Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

PREGAME: Rd 07 vs Richmond

11 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

yes, but when he's fit and performing he makes the whole tigs side a 4+ goal a game better side

he's the difference between them being competitive and not

Agree.

Lynch was all over Carlton with 9 scoring shots in round 1 and had about 5 scoring shots on us in the shortened Ballarat practice game.

If he has 9 scoring shots tomorrow night, there's not a chance that we're getting away with a 2 goal performance from him.

He is not one to be underestimated.

3 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Blake Howes can cover someone like a Faull or Lefau.

Hes proven this year that not only can he play on the talls but the smalls as well.

Turner did a decent enough job on Ben King few weeks back, cant see why they wouldnt role with that type of match up again on Tom Lynch.

We had to put Disco on King because he was the only tall back to have the athleticism to go with him. Lynch does most of his damage these days with body work and clever short leading patterns. If there's a weakness to Disco's game it's that he gets caught ball watching at times, which is hardly a surprise when a natural intercepting defender is getting developed as a lock down guy. Lynch could take advantage in those moments.

I'm also not sure Howes can really play tall. I promise I'm not hating. It's just a half against Amiss isn't a big sample size. Plus if you do make him one of the tall defenders you can't put him on the most dangerous small forward, he can't be two places at once. If Howes is playing tall then you're asking CJ, Kolt or Taylor to play as a lockdown defender.

There's no perfect answer tho. We either give up a bit in the air but are solid on the ground or go the other way and cover the air but get a bit slow and clunky at ground level.

31 minutes ago, Garbo said:

He is 26 and has always had issues with disposal, if it could be fixed it would have already, id rather have Langdon back there like last week in his place with Fritsch up the field. CJ is just to costly for whatever good he brings.

We will see if the Coach agrees.

On 20/04/2026 at 18:11, rpfc said:

My Collingwood family (extended) told me Mihocek was cooked. Laughed at me when I said we’d be happy to have him.

My StKilda supporting mate told me Steele was ‘done’ and he was happy we are paying his pension in that 3rd year. I thought he would be good to take the pressure off of the kids without Viney there.

When we just throw away those that are ‘cooked’ because ‘the kids’ would be better for the run. You don’t know that. You’re hoping. The same thread that doesn’t want to play a 33 year old pro also has seen calls for a possible debutante to play the opposite end to which he has been training.

Some of you need to just go down to your local club and smell the grass. Little idea what develops players and what makes good teams and clubs.

I think there is a balance, which I'm sure you'd concede mate.

Steele was never cooked, he just wasn't viewed as needed for St Kilda's midfield.

I don't think Collingwood viewed Mihocek as cooked either. But they weren't prepared to offer him 3 years. That may end up being one year too many for us, but it got him across and that's the main thing, because for 2026-2027, he is a deadset lock for us.

TMac struggles 1v1, but is still decent on a lead against the slower, bigger players.

I agree with your overall thesis that you can't just throw the kids to the wolves (to use another cliche), but I reckon CJ has enough experience to come in and play mid-sized, Turner to Lynch.

I know it's a risk, but I'd be hoping we can get a look at our future (present) defence this week. It's likely we'll need to target a trade for a KPB, ala Lever, May at the end of this year if Adams doesn't make it.

2026 is a development year though. Lynch may wind back the clock against Turner, but he's just as likely against TMac too.

I'd bring in Lindsay for Heath as well. More run.

Edited by Adam The God

2 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Team released? Haven’t located anywhere yet.

5pm i think

On 21/04/2026 at 09:23, GS_1905 said:

Yep he doesn't know how to find the pill. I dont think he has it what it takes to be a full time midfielder. His body is ultimately setup for an outside role...either off half back or on the wing for now until he can develop his inside craft. Problem is, his kicking and decision making as you have said needs to have some work done.

I think you're going too early there.

Caleb's upper body strength is what is letting him down tackle wise. He's in year 3. Give him another two pre seasons in the gym and those tackles stick.

Yes, he'll need to keep working on his ball use under pressure, but more midfield time gives him that.

On 21/04/2026 at 13:41, The Cult of Disco Turner said:

It’s interesting, if you’d have asked me a few weeks ago I might’ve said the speed we’re playing with means Viney might be the odd man out if/when he gets healthy this year.

But given how poorly we rank in both ground ball gets and conceding points from stoppages, I wonder if we still need his grunt work in the midfield.

It depends if he gets burnt in defensive transition.

I think he'll play midfield because of who he is. But I'd be trying him at half forward again and giving Steele midfield rests.

Be interesting to see King's approach to Jack.

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

I think there is a balance, which I'm sure you'd concede mate.

Steele was never cooked, he just wasn't viewed as needed for St Kilda's midfield.

I don't think Collingwood viewed Mihocek as cooked either. But they weren't prepared to offer him 3 years. That may end up being one year too many for us, but it got him across and that's the main thing, because for 2026-2027, he is a deadset lock for us.

TMac struggles 1v1, but is still decent on a lead against the slower, bigger players.

I agree with your overall thesis that you can't just throw the kids to the wolves (to use another cliche), but I reckon CJ has enough experience to come in and play mid-sized, Turner to Lynch.

I know it's a risk, but I'd be hoping we can get a look at our future (present) defence this week. It's likely we'll need to target a trade for a KPB, ala Lever, May at the end of this year if Adams doesn't make it.

2026 is a development year though. Lynch may wind back the clock against Turner, but he's just as likely against TMac too.

I'd bring in Lindsay for Heath as well. More run.

It is a balance. And my point is less about TMac and more about those that want to literally draw lines through names.

And Lindsay is a good example of the benefits of that balance - he is battling groin soreness - in years past we would have had to [censored] the kid as we would only have more speculative kids behind him. But we don’t have to do that. We can push Langdon back or bring in CJ and eventually Salem returns.

The lessons from the dismissal of James McDonald have not been learned by some.

Tempting fate here, I know...

On the Tigers' 2026 average, Lynch needs to make a 10-goal difference.

Could someone check the odds of him matching Cameron the other week?

Tommy Matthews smoky? 🤔🤔

6 minutes ago, MrFreeze said:

Tommy Matthews smoky? 🤔🤔

Not sure he's quite ready but I'm looking forward to his eventual debut. Will complement our forward line nicely with his athleticism and manic defensive pressure.

Loving Langdon down back

he could rejuvenate his career

Turner on lynch is a concern. Not sure tmac would have been much better but slightly better one on one

Can see Cross being on standby for Fritsch in case his foot doesn't pull up well after a 5 day break.

8 minutes ago, adonski said:

Laurie

Getting Back Up The Undertaker GIF

Once any one of Bowey, XL, Rivers or Salem return he'll make way (barring any further injuries that is).

1 minute ago, Nascent said:

Can see Cross being on standby for Fritsch in case his foot doesn't pull up well after a 5 day break.

Do we know what’s wrong with his foot yet?

Wondering if it’s something they should/can sit him to give him that rest or if it wouldn’t help.

7 hours ago, Young Angus said:

Kind of hope CJ doesn't come in, I know he probably will, but his dosposal makes me very nervous and I think all Hawks supporters know this already and were happy to see the back of him for a reason.

Let's hope he can tighten up his decision making and kicking.

I had to double check but he didn’t play against the Suns so he missed our two big wins.

1 minute ago, Oxdee said:

Turner on lynch is a concern. Not sure tmac would have been much better but slightly better one on one

With Max x2 in the team we might see Max of the Gawn variety drop back into our defensive 50 To cover the space in front of Lynch if required.

Be an interesting watch to see how that unfolds.