knew that Melbourne had the best picks before the draft. The grade is probably more of a reflection of what the journo thinks we did with those picks (obviously excluding the top two).

Edited by pantaloons

As for the other clubs I did think North had a great draft as did the Cats given their picks were quite low....

I agree, I was staggered to read that Collingwood did as well as us by getting Ball. As you say we got the best two players in the draft, by far, and all the other clubs picked over what was left. Essendon got the 6th best rated Mid but got the same mark as we did, go figure.

This should make all of us sleep soundly.

Liam Pickering is an idiot.

Agreeing alot with rpfc this morning....

Pickering has no idea at all....

Cant wait til we are winning games again these people will just shut up and go sook about someone else.

the reason we got an A was purely because we picked up Gysberts. THe grading system is based on who you got with what pick. We could have picked up anyone at 11 but used it on Gysberts who was rated a 20-ish pick. His skills don't seem to be that good but has a good handball. His height for a midfielder is good too. I'm a little unsure about his kicking though. I'm surprised we didn't pick up Tapscott at 11.

One thing, I'll never understand is why recruiters think that versatility is a good thing. A player can only play one position at a time!!! Why do recruiters think that a 'jack of all trades, MASTER OF NONE' player is helpful. Whilst most players can rest up forward, the best players are those that SPECIALISE in 1 position. Selwood, Lenny Hayes, Dal Santo, Sam Mitchell, Bartel, Judd etc are all pure midfielders. As soon as you start trying to aim for versatility you end up getting an average player on every aspect of the ground. Scarlett, Rutten, Glass, Fletcher etc all offer no versatility. The only player in the comp that offers versatiliy is pavlich and Bradshaw.

I reckon Brisbane did best picking up Bartlett & Maguire. Maguire could play a big part in strengthening their defence alongside Patful & Merrett, and Bartlett will be a gun. Despite some hit and miss trades they are shaping as a really strong team on paper. North and Geelong also look like they've got some good value for money.

the reason we got an A was purely because we picked up Gysberts. THe grading system is based on who you got with what pick. We could have picked up anyone at 11 but used it on Gysberts who was rated a 20-ish pick. His skills don't seem to be that good but has a good handball. His height for a midfielder is good too. I'm a little unsure about his kicking though. I'm surprised we didn't pick up Tapscott at 11.

One thing, I'll never understand is why recruiters think that versatility is a good thing. A player can only play one position at a time!!! Why do recruiters think that a 'jack of all trades, MASTER OF NONE' player is helpful. Whilst most players can rest up forward, the best players are those that SPECIALISE in 1 position. Selwood, Lenny Hayes, Dal Santo, Sam Mitchell, Bartel, Judd etc are all pure midfielders. As soon as you start trying to aim for versatility you end up getting an average player on every aspect of the ground. Scarlett, Rutten, Glass, Fletcher etc all offer no versatility. The only player in the comp that offers versatiliy is pavlich and Bradshaw.

It has been documented that Sydney was very keen at pick 14 for Gysberts, as was Geelong at 17. We would not have got him at 18, he wouldnt have made it through to us. So essentially, we got both, instead of just one of them. Tapscott at 18 is a steal.

Its the same thing we did last year I think, picking players a little early, because they wouldnt make it through to our next pick, but another player we rated would. I think we took Bennell or Jetta just before West Coast, who had the next pick and wanted them badly.

I'm surprised we didn't pick up Tapscott at 11.

Ummm because we got him at 18? ;):lol:

I think the ratings work on the basis of what clubs did with the picks available to them.

It's a no-brainer that overall we dominated the draft, because you can't beat picks 1 & 2.

But look at North and where they were positioned with their picks compared to ours, and they also did well, in harder circumstances. This is why they would have got an A+.

I don't necessarily agree with that, as we all know that Scully + Trengove > All, but so be it.

I think the HUN ratings reflect the position of each club's draft picks. Collingwood drafted Luke Ball with 30 and the rest of it's selections were post 60. As a result the Pies were given an A rating. If they chose those four players with a normal distribution of picks up to, say 45, their drafting would have been looked at far differently.

In a couple of years they will be saying A++++++

Gysberts will show he should of been taken Top 5.

I think this boy will blow everybodies minds away!

Demons did very very well this draft. But so did other teams. North, Sydney to name two to stand out. Port did well but I aint convinced with Buthcer! Time will tell. Adelaide took Talia beacause his hairstyle and colour fits in well at the crows. I would prefer Gysberts than Talia!

In a couple of years they will be saying A++++++

Gysberts will show he should of been taken Top 5.

I think this boy will blow everybodies minds away!

Demons did very very well this draft. But so did other teams. North, Sydney to name two to stand out. Port did well but I aint convinced with Buthcer! Time will tell. Adelaide took Talia beacause his hairstyle and colour fits in well at the crows. I would prefer Gysberts than Talia!

The thing that gives me confidence with that pick is that we would have taken Gysberts or Lucas ahead of Talia and Carlton who badly needed the blues barracking Talia, also passed on him.

Yeah I thought Geelong did exceptionally well to pick up Christensen and Vardy in the 40s, they would have been well pleased with that. North would have also been rather content.

Rohan and Jetta will also prove to be very handy pick-ups for Sydney too. Jetta for Jolly, guess that softens the blow of one of the premier ruckmen in the league leaving. And they got Mumford already.

Yeah I thought Geelong did exceptionally well to pick up Christensen and Vardy in the 40s, they would have been well pleased with that. North would have also been rather content.

Rohan and Jetta will also prove to be very handy pick-ups for Sydney too. Jetta for Jolly, guess that softens the blow of one of the premier ruckmen in the league leaving. And they got Mumford already.

It's all about perceptions isn't it, the perception that the media has as opposed to the perception the recruiters have.

Some of these kids may seem to be "great gets" by the media but the reality is they were picked up late because the recruiters at other clubs didn't want them.

The Media feel that the recruiters got it wrong because they didn't agree with them and mark the clubs accordingly.

It's all about perceptions isn't it, the perception that the media has as opposed to the perception the recruiters have.

Some of these kids may seem to be "great gets" by the media but the reality is they were picked up late because the recruiters at other clubs didn't want them.

The Media feel that the recruiters got it wrong because they didn't agree with them and mark the clubs accordingly.

Yeah you're spot on. It's just my personal opinion that Vardy was a bargain at 42, but you are correct - if he was such good value at 42, why didn't other clubs pick him in the 30s... Recruiters know a lot about all of the players, and their judgement at the time needs to be respected. Maybe after five years some players further down the order will be better than those picked above them, but we don't pick players in the draft after they've played five years of AFL football.

∆∆∆∆∆

Stamp of Approval for Gysberts.

Not that I needed it.

I'm very happy with him and he is just short of an elite kick.

Inspired choice.

Versatility means that if a player needs a rest and goes to the bench, you can slide another player into that spot, as opposed to having a player that struggles in the position.

Fairly simple really, I would've thought.

Edited by Keyser Söze

Is Pickering Talia's manager?

Yes he is . I cant stand managers arrogant dogs as Akermanis said they are all parasites. The thing that made me laugh the most was that he said the coverage of the draft was great and everyone was happy with it except for a few footy die hards or some crap like that. When you have managers like Conners who are suppose to look after the kids but he can't even look after his own teeth that's a worry. Great head for radio that parasite.

Well they had half an hour to think about pick 11.....i'm sure they got it right. It's not like he was a huge bolter, he has been long talked about being a first round draft choice.

Looking at his footage, i'm very happy with this choice. Looks like a footballer....

Yeah Freak and WJ are right, they were graded on the media and recruiters opinions pre draft. Obviously Gysberts wasn't regarded by most to go at 11 so they have based that on a surprise selection and therefore an A rating. What they are unaware of it could well be a very good calculated recruiting call by BP. I didn't listen to SEN but was there any mention that Carlton overlooked Talia as well by Pickering ? Quite a few carlton people think their teams recruiters have mucked up at pick 12.

∆∆∆∆∆

Stamp of Approval for Gysberts.

Not that I needed it.

I'm very happy with him and he is just short of an elite kick.

Inspired choice.

I hope this kid has lots of upside. Like most posters I know very little about him except what is posted on team boards.

Just looked up Quigley's mock draft on BigFooty. For what it's worth he was not a big wrap for Gysperts, Fitzgerald or Gawn.

Gysperts: Turns the ball over too much. Not good defensively

Fitzpatrick: Kicking hit or miss. Drops easy marks. Inconsistent. Skinny frame that may not fill out.

Gawn: Low possessions, poor endurance

Some other info on Gysperts and Fitzpatrick below.

http://www.afldraftinfo.com/2009/10/jordan...svic-metro.html

The football dept would know more than these guys assessments. The FD must know something about Gysperts that is specia.....l to take him at 11 ahead of Tapscott and Talia.

Edited by Theo