View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

was going to say B but then realised we signed not 1, but 2 Saints players

no judgements but it just doesn’t feel right

In very general terms, the trade period goes to NSW and QLD teams

No Vic team got better and most got worse.

Lions could win 5 flags in a row and Sydney will be back in the top 4 like usual

And we haven’t even got the academy hand out process, sorry I mean the draft

24 minutes ago, DubDee said:

was going to say B but then realised we signed not 1, but 2 Saints players

no judgements but it just doesn’t feel right

We're the beneficiaries of the Saints blowing up their salary cap.

The Age gave us a B+, with only GC and GWS above us

2 x top 10 picks for a very good 30yo is possibly overs according to industry standard ... often there's only 1 top 10 pick involved for such a trade

But to get an extra 1st round pick is a real bonus as the same 30yo will hit the age wall in 3 or 4 years time

Meanwhile, our 3 x 1st round picks could be all be hitting their straps in 3 or 4 years time

So we got overs for Petracca, in my view

Steele replaces the new Oliver (the Oliver who is no longer a dynamic player) Also, Steele won't be an accident waiting to happen

Again, that's a win

Of course, both Oliver & Petracca could dominate for their respective teams but that's the price you pay for peace

We can now go back to being a club without a whole lot of nonsense going on in the background

All we need now is to get Viney & Rivers to start hitting up targets, and we'll be well on our way to banning the bomb

The 2 chief protaganists are off the books

2 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

blake shelton honey GIF

But is it a B+ or B-? Try doing that one...

1 hour ago, MrFreeze said:

Hawks lost a stack of depth, have a poor draft hand no notable f/s and NGAS to recruit.

We love to see it. 👏

3 minutes ago, NeveroddoreveN said:

I reckon we did OK!

Compare it to Nth Melbourne...Spargo in....We would all be losing our collective minds.

With North trading out Finbar Maley and trading Spargo in, they've gone from having a player who could get the ball but couldn't kick it, to one who can kick it, but can't get it.

45 minutes ago, Mickey said:

The Age gave us a B+, with only GC and GWS above us

We got 3 best 22 players and Max's successor, and freed up significant cap space (pa) as @Ted Lasso said.

The media were initially going on about how great St Kilda were doing. That softened when they [censored] up the Aleer deal.

Meanwhile, we brought in as many players as them and none for the ridiculous prices they paid. I reckon our guys could have just as much impact next year as their incoming guys.

But unlike St Kilda, we managed to get two first round draft picks this year and next.

I love how aggressive we are at this time of year. I think our window could reopen as soon as 2027.

I don't subscribe to the idea that we're rebuilding, we've got rid of two guys, not an entire team. A rebuild also says to me you're building from the ground up (we're not) and it's a multi-year process.

We still have a significant number of premiership players on the list to guide the next generation (the 6 first rounders we've brought in since 2021), and by the end of 2026, we'll have likely have had 10 first round picks in 5 years.

All being well on the field, we can then get aggressive in free agency and trading to target specific holes/needs (ala Lever, May and Langdon from 2017-2019).

Edited by Adam The God

lamB

OK is our result, we did pay a penalty for inaction or wrong decisions after 2021. Probably understandable as we all looked at the cup . After such a long time. But we as a club stuffed up back then. We need jason Taylor to stay with us sign him up for another 4 or 5 years

For me it is an A, Steele and Mihocek help replenish some of the leadership that we lost with Brayshaw, Brown and Neal-Bullen. We managed to find homes for our two want-a-ways, got Steele for Clayton and 3 firsts for CP5, we stood our ground with Suns. In my mind nothing could really compensate us for our two former champions but as mentioned previously Tim Lamb and the Recruitment team have gone some way to pulling us back to relevance with the addition of Heath and Jiath we have filled two gaping holes and now we can enjoy the draft this year and next. Our trade period - considering our starting point - Brilliant.👍

The Saints seemingly get a good rating for the last 5 years (?) and yet they have been rubbish , perhaps 2026 is their year to finish 9Th !!!!!!

13 hours ago, Demonland said:

Melbourne club banner

IN: Max Heath (St Kilda), Changkuoth Jiath (Hawthorn), Brody Mihocek (Collingwood), Jack Steele (St Kilda), Picks 7, 8, 24, 37, 42 (FA compo), 71, 2026 GCS 1st round, 2026 GWS 3rd round, 2027 GCS 3rd round

OUT: Judd McVee (Fremantle), Clayton Oliver (GWS), Christian Petracca (Gold Coast), Charlie Spargo (North Melbourne), Picks 24 (on-traded), 28, 42 (on-traded), 61, 2026 Melb 2nd, 3rd and 4th round, 2027 Melb 3rd and 4th round

DRAFT HAND: 7, 8, 37, 66, 71

SUMMARY: Hard to sum the Demons up. They landed a huge bounty for one superstar in Petracca but gave Oliver away for next to nothing and will still be paying a fair whack of his hefty contract, while having no takers for veteran full back Steven May is not necessarily a negative. They paid nothing for star recruits Steele and Mihocek and now have two top 10 picks as well, while Jiath is an apt replacement for McVee.

GRADE: B

ADELAIDE club banner

IN: Finnbar Maley (North Melbourne), Pick 64

OUT: Picks 57, 2026 Adel 4th round

DRAFT HAND: 16, 48, 55, 64, 73, 75

SUMMARY: A quiet trade period for the Crows, who missed the chance to grab a dual premiership player who wanted to join the club because they were unwilling to pay pick 16. Maley gives them another back-up forward, but the club is obviously satisfied with the list that took them to the minor premiership.

GRADE: D

Brisbane club banner

IN: Oscar Allen (West Coast), Sam Draper (Essendon), Picks 17, 23, 44, 51, 59, 2026 Melb 3rd round

OUT: Brandon Starcevich (West Coast), Picks 19, 45, 46, 52, 56

DRAFT HAND: 17, 23, 44, 51, 59, 68, 79

SUMMARY: The dual reigning premiers get even stronger. The Lions add a key forward and a ruckman to their list, albeit both coming off season-ending injuries, while they retain plenty of points to match a bid on Academy star Dan Annable. They would have preferred not to farewell dual premiership defender Starcevich but holding firm on Callum Ah Chee is a win at this stage. Does he still want to leave and take the risk of 13 clubs picking him before the Crows have a selection?

GRADE: A+

Carlton club banner

IN: Ben Ainsworth (Gold Coast), Campbell Chesser (West Coast), Ollie Florent (Sydney), Will Hayward (Sydney), Liam Reidy (Fremantle), Picks 9, 10 (FA compo), 11, 22 (FA compo), 31, 42, 43, 54, 67, 72, 2026 Syd 1st round, 2027 Syd 1st round

OUT: Charlie Curnow (Sydney), Tom De Koning (St Kilda), Corey Durdin (Port Adelaide), Jack Silvagni (St Kilda), Picks 10 (on-traded), 22 (on-traded), 31 (on-traded), 41, 42 (on-traded), 50, 68, 2026 Carl 2nd and 3rd round, 2027 Carl 2nd round

DRAFT HAND: 9, 11, 43, 54, 67, 72

SUMMARY: An extremely busy couple of weeks for the Blues, but they have clearly made the best of their situation, gaining maximum return for the stars who wanted out, both in free agency and trades. They held out long enough for Sydney to pay a King’s ransom for Curnow, landing a more than capable goalkicker plus three first-round picks, while Ainsworth is an upgrade on Durdin and gives them a more versatile front half. Florent will also walk into their best 23 and Chesser has ability if he can get himself fit. Heaps of points for Harry Dean as well. The mark is only downgraded by the players who walked out.

GRADE: B

Collingwood club banner

IN: Jack Buller (Sydney), Picks 45, 56, 61, 2026 Melb 3rd round, 2026 Syd 4th round

OUT: Brody Mihocek (Melbourne), Picks 59, 71, 2026 Melb 3rd round (on-traded)

DRAFT HAND: 39, 45, 56, 61, 77

SUMMARY: Not much to speak about at the Magpies, with rumours of a Jordan De Goey departure coming to nothing while they also held firm on not paying too much for Jy Simpkin. They would be saddened to farewell premiership forward Mihocek, but in Buller they have a much younger replacement who will be given the chance to bed down a regular spot in the team.

GRADE: C

Essendon club banner

IN: Brayden Fiorini (Gold Coast), Pick 21 (FA compo)

OUT: Sam Draper (Brisbane Lions), Pick 2026 Ess 3rd round

DRAFT HAND: 5, 6, 21, 27, 30

SUMMARY: The Bombers declared from Day 1 that they had no interest in letting their captain go despite his keenness to get to arch-rival Hawthorn, although the Hawks couldn’t have fired a better shot at dragging him out. Fiorini gives them a ball-winning midfielder to ease some pressure on Zach Merrett, while they have two top six picks and will no doubt have a throw at the stumps in trying to shift up a bit further. Five picks inside 30 gives them a good chance to reset.

GRADE: B-

Fremantle club banner

IN: Judd McVee (Melbourne), Picks 20, 23, 47, 50, 69, 103

OUT: Will Brodie (Port Adelaide), Liam Reidy (Carlton), Picks 12, 23 (on-traded), 33, 44, 50 (on-traded), 53, 71

DRAFT HAND: 20, 47, 69

SUMMARY: Managed to lure a young defender home just as he enters the prime of his career, while helping a couple of depth players find what are likely to be more AFL opportunities. The question is whether they have done enough to take the next step from finals to premiership contenders?

Geelong club banner

IN: James Worpel (Hawthorn), Pick 99

OUT: Patrick Retschko (Richmond)

DRAFT HAND: 19, 40, 60, 78

SUMMARY: It’s a rare trade period where the Cats don’t land what they want, but this is one of those. Wanted Rowan Marshall and Charlie Curnow but were not willing to put up the collateral to get the job done, and given the star pair were contracted, they were never going to come as cheap as Bailey Smith and others in recent seasons. Worpel adds steel and depth to the midfield, but it’s much of a muchness for Geelong (which means it will still be one of the teams to beat in 2026).

GOLD COAST club banner

IN: Christian Petracca (Melbourne), Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (Western Bulldogs), Picks 7, 24, 28, 29, 37, 52, 70, 2026 Melb 2nd round, 2026 Ess 3rd round

OUT: Ben Ainsworth (Carlton), Connor Budarick (Western Bulldogs), Brayden Fiorini (Essendon), Sam Flanders (St Kilda), Malcolm Rosas (Sydney), Picks 7 (on-traded), 8, 37, 62, 70 (on-traded), 74, 2026 GCS 1st round, 2027 GCS 3rd round

DRAFT HAND: 15, 18, 24, 28, 29, 36, 52

SUMMARY: The Suns didn’t sit on their hands after their maiden finals appearance, bringing a genuine superstar into the club, while also getting a free hit at a supremely talented but troubled key forward to provide support to Ben King and Jed Walter. Apart from Rosas, their departures are all best-23 players, so they will need to be replaced, but they have oodles of points to bring in their three highly touted Academy products, and the room to slot them straight into the AFL team if they are ready to go.

GRADE: A-

GWS Giants club banner

IN: Clayton Oliver (Melbourne), Pick 12

OUT: Jacob Wehr (Port Adelaide), Picks 14, 37, 2026 GWS 3rd round

DRAFT HAND: 12, 35

SUMMARY: Wow. Despite doing basically nothing before the death knell apart from moving up two spots to help the Bulldogs get their man, the Giants landed one of the biggest bargains of the trade period by picking up a four-time best-and-fairest winning star for a half-eaten pie and a can of coke. That alone makes these 10 days a big win for the Orange Army.

GRADE: A

Hawthorn club banner

IN: Picks 10, 22, 42, 43 (FA compo), 2026 Melb 4th round

OUT: Changkuoth Jiath (Melbourne), Jai Serong (Sydney), James Worpel (Geelong), Picks 9, 31, 42 (on-traded), 43 (on-traded), 2026 Haw 4th round

DRAFT HAND: 10, 22, 62, 76

SUMMARY: Missed out on their No.1 target in Zach Merrett, but they couldn’t have fired a better shot to make it happen. Jiath has ability but was out of the best 22 late in the year, Worpel costs them a bit of depth but opens the door for Henry Hustwaite once Essendon decided not to take him and they landed an extra first-round pick in a swap with Carlton.

GRADE: B-

North Melbourne club banner

IN: Charlie Spargo (Melbourne), Picks 57, 2026 Adel 4th round

OUT: Finnbar Maley (Adelaide)

DRAFT HAND: 25, 26, 46, 57

SUMMARY: Not much to report from Arden St, with Spargo’s free agency acquisition being a more than solid addition to their forward line and an upgrade on Maley, who was not certain to gain another contract anyway. There are plenty of detractors to the fact the Kangaroos don’t have a first-round pick this year (and they tried to get a couple back for Jy Simpkin – which was never going to happen), but give Matt Whitlock time before jumping to conclusions – most experts say he would have been taken much higher than 27 if he was in this year’s crop.

Port Adelaide club banner

IN: Will Brodie (Fremantle), Corey Durdin (Carlton), Jacob Wehr (GWS), Pick 2026 Carl 2nd round

OUT: Picks 29, 67, 103

DRAFT HAND: 49

SUMMARY: The Power didn’t bring a lot in, either in players or draft picks, although all three recruits should be in the 23 in round one. They basically have no role to play in this year’s draft either, so they will need organic growth to jump back into premiership contention in 2026.

GRADE: D

Richmond club banner

IN: Patrick Retschko (Geelong), Pick 38

OUT: Tylar Young (West Coast), Pick 99

DRAFT HAND: 3, 4, 38

SUMMARY: The Tigers were never expected to be a big player given their bumper haul from 2024, and the pick they gained for Young is likely to come in once the Academy and father-son bids swallow up a host of picks belonging to the Suns, Lions and Blues – and they can help do that by launching multiple early bids with their two top-five picks. Retschko is a free hit given Geelong had already let him go.

GRADE: C+

ST KILDA club banner

IN: Tom De Koning (Carlton), Sam Flanders (Gold Coast), Liam Ryan (West Coast), Jack Silvagni (Carlton), Picks 2027 WCE 3rd round, 2027 Melb 3rd and 4th round

OUT: Max Heath (Melbourne), Jack Steele (Melbourne), Picks 7, 2026 StK 2nd round

DRAFT HAND: 50, 65

SUMMARY: The Saints put all chips in on free agency and trading and landed everything they wanted. Holding onto Rowan Marshall when Geelong couldn’t produce a fair offer for a contracted ruckman means De Koning’s arrival should reap full reward. Gave their loyal and dedicated captain away for next to nothing, but Flanders slots straight into his spot. Ryan and Silvagni make both ends of the ground stronger. Longer term, however, what does their stunning backflip on Leek Aleer do to their hopes of recruiting in future seasons?

Sydney Swans club banner

IN: Charlie Curnow (Carlton), Malcolm Rosas (Gold Coast), Jai Serong (Hawthorn), Picks 31, 42, 62, 2026 Carl and Coll 3rd round, 2026 Haw 4th round, 2027 Carl 2nd round

OUT: Jack Buller (Collingwood), Ollie Florent (Carlton), Picks 11, 51, 69, 2026 Syd 1st, 3rd and 4th round, 2027 Syd 1st round

DRAFT HAND: 31, 32, 42, 63

SUMMARY: Wanted a big key forward, got him. Wanted a key defender, got him. But at what cost? Three first-round picks and a 184-game forward who has kicked 157 goals in the past five seasons is a big price to pay and puts pressure on Curnow to deliver immediately. Florent was also sold cheaply and will walk into Carlton’s best team. Sydney clearly (and correctly) believes its time is now and has gone all out to cash in on that brilliant midfield. While saddened at the departures, Swans fans can salivate at the thought of Errol Gulden, Chad Warner and Isaac Heeney delivering to Curnow and a fit Logan McDonald week-in-week-out.

West Coast club banner

IN: Brandon Starcevich (Brisbane Lions), Tylar Young (Richmond), Picks 2 (FA compo), 13, 34, 41, 53, 2026 StK 2nd round

OUT: Oscar Allen (Brisbane Lions), Campbell Chesser (Carlton), Picks 16, 22, 23, 38, 2027 WCE 3rd round

DRAFT HAND: 1, 2, 13, 34, 41, 53, 58

SUMMARY: A dual premiership defender comes in and the Eagles have the top two selections and another inside 15 in this year’s draft. Despite the loss of co-captain Allen, who barely played this year anyway, it is a positive result for the wooden spooners and gives them a chance to step up their rebuild. Should they listen to offers from Essendon or others for one of those top picks? Definitely, but it would want to be good.

GRADE: B+

Western Bulldogs club banner

IN: Connor Budarick (Gold Coast), Picks 14, 37, 70, 74

OUT: Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (Gold Coast), Picks 12, 37 (on-traded)

DRAFT HAND: 14, 33, 70, 74

SUMMARY: The Bulldogs didn’t find the big defender they were looking for, although Budarick strengthens that part of the ground for a simple drop of two spots in the first-round draft order. They were happy simply to get Ugle-Hagan off their books, but surprisingly didn’t get a suitable offer for Buku Khamis, which won’t hurt their depth either.

Don't know about A- for St Kilda. Big contracts for B graders, back flipping on Alir and squeezing out a respected captain; there's quite a risk for player disharmony.

Great that they didn't trade Marshall to the Cats though.

Grading is pretty dumb until you see the results but how do you give GWS an A for effectively doing nothing? No competition and we were giving him away. As for St Kilda lets rerate it in about round 8 next year.

I haven’t seen it actually stated anywhere, but are GCS taking on all of Trac’s contract? If so, that really softens the blow of the Clarry ‘deal’, in which case I’d have to say B+ to an A-.

Oliver out, Steele in is a great result from that situation.

We did okay in the Petracca trade, but I'm biased because I'm going to love death-riding Gold Coast 2026.

Mihocek and Jiath are each players I've thought 'Yeah, that's probably the only player I like at that club', so now I can 100% hate Collingwood and Hawthorn. Plus, they are terrific for causing trouble at Spelling Bees.

Max Heath is actually the least known of the players for me, but, he is also perhaps the most exact description of what we urgently needed to acquire. Moderate chance we'll be watching a true successor, and hopefully he'll at least be giving good contests and ruck cover up forward. Is this the end of the 'Gawn set shot missing left from 30m in front' era?

But here's a mental summary for me - the contrast with 2012.

Dawes, Byrnes, Rodan and Pederson, of whom only Rodan had much of a profile or body of work.

Mihocek, Jiath, Steele and Heath is clearly a major step up. It's like one set was recruiting to 'dominate VFL' and the other recruiting for 'contributors at AFL'.

I am calm and content.

Except now I'm anticipating the draft, with the 2012ish period in my mind. Ugh. Will those picks bring us 'Toumpas and Cook' or 'Salem and Hogan'?

Always something to be anxious about at Demonland.

Now the emotions have settled some, It sits as a B- for me, but depending on the drafting this could rise or fall. We have given proven players for unknown kids.

Revisit in 3-5 years and see how it sits then.

• Author

MELBOURNE

Who left: Charlie Spargo (free agent, North Melbourne), Judd McVee (trade, Fremantle), Clayton Oliver (trade, GWS Giants), Christian Petracca (trade, Gold Coast)

Who arrived: Max Heath (trade, St Kilda), Brody Mihocek (trade, Collingwood), Changkuoth Jiath (trade, Hawthorn)

Draft picks owned: 7, 8, 37, 66, 71, 84, 102

Leigh Montagna says: “It’s strong. I like what Melbourne have done. Steven King has come in and he’s stamped his mark on this football club and said: ‘Right, this is what we’re going to do. I no longer want Clayton Oliver at the club, I want to move on from Christian Petracca, I want a fresh slate, we’ve still got strong leaders with Gawn and Viney and Jake Lever leading the way.’ They get to bring in some depth players, Mihocek is going to help significantly with van Rooyen down there with Melksham and Fritsch. And they’re going to get more draft picks again with top-end talent for the third consecutive year that can continue to build around the five to seven kids they already have.”

David King says: “Really smart from Steven King. He’s bringing in players that are going to give him that bridging period until these youngsters absolutely take hold of this football club — guys like Windsor and Tholstrup and Lindsay and Langford, plus those high picks. It’s going to be a dip over the next couple of years, but it’s a calculated dip. It’s a guy coming in with real presence, ‘this is my football club now, this is where we’re going, put culture first’. Yeah it’s cost them some money, no doubt it has … and I’m not sure about the Steele acquisition, but you’ve got the opposite of Clayton Oliver. That’s basically what they’ve found. Really strong from Melbourne.”

Foxfooty.com.au’s trade grade: B-

ADELAIDE CROWS

Who left: Nil.

Who arrived: Finnbar Maley (trade, North Melbourne)

Draft picks owned: 16, 48, 55, 64, 73, 75, 93, 111

David King says: “They needed Clayton Oliver more than any other club, for me, if they are to be a genuine contender. In the second half of the season, they were 16th for clearance differential in the AFL. When Rankine wasn’t there, they looked pedestrian. They needed another option for that midfield and they didn’t take the risk when others around them have — that’s the bottom line. GWS’ gain is Adelaide’s loss … I can’t really believe they haven’t bolstered that midfield.”

Leigh Montagna says: “I would’ve thought Jack Steele would’ve been a good fit, that big defensive mid who could tackle and allow Dawson and Rankine to do their thing. They were pretty strict in what they wanted to do and they haven’t been able to land much at all.”

Foxfooty.com.au’s trade grade: D

BRISBANE LIONS

Who left: Brandon Starcevich (trade, West Coast Eagles)

Who arrived: Sam Draper (free agent, Essendon), Oscar Allen (free agency, West Coast)

Draft picks owned: 17, 23, 44, 51, 59, 68, 79, 97, 115

Jon Ralph says: “They don’t always get them right, the free agency acquisitions — they brought in Tom Doedee, who’s played one game in a couple of years — so that’s the only caveat there with Oscar Allen and Draper coming in. Essendon never offered a great deal fro Draper because they believe the history of ruckman off an Achilles tear is they never really get their jump back … That’s the only little asterisk.”

Leigh Montagna says: “They’re in Seat 1A going into 2026. They want for nothing. They’ve brought in Draper and Oscar Allen and they’ll bring in a top-five draft pick, potentially, with the academy pick (Daniel Annable) — and they’re in the box seat. It’s only going to be motivation or injuries that will really slow them down next year. They didn’t really need to do much … They do lose Starcevich, who will be a big out with his ability to shut down the best small-medium forwards in the competition, will be missed. But they’ve got enough depth there to be able to cover that.”

David King says: “They are the envy of the competition. You look at the guys who’ve played 50 to 80 games — that’s where the real growth comes from — now they’re establishing themselves, there’s confidence in their body and what they can do gameday … they’ve got an unbelievable window in front of them. It’s exciting if you’re a Brisbane fan.”

Foxfooty.com.au’s trade grade: B+

CARLTON

Who left: Corey Durdin (trade, Port Adelaide), Charlie Curnow (trade, Sydney)

Who arrived: Liam Reidy (trade, Fremantle), Campbell Chesser (trade, West Coast), Ben Ainsworth (trade, Gold Coast), Ollie Florent (trade, Sydney), Will Hayward (trade, Sydney)

Draft picks owned: 9, 11, 43, 54, 67, 72, 87, 105

Jon Ralph says: “It does give Carlton an amazing arsenal, not only to secure Harry Dean and Jack Ison, but also Cody Walker next year. We know it’s a year where there will be bidding changes, so you might almost need two first-rounders to secure him as a top-two pick. If you’re Carlton, you have the now in terms of the players they’ve brought in, but they also have the future in the shining light upon the hill that is Cody Walker and Harry Dean, who should play 20 games next year. It’s not Curnow, but it is a pretty damn fine deal.”

David King says: “It’s a big reset now. Carlton fans, you’re starting again, really. Not absolute ground zero, but that to me just signals that they’ve got five top-30 picks in the last five years, there’s trauma coming, they’re trying to get ahead of it now with trading Charlie Curnow and I think this has got Graham Wright’s fingerprints all over it … I think it puts a real challenge now to Michael Voss to make this work. You’re losing a gun to get some bits and pieces … they’re not going to solve the problems of tomorrow.”

Leigh Montagna says: “Their team will look completely different next season … They’ve got some skill and more talent. For me, they’re probably still depth players. I don’t know if it’s really going to change the fortunes of the Blues too much, but it certainly adds depth and running and kicking.”

COLLINGWOOD

Who left: Brody Mihocek (trade, Melbourne)

Who arrived: Jack Buller (trade, Sydney)

Draft picks owned: 39, 45, 56, 61, 77, 95, 113

David King says: “They were very quiet. It’s hard to be critical of Collingwood, they’ve been so good for the last few years. They’ve got the gun in the middle Nick Daicos, (but) they probably need to find him more support at some point. I know they’ve been trying to get (Beau) McCreery come through and maybe be that player. At some point, it will tip over when you look at the age of their list. But is that 2026? I’m not convinced, I’m not sure of that … I just feel like they’re the one club that’s probably the most desperate for a Zak Butters at the end of next year. I think that’s where they’ll channel their energy.”

Jon Ralph says: “Which is why they didn’t give up (first-round) picks for Jy Simpkin in the end … I think the only thing you would say about them, is that it’s confusing to think they were trying to have a crack at moving on Jordan De Goey, and have a crack at Jy Simpkin — there’s only a two-year age gap. The Collingwood view is, if de Goey was going to get a big, fat contract he never really secured, this was the time where both club and player were really open and mature about it. But, for them to shop him in any way, I think gives you some question marks over where they sure his body and his longevity and durability.”

Foxfooty.com.au’s trade grade: C-

ESSENDON

Who left: Sam Draper (free agent, Brisbane)

Who arrived: Brayden Fiorini (trade, Gold Coast)

Draft picks owned: Picks 5, 6, 21, 27, 30, 83, 101

Leigh Montagna says: “There’s still an intrigue because we need to see them fit and healthy and what it can actually look like if Brad Scott has the full list to choose from. They just haven’t had that in recent years. There’s too many players on that list that get injured too often to give them a chance. They’re going to get two really good players early in the draft then they’ve got some academy prospects potentially after that that might work in their favour … But it’s going to be tough for them.”

Jon Ralph says: “This could’ve been footy’s greatest trainwreck. They could’ve lost four or five of their senior players, including their captain (Zach Merrett), including (Jordan) Ridley, including (Darcy) Parish, including (Kyle) Langford. They have lost their president, they could’ve had a coup over the next couple of months. Instead right now — yes there’ll be some challenges, but they’ve got 12 months to reset. They’ve got an elite fitness and strength and conditioning program in. I think so much of the next six months is: “What have you got for us Brad Scott? What have you got for us to make other players into the Archie Roberts’ of the 2026 season? Where is (Archie) Perkins at? Where’s Tsatas at? Where’s Ben McKay at? … There are so many players there who come into this team and look like they have some talent and they either stagnate or regress.”

Foxfooty.com.au’s trade grade: D+

FREMANTLE

Who left: Liam Reidy (trade, Carlton), Will Brodie (trade, Port Adelaide)

Who arrived: Judd McVee (trade, Melbourne)

Draft picks owned: 20, 47, 69, 90, 103, 108

David King says: “I think McVee’s a good acquisition. I think he’s a constant threat, I don’t think we’ve seen the best of this player. He can play a variety of roles. I’m not sure he’s an elite ball user, but maybe doesn’t have to be at Fremantle with the way they operate and the way they move the ball. But I like the fact they’re pretty settled.”

Leigh Montagna says: “They’ve had a couple of big trade periods in recent years with Luke Jackson and Shai Bolton, so to be able to target a specific need — and that’s another half-back to support Jordan Clark — I think they’ve done pretty well … they can be contending (for the premiership), absolutely.”

Jon Ralph says: “A full year from Hayden Young and a better year from Jye Amiss is probably all they’ll get as well as of course McVee coming through.”

GEELONG CATS

Who left: Patrick Retschko (trade, Richmond)

Who arrived: James Worpel (free agent, Hawthorn)

Draft picks owned: 19, 40, 60, 78, 96, 99, 114

David King says: “We look at Geelong and think: ‘When will they tip over? How can they keep doing this?’ … Worpel is a sneaky good improvement for their list. It does allow, with his midfield time, (Patrick) Dangerfield to play more forward. They’ll just keep doing what they do. What a fantastic organisation they’ll be.”

Leigh Montagna says: “They’ll make it work in the ruck. Stanley and Blicavs, yes they’re getting on in age, but between the two of them they can probably share the load. Toby Conway got back late in the season, there’s still a lot of high hopes on him. I know he’s had injury troubles, but if he can have a full pre-season, between those three guys they could alternate, rotate — however Chris Scott does it. I don’t think not having Rowan Marshall keeps them from being in contention to win a premiership next year.”

GOLD COAST SUNS

Who left: Malcolm Rosas Jnr (trade, Sydney), Sam Flanders (trade, St Kilda), Ben Ainsworth (trade, Carlton), Connor Budarick (trade, Western Bulldogs), Brayden Fiorini (trade, Essendon)

Who arrived: Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (trade, Western Bulldogs), Christian Petracca (trade, Melbourne)

Draft picks owned: 15, 18, 24, 28, 29, 36, 52, 92, 110

Leigh Montagna says: “The beauty of them being able to trade out Picks 7 and 8 is they didn’t need those picks; they’ve got all the points to still land three, potentially four Academy picks in the top 20-25. And two of them will be in the top five; they are getting two of the best young kids in the country on top of Petracca and Ugle-Hagan. Obviously, Ugle-Hagan is the big one. The chasm between what his potential could be and what the ramifications could be if it doesn’t work out is significant — but you take a look at the upside and it’s a pretty scary proposition.”

David King says: “I think what Jamarra brings, they (the Suns) don’t have. I don’t think they’ve got a roaming centre-half-forward that hits the wings, who glides across the top of the grass and scoots, has a beautiful left leg on him. He’s a five-mark-a-game player, Jamarra, at his best. I know we’re talking about his best, we’re selling high — they (didn’t) have that (before trading for Ugle-Hagan). (Ben) King doesn’t do that, (Jed) Walter doesn’t do that, (Ethan) Read doesn’t do that. So, what this guy does is different. So, I love it, it’s worth the gamble — absolutely it is — you back your culture in … there’s no middle ground (in terms of off-field missteps), these are the rules. I don’t think there is any grace. Damien Hardwick is not (going to) play favourites here — these are the rules, you follow them and we both win. If you don’t, you’re out, we move on.”

Foxfooty.com.au’s trade grade: A

GWS GIANTS

Who left: Jacob Wehr (free agent, Port Adelaide)

Who arrived: Clayton Oliver (trade, Melbourne)

Draft picks owned: 12, 35, 91, 109

Leigh Montagna says: “My view is I don’t think he’s going to be the All-Australian midfielder anymore; he doesn’t have to be. He’s still a very solid inside contest and clearance winner. His numbers still stack up pretty well in the competition, so he’ll complement the other guys, how he works with Tom Green will be interesting, and I still think they’re going to be around the mark again, the Giants.”

David King says: “First half of the year they were the third-worst clearance differential team in the competition — it sounds ridiculous when you look at some of the names in there — but I think what it (the arrival of Oliver) does do is it allows it not to be Callaghan and Green at all times. You can get some respite. We’ve seen the luxury of that with (Patrick) Dangerfield being able to play more forward (at Geelong) with Bailey Smith and moving the magnets. So, I think you’ll get a healthier version of those guys come later in the year.”

HAWTHORN

Who left: James Worpel (free agent, Geelong), Changkuoth Jiath (trade, Melbourne), Jai Serong (trade, Sydney)

Who arrived: Nil

Draft picks owned: 10, 22, 62, 76, 94, 112

David King says: “He’s entitled to be furious, Zach Merrett. No doubt Hawthorn would have said: ‘We’ll get this deal done. We’ve got enough picks, we’ve got enough talent on our list that we’ll be able to satisfy the Bombers’ — and they haven’t done that. I think it puts a real dent in their premiership aspirations for next year … Merrett into that line-up (would’ve) changed the whole mix and dynamic of what they do ball in hand. I think it’s a real blow for the Hawks tonight – I really do. When you look at every team in that top bracket of six to eight, they’re looking for that one player, that one extra asset that tips them over the edge into premiership contention — and I think the Hawks have left one on the table tonight.”

Leigh Montagna says: “Everyone else around them — when you talk about the contenders — improved their list going into next season, except for Hawthorn. In fact they’ve lost a bit of depth. It’s what happens when you try and go for the big fish. They went for Harley Reid, they had a crack at Oscar Allen, they’ve gone for Zach Merrett … but if it doesn’t come off, it’s left them (without one). Now maybe they’re going to put all their eggs in the Zak Butters basket for next year.”

Jon Ralph says: “I think Zach Merrett will continue to be the same Zach Merrett he’s been. He’ll be their best player and he still should lead by example. No doubt he’s going to feel somewhat sheepish walking back into the club for the first week … but football clubs are pretty forgiving places. They’ll shake hands, get to work and worry about the business that needs to be done on winning games of football.”

NORTH MELBOURNE

Who left: Finnbar Maley (trade, Adelaide)

Who arrived: Charlie Spargo (free agent, Melbourne)

Draft picks owned: 25, 26, 46, 57, 82, 100

Leigh Montagna says: “Very quiet. It’s for me about their culture and ability to learn to win and learn to play better football as a group for longer. We know they have talent, that’s indisputable, they just have to put it together. They have to be able to start to build a fabric of a club that are going win games consistently.“

Jon Ralph says: “Jy Simpkin had 33 touches and 730 metres gained in that last game against Adelaide as a wingman. That’s the reason they kept him. Yes, because he’s the captain – not next year – but he has been the captain. And they feel like he can play that role. Zane Duursma wanted to get to Essendon but it was never going to happen as a top four pick. My understanding is he’s hired a personal trainer. He understands instead of getting out there with Harley Reid and having some nice nights out over summer, get yourself absolutely rock hard fit. If you’re that mid-forward, you need to be more athletic than the player who’s playing on you, you need to be a supreme athlete. Hopefully the penny has dropped for him across the summer … they missed on Marcus Windhager and Connor Budarick – they’re not superstar players, of course the A-graders don’t want to come to them. At some stage they need to top off this list.”

David King says: “I know it’s difficult to attract talent to clubs struggling. One of the pledges Alastair Clarkson made when he was appointed as senior coach was they would be in the hunt for free agents and try and find some stars. If you look at the last few years, the names that have come in have been underwhelming and haven’t had a massive impact. At some point that needs to change if you are to make a move up the ladder. It’s not going to necessarily just going to be because of those guys. They’ve had 14 top 30 picks over the last five years, so there’s enough talent there. But they need the support crew.”

PORT ADELAIDE

Who left: Nil

Who arrived: Jacob Wehr (free agent, GWS Giants), Corey Durdin (trade, Carlton), Will Brodie (trade, Fremantle)

Draft picks owned: 49, 85

David King says: “I just think this is about to fall off a cliff, this list. Three top-30 picks in the last five years have come in. They’ve done a lot of trading and got a whole handful of nothing if you ask me. We all talk about Rozee, Butters and Horne-Francis — outside of that, Georgiades obviously, what else is there? I think they’re in for a lot of pain to come and they’re about to plummet, if you ask me.”

Leigh Montagna says: “They don’t want a rebuild, they’ve said that, but what are they doing with their list? That’s going to be the big question this season.”

RICHMOND

Who left: Tylar Young (trade, West Coast Eagles)

Who arrived: Patrick Retschko (trade, Geelong)

Draft picks owned: 3, 4, 38, 81

David King says: “They’ve been unreal over the last four years, they’ve got 12 top 30 picks that have come into the place. It’s like watching the Paris fashion week when they unveil their top-line draftees! We’ve seen quite a few of those guys. I just think that they’ve make a conscious decision as a football club, and they’re sticking to it. I like this, I think this is a strong football club that knows what winning premierships is all about … I’m a fan.”

Jon Ralph says: “Retschko is a rookie who was delisted by Geelong on October 2. He then was, I assume, re-listed. Richmond wanted him, they’ve traded pick 99 for him. A hard-running utility (but) we know stuff-all about him … but we wish Patrick Retschko well in his new career at the Tigers!”

Foxfooty.com.au’s trade grade: C

ST KILDA

Who left: Max Heath (trade, Melbourne), Jack Steele (trade, Melbourne)

Who arrived: Tom De Koning (free agent, Carlton), Jack Silvagni (free agent, Carlton), Sam Flanders (trade, Gold Coast), Liam Ryan (trade, West Coast)

Draft picks owned: 50, 65, 86, 104

Jon Ralph says: “No one is ever accepting a handshake deal from Graeme Allan ever again after the Leek Aleer deal. It’s cost Leek Aleer $2 million … I totally understand St Kilda can do whatever they want to do and be as ruthless and hard-arse as they want. But the AFL players out there would say: ‘You want us to reduce long-term contracts and trade us against our will and not have destiny for our own situations?’ That’s the thing … I think if they wanted to get him they would’ve and maybe they just fell out of love with him. It was fairly callous, but it’s a ruthless industry.”

David King says: “They’re happy to be the villains. They’re a strong footy club, they’re ruthless in a lot of ways, their coach embodies that. I think it’s gone unnoticed, the injury toll, in 2025 and where they sat on the ladder in terms of games lost to injury … They only need a little bit of luck, with the additions they’ve got during this trade period, to really spike up the ladder. What threshold that is is up for conjecture, but I think they’ll make a move next year.”

Leigh Montagna says: “They’ve executed their plan perfectly this trade period — and they’ve got exactly what they wanted out of it.”

SYDNEY SWANS

Who left: Ollie Florent (trade, Carlton), Jack Buller (trade, Collingwood), Will Hayward (trade, Carlton)

Who arrived: Malcolm Rosas Jnr (trade, Gold Coast), Jai Serong (trade, Hawthorn), Charlie Curnow (trade, Carlton)

Draft picks owned: Picks 31, 32, 42, 63, 88, 106

David King says: “I think they’ve got more problems behind the ball than in front of it, but it’s a wildcard talent (Curnow). He’s going to kick more goals than what’s there at the moment … He doesn’t miss much footy. He’s going to be a wildcard that could kick 50-plus goals and put them on the map … It’s going to take the pressure off Heeney.

Jon Ralph says: “What about the theatre: Lockett, Hall, Buddy, Tippett and now Curnow … Charlie is not going to kick 460 goals, but even if he kicks 250 across the next five seasons, maybe they hoist the flag that Buddy Franklin was never able to achieve in his second incarnation at Sydney.”

Leigh Montagna says: “The flow-on effect, Amartey becomes the second tall which suits him better, McLean becomes the second ruck-tall option. With the four talls, I now wonder whether they try Logan McDonald at centre half-back, because they do need someone else behind the ball to support McCartin and Blakey. Logan McDonald hasn’t quite worked as a forward … if he can become another failed forward that goes behind the ball and do a really good job, that could be the difference for the Sydney Swans to compete for the flag.”

Foxfooty.com.au’s trade grade: A-

WEST COAST EAGLES

Who left: Oscar Allen (free agency, Brisbane), Liam Ryan (trade, St Kilda), Campbell Chesser (trade, Carlton)

Who arrived: Brandon Starcevich (trade, Brisbane Lions), Tylar Young (trade, Richmond)

Draft picks owned: 1, 2, 13, 34, 41, 53, 58, 80, 80, 98

Leigh Montagna says: “They had a mantra they wanted to try and get some more senior bodies in there, just to help bridge the gap. They’re still a long way off, we understand that. So to get Starcevich really helps and Tylar Young — and now they’re going to get the two best kids in the country as well to continue to build on what they’ve got. Harley Reid has committed long-term, so it’s going to be a slow burn but at least the wheels are slowly starting to turn.”

Foxfooty.com.au’s trade grade: B

WESTERN BULLDOGS

Who left: Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (trade, Gold Coast)

Who arrived: Connor Budarick (trade, Gold Coast)

Draft picks owned: 14, 33, 70, 74, 89, 107

David King says: “I said about six weeks ago that Sam Power’s biggest challenge was to give this coach a key defender that he could put that magnet on the board, and with some sort of confidence, drive to the game knowing that things will be okay. They haven’t done that, and they’ll be in the same position at the end of 2026. And the same position every year after … I’m staggered by this. I can’t believe that the Dogs have had to manufacture Rory Lobb, who was great (in his) first year down back, but not so much this season just passed. I think it’s a big fail for the Dogs … We’ve seen Buku Khamis down there. They’ve lost confidence in Buku, they’ve lost confidence in (Jedd) Busslinger, Jones is no longer there. We’ve talked about this every week; they refused to move an (Aaron) Naughton down back. Do you have to change the way you want to play? That’s changing the coach’s philosophy, because you can’t get a deal done to acquire some key talent.”

Leigh Montagna says: “Maybe, now that they don’t have the personnel change, they’re going to have to change the way they play to be able to stiffen up defensively. Otherwise, they’re not going to continue to compete against the top eight teams … (but) I trust Luke Beveridge. I think he’ll understand what was missing from them last year, and maybe it’s going to be a game-style change instead of the personnel — because they weren’t able to get it done.”

What really annoys me is how all the media are now applauding Essendon, Saints and Suns for holding onto their players. But it was absolute crickets last year when we held onto Trac and Oliver.

The narrative controlling mind****s really does my head in.

Also very little pundits mention the fact that we got 3 first round picks for Trac - Suns absolutely paid overs for him. He'll be a dud up there.

16 minutes ago, Demonland said:

MELBOURNE

Who left: Charlie Spargo (free agent, North Melbourne), Judd McVee (trade, Fremantle), Clayton Oliver (trade, GWS Giants), Christian Petracca (trade, Gold Coast)

Who arrived: Max Heath (trade, St Kilda), Brody Mihocek (trade, Collingwood), Changkuoth Jiath (trade, Hawthorn)

Draft picks owned: 7, 8, 37, 66, 71, 84, 102

Leigh Montagna says: “It’s strong. I like what Melbourne have done. Steven King has come in and he’s stamped his mark on this football club and said: ‘Right, this is what we’re going to do. I no longer want Clayton Oliver at the club, I want to move on from Christian Petracca, I want a fresh slate, we’ve still got strong leaders with Gawn and Viney and Jake Lever leading the way.’ They get to bring in some depth players, Mihocek is going to help significantly with van Rooyen down there with Melksham and Fritsch. And they’re going to get more draft picks again with top-end talent for the third consecutive year that can continue to build around the five to seven kids they already have.”

David King says: “Really smart from Steven King. He’s bringing in players that are going to give him that bridging period until these youngsters absolutely take hold of this football club — guys like Windsor and Tholstrup and Lindsay and Langford, plus those high picks. It’s going to be a dip over the next couple of years, but it’s a calculated dip. It’s a guy coming in with real presence, ‘this is my football club now, this is where we’re going, put culture first’. Yeah it’s cost them some money, no doubt it has … and I’m not sure about the Steele acquisition, but you’ve got the opposite of Clayton Oliver. That’s basically what they’ve found. Really strong from Melbourne.”

ADELAIDE CROWS

Who left: Nil.

Who arrived: Finnbar Maley (trade, North Melbourne)

Draft picks owned: 16, 48, 55, 64, 73, 75, 93, 111

David King says: “They needed Clayton Oliver more than any other club, for me, if they are to be a genuine contender. In the second half of the season, they were 16th for clearance differential in the AFL. When Rankine wasn’t there, they looked pedestrian. They needed another option for that midfield and they didn’t take the risk when others around them have — that’s the bottom line. GWS’ gain is Adelaide’s loss … I can’t really believe they haven’t bolstered that midfield.”

Leigh Montagna says: “I would’ve thought Jack Steele would’ve been a good fit, that big defensive mid who could tackle and allow Dawson and Rankine to do their thing. They were pretty strict in what they wanted to do and they haven’t been able to land much at all.”

BRISBANE LIONS

Who left: Brandon Starcevich (trade, West Coast Eagles)

Who arrived: Sam Draper (free agent, Essendon), Oscar Allen (free agency, West Coast)

Draft picks owned: 17, 23, 44, 51, 59, 68, 79, 97, 115

Jon Ralph says: “They don’t always get them right, the free agency acquisitions — they brought in Tom Doedee, who’s played one game in a couple of years — so that’s the only caveat there with Oscar Allen and Draper coming in. Essendon never offered a great deal fro Draper because they believe the history of ruckman off an Achilles tear is they never really get their jump back … That’s the only little asterisk.”

Leigh Montagna says: “They’re in Seat 1A going into 2026. They want for nothing. They’ve brought in Draper and Oscar Allen and they’ll bring in a top-five draft pick, potentially, with the academy pick (Daniel Annable) — and they’re in the box seat. It’s only going to be motivation or injuries that will really slow them down next year. They didn’t really need to do much … They do lose Starcevich, who will be a big out with his ability to shut down the best small-medium forwards in the competition, will be missed. But they’ve got enough depth there to be able to cover that.”

David King says: “They are the envy of the competition. You look at the guys who’ve played 50 to 80 games — that’s where the real growth comes from — now they’re establishing themselves, there’s confidence in their body and what they can do gameday … they’ve got an unbelievable window in front of them. It’s exciting if you’re a Brisbane fan.”

CARLTON

Who left: Corey Durdin (trade, Port Adelaide), Charlie Curnow (trade, Sydney)

Who arrived: Liam Reidy (trade, Fremantle), Campbell Chesser (trade, West Coast), Ben Ainsworth (trade, Gold Coast), Ollie Florent (trade, Sydney), Will Hayward (trade, Sydney)

Draft picks owned: 9, 11, 43, 54, 67, 72, 87, 105

Jon Ralph says: “It does give Carlton an amazing arsenal, not only to secure Harry Dean and Jack Ison, but also Cody Walker next year. We know it’s a year where there will be bidding changes, so you might almost need two first-rounders to secure him as a top-two pick. If you’re Carlton, you have the now in terms of the players they’ve brought in, but they also have the future in the shining light upon the hill that is Cody Walker and Harry Dean, who should play 20 games next year. It’s not Curnow, but it is a pretty damn fine deal.”

David King says: “It’s a big reset now. Carlton fans, you’re starting again, really. Not absolute ground zero, but that to me just signals that they’ve got five top-30 picks in the last five years, there’s trauma coming, they’re trying to get ahead of it now with trading Charlie Curnow and I think this has got Graham Wright’s fingerprints all over it … I think it puts a real challenge now to Michael Voss to make this work. You’re losing a gun to get some bits and pieces … they’re not going to solve the problems of tomorrow.”

Leigh Montagna says: “Their team will look completely different next season … They’ve got some skill and more talent. For me, they’re probably still depth players. I don’t know if it’s really going to change the fortunes of the Blues too much, but it certainly adds depth and running and kicking.”

COLLINGWOOD

Who left: Brody Mihocek (trade, Melbourne)

Who arrived: Jack Buller (trade, Sydney)

Draft picks owned: 39, 45, 56, 61, 77, 95, 113

David King says: “They were very quiet. It’s hard to be critical of Collingwood, they’ve been so good for the last few years. They’ve got the gun in the middle Nick Daicos, (but) they probably need to find him more support at some point. I know they’ve been trying to get (Beau) McCreery come through and maybe be that player. At some point, it will tip over when you look at the age of their list. But is that 2026? I’m not convinced, I’m not sure of that … I just feel like they’re the one club that’s probably the most desperate for a Zak Butters at the end of next year. I think that’s where they’ll channel their energy.”

Jon Ralph says: “Which is why they didn’t give up (first-round) picks for Jy Simpkin in the end … I think the only thing you would say about them, is that it’s confusing to think they were trying to have a crack at moving on Jordan De Goey, and have a crack at Jy Simpkin — there’s only a two-year age gap. The Collingwood view is, if de Goey was going to get a big, fat contract he never really secured, this was the time where both club and player were really open and mature about it. But, for them to shop him in any way, I think gives you some question marks over where they sure his body and his longevity and durability.”

ESSENDON

Who left: Sam Draper (free agent, Brisbane)

Who arrived: Brayden Fiorini (trade, Gold Coast)

Draft picks owned: Picks 5, 6, 21, 27, 30, 83, 101

Leigh Montagna says: “There’s still an intrigue because we need to see them fit and healthy and what it can actually look like if Brad Scott has the full list to choose from. They just haven’t had that in recent years. There’s too many players on that list that get injured too often to give them a chance. They’re going to get two really good players early in the draft then they’ve got some academy prospects potentially after that that might work in their favour … But it’s going to be tough for them.”

Jon Ralph says: “This could’ve been footy’s greatest trainwreck. They could’ve lost four or five of their senior players, including their captain (Zach Merrett), including (Jordan) Ridley, including (Darcy) Parish, including (Kyle) Langford. They have lost their president, they could’ve had a coup over the next couple of months. Instead right now — yes there’ll be some challenges, but they’ve got 12 months to reset. They’ve got an elite fitness and strength and conditioning program in. I think so much of the next six months is: “What have you got for us Brad Scott? What have you got for us to make other players into the Archie Roberts’ of the 2026 season? Where is (Archie) Perkins at? Where’s Tsatas at? Where’s Ben McKay at? … There are so many players there who come into this team and look like they have some talent and they either stagnate or regress.”

FREMANTLE

Who left: Liam Reidy (trade, Carlton), Will Brodie (trade, Port Adelaide)

Who arrived: Judd McVee (trade, Melbourne)

Draft picks owned: 20, 47, 69, 90, 103, 108

David King says: “I think McVee’s a good acquisition. I think he’s a constant threat, I don’t think we’ve seen the best of this player. He can play a variety of roles. I’m not sure he’s an elite ball user, but maybe doesn’t have to be at Fremantle with the way they operate and the way they move the ball. But I like the fact they’re pretty settled.”

Leigh Montagna says: “They’ve had a couple of big trade periods in recent years with Luke Jackson and Shai Bolton, so to be able to target a specific need — and that’s another half-back to support Jordan Clark — I think they’ve done pretty well … they can be contending (for the premiership), absolutely.”

Jon Ralph says: “A full year from Hayden Young and a better year from Jye Amiss is probably all they’ll get as well as of course McVee coming through.”

GEELONG CATS

Who left: Patrick Retschko (trade, Richmond)

Who arrived: James Worpel (free agent, Hawthorn)

Draft picks owned: 19, 40, 60, 78, 96, 99, 114

David King says: “We look at Geelong and think: ‘When will they tip over? How can they keep doing this?’ … Worpel is a sneaky good improvement for their list. It does allow, with his midfield time, (Patrick) Dangerfield to play more forward. They’ll just keep doing what they do. What a fantastic organisation they’ll be.”

Leigh Montagna says: “They’ll make it work in the ruck. Stanley and Blicavs, yes they’re getting on in age, but between the two of them they can probably share the load. Toby Conway got back late in the season, there’s still a lot of high hopes on him. I know he’s had injury troubles, but if he can have a full pre-season, between those three guys they could alternate, rotate — however Chris Scott does it. I don’t think not having Rowan Marshall keeps them from being in contention to win a premiership next year.”

GOLD COAST SUNS

Who left: Malcolm Rosas Jnr (trade, Sydney), Sam Flanders (trade, St Kilda), Ben Ainsworth (trade, Carlton), Connor Budarick (trade, Western Bulldogs), Brayden Fiorini (trade, Essendon)

Who arrived: Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (trade, Western Bulldogs), Christian Petracca (trade, Melbourne)

Draft picks owned: 15, 18, 24, 28, 29, 36, 52, 92, 110

Leigh Montagna says: “The beauty of them being able to trade out Picks 7 and 8 is they didn’t need those picks; they’ve got all the points to still land three, potentially four Academy picks in the top 20-25. And two of them will be in the top five; they are getting two of the best young kids in the country on top of Petracca and Ugle-Hagan. Obviously, Ugle-Hagan is the big one. The chasm between what his potential could be and what the ramifications could be if it doesn’t work out is significant — but you take a look at the upside and it’s a pretty scary proposition.”

David King says: “I think what Jamarra brings, they (the Suns) don’t have. I don’t think they’ve got a roaming centre-half-forward that hits the wings, who glides across the top of the grass and scoots, has a beautiful left leg on him. He’s a five-mark-a-game player, Jamarra, at his best. I know we’re talking about his best, we’re selling high — they (didn’t) have that (before trading for Ugle-Hagan). (Ben) King doesn’t do that, (Jed) Walter doesn’t do that, (Ethan) Read doesn’t do that. So, what this guy does is different. So, I love it, it’s worth the gamble — absolutely it is — you back your culture in … there’s no middle ground (in terms of off-field missteps), these are the rules. I don’t think there is any grace. Damien Hardwick is not (going to) play favourites here — these are the rules, you follow them and we both win. If you don’t, you’re out, we move on.”

GWS GIANTS

Who left: Jacob Wehr (free agent, Port Adelaide)

Who arrived: Clayton Oliver (trade, Melbourne)

Draft picks owned: 12, 35, 91, 109

Leigh Montagna says: “My view is I don’t think he’s going to be the All-Australian midfielder anymore; he doesn’t have to be. He’s still a very solid inside contest and clearance winner. His numbers still stack up pretty well in the competition, so he’ll complement the other guys, how he works with Tom Green will be interesting, and I still think they’re going to be around the mark again, the Giants.”

David King says: “First half of the year they were the third-worst clearance differential team in the competition — it sounds ridiculous when you look at some of the names in there — but I think what it (the arrival of Oliver) does do is it allows it not to be Callaghan and Green at all times. You can get some respite. We’ve seen the luxury of that with (Patrick) Dangerfield being able to play more forward (at Geelong) with Bailey Smith and moving the magnets. So, I think you’ll get a healthier version of those guys come later in the year.”

HAWTHORN

Who left: James Worpel (free agent, Geelong), Changkuoth Jiath (trade, Melbourne), Jai Serong (trade, Sydney)

Who arrived: Nil

Draft picks owned: 10, 22, 62, 76, 94, 112

David King says: “He’s entitled to be furious, Zach Merrett. No doubt Hawthorn would have said: ‘We’ll get this deal done. We’ve got enough picks, we’ve got enough talent on our list that we’ll be able to satisfy the Bombers’ — and they haven’t done that. I think it puts a real dent in their premiership aspirations for next year … Merrett into that line-up (would’ve) changed the whole mix and dynamic of what they do ball in hand. I think it’s a real blow for the Hawks tonight – I really do. When you look at every team in that top bracket of six to eight, they’re looking for that one player, that one extra asset that tips them over the edge into premiership contention — and I think the Hawks have left one on the table tonight.”

Leigh Montagna says: “Everyone else around them — when you talk about the contenders — improved their list going into next season, except for Hawthorn. In fact they’ve lost a bit of depth. It’s what happens when you try and go for the big fish. They went for Harley Reid, they had a crack at Oscar Allen, they’ve gone for Zach Merrett … but if it doesn’t come off, it’s left them (without one). Now maybe they’re going to put all their eggs in the Zak Butters basket for next year.”

Jon Ralph says: “I think Zach Merrett will continue to be the same Zach Merrett he’s been. He’ll be their best player and he still should lead by example. No doubt he’s going to feel somewhat sheepish walking back into the club for the first week … but football clubs are pretty forgiving places. They’ll shake hands, get to work and worry about the business that needs to be done on winning games of football.”

NORTH MELBOURNE

Who left: Finnbar Maley (trade, Adelaide)

Who arrived: Charlie Spargo (free agent, Melbourne)

Draft picks owned: 25, 26, 46, 57, 82, 100

Leigh Montagna says: “Very quiet. It’s for me about their culture and ability to learn to win and learn to play better football as a group for longer. We know they have talent, that’s indisputable, they just have to put it together. They have to be able to start to build a fabric of a club that are going win games consistently.“

Jon Ralph says: “Jy Simpkin had 33 touches and 730 metres gained in that last game against Adelaide as a wingman. That’s the reason they kept him. Yes, because he’s the captain – not next year – but he has been the captain. And they feel like he can play that role. Zane Duursma wanted to get to Essendon but it was never going to happen as a top four pick. My understanding is he’s hired a personal trainer. He understands instead of getting out there with Harley Reid and having some nice nights out over summer, get yourself absolutely rock hard fit. If you’re that mid-forward, you need to be more athletic than the player who’s playing on you, you need to be a supreme athlete. Hopefully the penny has dropped for him across the summer … they missed on Marcus Windhager and Connor Budarick – they’re not superstar players, of course the A-graders don’t want to come to them. At some stage they need to top off this list.”

David King says: “I know it’s difficult to attract talent to clubs struggling. One of the pledges Alastair Clarkson made when he was appointed as senior coach was they would be in the hunt for free agents and try and find some stars. If you look at the last few years, the names that have come in have been underwhelming and haven’t had a massive impact. At some point that needs to change if you are to make a move up the ladder. It’s not going to necessarily just going to be because of those guys. They’ve had 14 top 30 picks over the last five years, so there’s enough talent there. But they need the support crew.”

PORT ADELAIDE

Who left: Nil

Who arrived: Jacob Wehr (free agent, GWS Giants), Corey Durdin (trade, Carlton), Will Brodie (trade, Fremantle)

Draft picks owned: 49, 85

David King says: “I just think this is about to fall off a cliff, this list. Three top-30 picks in the last five years have come in. They’ve done a lot of trading and got a whole handful of nothing if you ask me. We all talk about Rozee, Butters and Horne-Francis — outside of that, Georgiades obviously, what else is there? I think they’re in for a lot of pain to come and they’re about to plummet, if you ask me.”

Leigh Montagna says: “They don’t want a rebuild, they’ve said that, but what are they doing with their list? That’s going to be the big question this season.”

RICHMOND

Who left: Tylar Young (trade, West Coast Eagles)

Who arrived: Patrick Retschko (trade, Geelong)

Draft picks owned: 3, 4, 38, 81

David King says: “They’ve been unreal over the last four years, they’ve got 12 top 30 picks that have come into the place. It’s like watching the Paris fashion week when they unveil their top-line draftees! We’ve seen quite a few of those guys. I just think that they’ve make a conscious decision as a football club, and they’re sticking to it. I like this, I think this is a strong football club that knows what winning premierships is all about … I’m a fan.”

Jon Ralph says: “Retschko is a rookie who was delisted by Geelong on October 2. He then was, I assume, re-listed. Richmond wanted him, they’ve traded pick 99 for him. A hard-running utility (but) we know stuff-all about him … but we wish Patrick Retschko well in his new career at the Tigers!”

Foxfooty.com.au’s trade grade: C

ST KILDA

Who left: Max Heath (trade, Melbourne), Jack Steele (trade, Melbourne)

Who arrived: Tom De Koning (free agent, Carlton), Jack Silvagni (free agent, Carlton), Sam Flanders (trade, Gold Coast), Liam Ryan (trade, West Coast)

Draft picks owned: 50, 65, 86, 104

Jon Ralph says: “No one is ever accepting a handshake deal from Graeme Allan ever again after the Leek Aleer deal. It’s cost Leek Aleer $2 million … I totally understand St Kilda can do whatever they want to do and be as ruthless and hard-[censored] as they want. But the AFL players out there would say: ‘You want us to reduce long-term contracts and trade us against our will and not have destiny for our own situations?’ That’s the thing … I think if they wanted to get him they would’ve and maybe they just fell out of love with him. It was fairly callous, but it’s a ruthless industry.”

David King says: “They’re happy to be the villains. They’re a strong footy club, they’re ruthless in a lot of ways, their coach embodies that. I think it’s gone unnoticed, the injury toll, in 2025 and where they sat on the ladder in terms of games lost to injury … They only need a little bit of luck, with the additions they’ve got during this trade period, to really spike up the ladder. What threshold that is is up for conjecture, but I think they’ll make a move next year.”

Leigh Montagna says: “They’ve executed their plan perfectly this trade period — and they’ve got exactly what they wanted out of it.”

SYDNEY SWANS

Who left: Ollie Florent (trade, Carlton), Jack Buller (trade, Collingwood), Will Hayward (trade, Carlton)

Who arrived: Malcolm Rosas Jnr (trade, Gold Coast), Jai Serong (trade, Hawthorn), Charlie Curnow (trade, Carlton)

Draft picks owned: Picks 31, 32, 42, 63, 88, 106

David King says: “I think they’ve got more problems behind the ball than in front of it, but it’s a wildcard talent (Curnow). He’s going to kick more goals than what’s there at the moment … He doesn’t miss much footy. He’s going to be a wildcard that could kick 50-plus goals and put them on the map … It’s going to take the pressure off Heeney.

Jon Ralph says: “What about the theatre: Lockett, Hall, Buddy, Tippett and now Curnow … Charlie is not going to kick 460 goals, but even if he kicks 250 across the next five seasons, maybe they hoist the flag that Buddy Franklin was never able to achieve in his second incarnation at Sydney.”

Leigh Montagna says: “The flow-on effect, Amartey becomes the second tall which suits him better, McLean becomes the second ruck-tall option. With the four talls, I now wonder whether they try Logan McDonald at centre half-back, because they do need someone else behind the ball to support McCartin and Blakey. Logan McDonald hasn’t quite worked as a forward … if he can become another failed forward that goes behind the ball and do a really good job, that could be the difference for the Sydney Swans to compete for the flag.”

Foxfooty.com.au’s trade grade: A-

WEST COAST EAGLES

Who left: Oscar Allen (free agency, Brisbane), Liam Ryan (trade, St Kilda), Campbell Chesser (trade, Carlton)

Who arrived: Brandon Starcevich (trade, Brisbane Lions), Tylar Young (trade, Richmond)

Draft picks owned: 1, 2, 13, 34, 41, 53, 58, 80, 80, 98

Leigh Montagna says: “They had a mantra they wanted to try and get some more senior bodies in there, just to help bridge the gap. They’re still a long way off, we understand that. So to get Starcevich really helps and Tylar Young — and now they’re going to get the two best kids in the country as well to continue to build on what they’ve got. Harley Reid has committed long-term, so it’s going to be a slow burn but at least the wheels are slowly starting to turn.”

Foxfooty.com.au’s trade grade: B

WESTERN BULLDOGS

Who left: Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (trade, Gold Coast)

Who arrived: Connor Budarick (trade, Gold Coast)

Draft picks owned: 14, 33, 70, 74, 89, 107

David King says: “I said about six weeks ago that Sam Power’s biggest challenge was to give this coach a key defender that he could put that magnet on the board, and with some sort of confidence, drive to the game knowing that things will be okay. They haven’t done that, and they’ll be in the same position at the end of 2026. And the same position every year after … I’m staggered by this. I can’t believe that the Dogs have had to manufacture Rory Lobb, who was great (in his) first year down back, but not so much this season just passed. I think it’s a big fail for the Dogs … We’ve seen Buku Khamis down there. They’ve lost confidence in Buku, they’ve lost confidence in (Jedd) Busslinger, Jones is no longer there. We’ve talked about this every week; they refused to move an (Aaron) Naughton down back. Do you have to change the way you want to play? That’s changing the coach’s philosophy, because you can’t get a deal done to acquire some key talent.”

Leigh Montagna says: “Maybe, now that they don’t have the personnel change, they’re going to have to change the way they play to be able to stiffen up defensively. Otherwise, they’re not going to continue to compete against the top eight teams … (but) I trust Luke Beveridge. I think he’ll understand what was missing from them last year, and maybe it’s going to be a game-style change instead of the personnel — because they weren’t able to get it done.”

Mustn't be F for Fox but F for Fwits

They left out Steele..

Quality stuff FFFFOr Fox sake

33 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

Oliver out, Steele in is a great result from that situation.

We did okay in the Petracca trade, but I'm biased because I'm going to love death-riding Gold Coast 2026.

Mihocek and Jiath are each players I've thought 'Yeah, that's probably the only player I like at that club', so now I can 100% hate Collingwood and Hawthorn. Plus, they are terrific for causing trouble at Spelling Bees.

Max Heath is actually the least known of the players for me, but, he is also perhaps the most exact description of what we urgently needed to acquire. Moderate chance we'll be watching a true successor, and hopefully he'll at least be giving good contests and ruck cover up forward. Is this the end of the 'Gawn set shot missing left from 30m in front' era?

But here's a mental summary for me - the contrast with 2012.

Dawes, Byrnes, Rodan and Pederson, of whom only Rodan had much of a profile or body of work.

Mihocek, Jiath, Steele and Heath is clearly a major step up. It's like one set was recruiting to 'dominate VFL' and the other recruiting for 'contributors at AFL'.

I am calm and content.

Except now I'm anticipating the draft, with the 2012ish period in my mind. Ugh. Will those picks bring us 'Toumpas and Cook' or 'Salem and Hogan'?

Always something to be anxious about at Demonland.

MH has effectively taken Verrall's spot as the up and coming ruckman. I don't believe I have seen Max however he has played senior games and hit the score board. Verall was at best a VFL player in fact he never really played a very good game in his 3 years. The addition of MH imo is a definite step up.

Looks good to me. Is anyone still calling for Lamb to be roasted?