View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

10 hours ago, watchtheeyes said:

Probably worth also stating that Simon Goodwin, Adam Kingsley ainโ€™t..

There will be no Clarry kid gloves at GWS

Oh definitely. Adam will be direct if Clayton's not performing.

ย 
10 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

Imagine a centre square with Tom Green, Finn Callahan and Clayton Oliver ๐Ÿคค

They'll be [censored] every other time with them 3 in there.

11 hours ago, Colm said:

I post after his last game against the Pies that I thought he was getting back to his former self( 30 disposals at 86%) and that I would be gutted to lose him. I am gutted, but we move on.

I can understand the decision though- but the way we have handled it is a [censored] joke and if we get a future 3rd rounder for him and still pay half his wages then somebody else needs to get there marching orders.

That "somebody else" was given their marching orders.

ย 
10 hours ago, Garbo said:

Seems like gws only wants to hand over pick 35 in a trade for Oliver, Iโ€™d hope given that we arenโ€™t paying the mooted 700k of his contract

I guess we could take it and hand it to Norf for Simpkin.

This is a disaster if we take pick 35, we are given up a 200 gamer & sure he needed to go last year or even earlier, but hope the club have players to replace his experience, are they looking at Jack Steele or Jy Simpkin

Summary of my thoughts on the situation given itโ€™s clearly time to accept heโ€™s gone.

I can only really comment on what I see and thatโ€™s what happens on field. To my eye, Oliver and Max are the 2 best Dees of my lifetime. Had a stinker of a 2024 where he couldnโ€™t tackle, chase or burst through tackles but every other year has fallen somewhere between good and the absolute best. His 2021 to mid 2023 is as good a stretch of footy as any player has put together, only missing out coaches votes in 10 games during that stretch. It really was amazing during that time how many times he, along with Max and Trac, dragged us over the line.

I thought his last half of 2025 was good. Defensive running patterns were back and he was contributing both ways again. Iโ€™m sure the footy department wouldโ€™ve noticed this so I think we can only assume thereโ€™s other factors at play to essentially push out a top 5 or 6 player in the club, even when not anywhere near his best. Possibilities as I see it from the clubโ€™s perspective and probably a combination of these:

• need cap space for something weโ€™re planning. With Petracca going too, it would make no sense to me to get only draft picks back for them as Iโ€™d assume weโ€™d be short nearly a couple of mil from the salary cap considering we also lost guys like Spargo and Billingโ€™s who would be on more than draftees.

• Off field and cultural factors. I wonโ€™t comment specifically because honestly Iโ€™d have no idea and I doubt many of us outside the 4 walls would. I would say though that having been involved in competitive organisations, every team comprises of all different types and the best of them adapt to different personalities. Thereโ€™s obviously a limit, but no team has 100% everyone as friends or 100% perfect role models.

I think thereโ€™s no doubt weโ€™ve pushed him out. The club couldnโ€™t truly believe heโ€™d need to change role or be played at Casey. Unfortunately weโ€™ve made the decision close to trade period, Oliver has been blindsided and then proceeded to act unprofessionally and destroy his trade value. We probably shouldโ€™ve anticipated the reaction for a guy who has recently committed to the club and known not to have much of a filter between brain and mouth. For a guy this good at footy to be reported to be getting a pick in the 30s with us paying a significant portion of his salary, there must be issues.

Only thing to do now is reflect on the best of him. What he achieved with the club is seriously worth celebrating and contributed to the best footy moments of many of our lives. Of course thereโ€™s the 2021 GF, but I remember the QF that year where he had about 5 or 6 goal assists and destroyed a pretty handy Brisbane midfield. His game against Adelaide that year in a losing cause it probably the best individual game Iโ€™ve witnessed while the rest of the team had shockers. To this day itโ€™s the highest rated game by a midfielder and 4th highest ever, only bettered by Franklinโ€™s 13, Le Crasโ€™ 12 and S Johnsonโ€™s game against us in the 186 with about 50 score involvements.

35 minutes ago, 0livers Army said:

Summary of my thoughts on the situation given itโ€™s clearly time to accept heโ€™s gone.

I can only really comment on what I see and thatโ€™s what happens on field. To my eye, Oliver and Max are the 2 best Dees of my lifetime. Had a stinker of a 2024 where he couldnโ€™t tackle, chase or burst through tackles but every other year has fallen somewhere between good and the absolute best. His 2021 to mid 2023 is as good a stretch of footy as any player has put together, only missing out coaches votes in 10 games during that stretch. It really was amazing during that time how many times he, along with Max and Trac, dragged us over the line.

I thought his last half of 2025 was good. Defensive running patterns were back and he was contributing both ways again. Iโ€™m sure the footy department wouldโ€™ve noticed this so I think we can only assume thereโ€™s other factors at play to essentially push out a top 5 or 6 player in the club, even when not anywhere near his best. Possibilities as I see it from the clubโ€™s perspective and probably a combination of these:

• need cap space for something weโ€™re planning. With Petracca going too, it would make no sense to me to get only draft picks back for them as Iโ€™d assume weโ€™d be short nearly a couple of mil from the salary cap considering we also lost guys like Spargo and Billingโ€™s who would be on more than draftees.

• Off field and cultural factors. I wonโ€™t comment specifically because honestly Iโ€™d have no idea and I doubt many of us outside the 4 walls would. I would say though that having been involved in competitive organisations, every team comprises of all different types and the best of them adapt to different personalities. Thereโ€™s obviously a limit, but no team has 100% everyone as friends or 100% perfect role models.

I think thereโ€™s no doubt weโ€™ve pushed him out. The club couldnโ€™t truly believe heโ€™d need to change role or be played at Casey. Unfortunately weโ€™ve made the decision close to trade period, Oliver has been blindsided and then proceeded to act unprofessionally and destroy his trade value. We probably shouldโ€™ve anticipated the reaction for a guy who has recently committed to the club and known not to have much of a filter between brain and mouth. For a guy this good at footy to be reported to be getting a pick in the 30s with us paying a significant portion of his salary, there must be issues.

Only thing to do now is reflect on the best of him. What he achieved with the club is seriously worth celebrating and contributed to the best footy moments of many of our lives. Of course thereโ€™s the 2021 GF, but I remember the QF that year where he had about 5 or 6 goal assists and destroyed a pretty handy Brisbane midfield. His game against Adelaide that year in a losing cause it probably the best individual game Iโ€™ve witnessed while the rest of the team had shockers. To this day itโ€™s the highest rated game by a midfielder and 4th highest ever, only bettered by Franklinโ€™s 13, Le Crasโ€™ 12 and S Johnsonโ€™s game against us in the 186 with about 50 score involvements.

Best summation I've seen on this thread.

Yes he's blown up, but he did put the effort in to try and redeem himself over the past year or so.

An incredible footballer. Very sad for all parties involved.

I still think he's going to tear games apart if he knuckles down at a new club.

What a mess

ย 
7 hours ago, 58er said:

Your summarising as if itโ€™s all totally Clarryโ€™s fault we are down the ladder.

You fail to give him credit of stabilising his off field happiness and lift in the last few matches in form and confidence. I thought this was a good base to build upon with a new and positive vibing Coach that made all the right statements re our list etc. then has dragged out his whip and decided otherwise without a decent meeting with a Club Champion to give him an opportunity to state his case.

I am not against the restructuring of our midfield, 35% disposal from Trac Clarry and JV cannot continue to be tolerated but surely Clarry could kick 35/40/50 goals a year from a forward pocket or flank. And letโ€™s be honest he would play 2 games at Casey be BOG and demand selection in the Seniors. Which position?

Wouldnโ€™t King be tempted if we were 3 goals down at half time to throw Clarry on the Ball??

Guess what we get up and win and Clarry is back with little changing! Back up to forward pocket as a decoy and kick gatherer near the sticks.

Please tell me this isnโ€™t an unreal prediction so he is not going to get any favors from our Footy chiefs and be sent to Siberia!!

Our No 1 or top 3 player in 50 years has been treated poorly in some respects. He is hurt again and no wonder is looking to go to GWS to a soulless crowd and finish his career.

Sad how he has been treated and we canโ€™t even say good bye and thanks to him.

Hopefully I havenโ€™t ignored his last 2/3 years but we should and have tried to nurture him and support him as well.

All the best Clarry you have set a benchmark in personal attitude to competitiveness on the field. I have never seen a player play the last quarters as hard as Clarry.

Please give him some respect And not replace No 13 this season until worthy recipient arises.

PS Maybe not Humphrey if we can snag him!

Good luck Clarry a decade of determination classic inside mid play and handballs that talked. Only real fault was your kicking but it still passed when your best was on display in our top 4 years and important games and Finals.

Keep healthy and happy and good luck for your future. Thanks again for the memories especially in 2021 and bang bang bang!!

Never summarized that Clarry has put us down the bottom of the ladder, more we get very little back for a 4 x best and fairest, 2 x coaches award winner in regards to a trade or decent draft concession and the absolute kicker is, we have to pay up to half of his salary.

I have highlighted in bold some of your quotes, which I personally cannot agree with, his literal job is to turn up fit, rehab any niggling injuries, listen to his coaches, dont be a distraction to follow players / coaches / MFC and bust his backside at training and on game day for the team that he is very handsomely paid for to do. MFC role was to provide a safe environment for players to develop and contend for premierships.

If you sign a contract for that value and length, it comes with some expectations that you have to be the uber professional and deliver - he hasn't for the past two years since he signed that contract. Hindsight is the club SHOULD NOT have offered him that contract, yet he accepted it and all the scrutiny with being one of the AFL's highest paid players.

I loved watching Clarry at his best for MFC, we wouldn't have won a flag without him, BUT he needs to take complete responsibility on where his football career is at now, its because of him he's not playing for the MFC, its because of his professionalism that he has to move interstate, the whole its everyone else's fault is getting very long in the tooth.

13 hours ago, Very Jaded said:

I know many here wonโ€™t agree but Iโ€™m very broken hearted about this one

Clarry holds a special place in my heart and I am incredibly sad that he wonโ€™t finish his career in red and blue

He isnโ€™t perfect, in fact heโ€™s a mess, but heโ€™s our mess and I will always support him

I hope he is happy and healthy

Sad Studio Ghibli GIF

I'm right there with you Jaded.

p.s. that was the perfect gif, what a movie ๐Ÿฅฐ

18 hours ago, Little Goffy said:

Does Aleer get his own thread?

Should St Kilda be getting absolutely pilloried for making an offer to a player and then withdrawing it after the player has told their current club, requested the trade, and it has all gone public?

Or is that just a 'Meh, St Kilda being St Kilda' thing?

They're not Melbourne, the media are only interested in slaughtering us.

Iโ€™m feeling the same Way as when Watts and Hogan left. Heart hurt, but head knew it was right. Those 2 trades set up our premiership. We need to trust that the people running our club know if Clayton has it in him to commit fully to becoming the Clarry we all love and paying for, and Clearly they donโ€™t believe this will happen.

Clarry, put simply at his peak the best centre square player Iโ€™ve seen at the dees. He is forever a Melbourne legend . And personally the way he interacted with my son at family day, canโ€™t thank Him enough, heโ€™s a good genuine bloke. Shine on you crazy diamond, hope you prove everyone wrong.

13 minutes ago, BrisbaneDemon said:

I have highlighted in bold some of your quotes, which I personally cannot agree with, his literal job is to turn up fit, rehab any niggling injuries, listen to his coaches, dont be a distraction to follow players / coaches / MFC and bust his backside at training and on game day for the team that he is very handsomely paid for to do. MFC role was to provide a safe environment for players to develop and contend for premierships.

If you sign a contract for that value and length, it comes with some expectations that you have to be the uber professional and deliver - he hasn't for the past two years since he signed that contract. Hindsight is the club SHOULD NOT have offered him that contract, yet he accepted it and all the scrutiny with being one of the AFL's highest paid players.

If you want to believe Oliver is a no-good loser, you'll see evidence of it everywhere - even when there is evidence to the contrary. Ever noticed how Oliver has round bruise marks on his back and shoulders most weeks he plays? Ever noticed the weekly Instagram posts of Oliver doing hard-core pilates? Constant sign of cupping and fitness training and rehab, off the training track. If you never noticed that, then it's YOUR blind spot.

Those that continue to make unsubstantiated claims that insinuate Oliver has no professionalism, no fitness, doesn't rehab injuries, doesn't listen to coaches, is a constant distraction to others are just feeding an incessant rumour mill. It needs to stop. The first core value of MFC is 'Respect', which the club defines as 'Treating teammates, coaches, staff, members, and the broader community with dignity.' Worth remembering.

13 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

Yet thereโ€™s only 2 players who self destructed their careers and Iโ€™m not sure the club had any role in it.

Itโ€™s disappointing for sure, but I think a lot of people at the club will be relieved itโ€™s over (besides the wage bill).

I agree. But it should never have got this bad. The club is not an innocent party in this.

13 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

Imagine a centre square with Tom Green, Finn Callahan and Clayton Oliver ๐Ÿคค

Almost as good as a centre square with Gawn, Petracca and Ol.... oh wait.

2 minutes ago, Adina88 said:

The first core value of MFC is 'Respect', which the club defines as 'Treating teammates, coaches, staff, members, and the broader community with dignity.' Worth remembering.

Very interesting... you've gone to town and back defending Oliver , which is your privilege.

You then offer up this morsel.

The application of this tenet when discussing Oliver's actions to his mates, rest of team , indeed tge club as a whole might of itself be the best example, if not definition , of IRONY I've come across for some time.

Thankyou

11 hours ago, BrisbaneDemon said:

Iโ€™m finding it hard to feel sorry for this bloke, you draft them, develop them, turn them into premiership players, pay them what most aussies could only dream of making, to where weโ€™re now. He hasnโ€™t held up his end of the bargain and now our club suffers incredibly from it, not only are we paying for him to play elsewhere, we donโ€™t even get something decent in return.

Incredibly selfish and immature from Clayton, Iโ€™m sure the playing group is ecstatic to see the back of him.

The MFC didn't turn the likes of Clarry and Trac into premiership players. Without them at the club we wouldn't have won a flag. In my time following the club we've had 3 genuine A grade inside midfielders, Clarry, Trac and Greg Wells. We're kicking 2 of them out the door.

I'm in the court where I thought Clarry seemed unburdened once Goody was sacked, and his output lifted.

If those that want him out believe he can turn things around at GWS, why isn't it possible for him to do it under King?

6 minutes ago, mo64 said:

If those that want him out believe he can turn things around at GWS, why isn't it possible for him to do it under King?

No idea myself, but it seems King didn't think it possible.

12 hours ago, 710 Asbury St said:

This week, Iโ€™ve been reading on here but not commenting. I know you guys will laugh at me and all thatโ€”but Iโ€™m gutted by this whole situation. I agree heโ€™s an adult and needs to make decisions and act like one. But I also feel like heโ€™s been a media targetโ€”often for good reasonโ€”and I imagine thatโ€™s exhausting. I understand that itโ€™s exactly what life as an AFL player on big $ will get. Doesnโ€™t make it any easier. I also believe what actually occurred in that room is somewhere between the media version, the clubs version, and Clarryโ€™s version (whatever that is). He was obviously hurtโ€”in his mind, this was the first year (in the past 3) that he thought he wouldnโ€™t be put up for tradeโ€”something caused him to think that. And then it changed very quickly.

Iโ€™ll be honest, the Collingwood comment, I took it as a guy whoโ€™s hurt lashing out. Iโ€™m not going to read to much into it, because like the airport nonsense, we see what the media wants us toโ€”definitely not the whole picture. And againโ€”heโ€™s been hounded by the media incessantlyโ€”theyโ€™ve speculated about his personal life, continuously brought up his issues outside footyโ€”even without reporting anything new on that front for over a year. I left a job last year after changes of CEO and lots of other things. I know that angry feeling. Thankfully, no one in the press gives a [censored] how I feelโ€”but catch me on a bad day and who knows what I might say.

Iโ€™ve never been into sports-other than tennis. I moved to Australia in 2013 and got really into AFL in 2016 which was his first season. Heโ€™s been my favourite player and he was a gun for us. This hurtsโ€”because for me, itโ€™s the first time Iโ€™ve given a [censored] about any kind of sports or any player. My family/friends in the US would be laughing at me if they saw how Iโ€™ve beenโ€”and Iโ€™m not young. My son is 29 and is a huge sports freak. I never understood when he got so upset about his teams (Patriots, Yankees, Bruins, and now Richmond) losing games/players. I get it now.

Iโ€™m heartbroken and will always have a special place for Clarry. I well and truly hope that this move brings him the peace and recovery that settles him. I also want to see him back to his best. I believe he can get there. I know he wasnโ€™t at his best the past couple of years, but come on, he did not โ€œsingle handedlyโ€ cause us to not contend. Thatโ€™s ludicrous.

Itโ€™s been a strange week for me with lots of emotions. So, if you want to laugh at me and react with vomit emojis or whatever have at it.

This is an absolutely reasonable post mate.

Even those of us who believe the time is right for him to move on are gutted at the way it's ending.

At his peak he was the best player I've ever seen in red and blue and I wish him well for the rest of his career.

13 minutes ago, mo64 said:

The MFC didn't turn the likes of Clarry and Trac into premiership players. Without them at the club we wouldn't have won a flag. In my time following the club we've had 3 genuine A grade inside midfielders, Clarry, Trac and Greg Wells. We're kicking 2 of them out the door.

I'm in the court where I thought Clarry seemed unburdened once Goody was sacked, and his output lifted.

One of them, the other has chosen to leave of his own volition. Love Clarrie but he let himself down. He is a simple bloke who has lacked the self reflection to see why he is in this situation. His reaction to his exit meeting is akin to a teenager being dumped. From my understanding from someone reasonably close to the club is that the skipper went above and beyond tending to Clarrie's indiscretions wrapping his arms and his family's arms around him. It looks like by then the damage was done. When you are on big bucks you need to hold yourself to the highest standard which Clarrie clearly did not.

Sad to see him go and have mixed feelings about all of this. GWS may suit him as (and I dont intend to be rude here) its a bit like playing country football. Their ground has that vibe and a small supporter base. AFL is not big out west in sydney, indeed the whole sport scene is very different in Sydney where people have many other priorities. He will be largely anonymous. Collingwood would have been the wrong choice for him.

ย 

Ps: I hope he reflects and thanks those at the club who have gone above and beyond for him.

It is really hard being a long-suffering supporter of this club that keeps finding new ways to destroy my faith.

It feels like this trade period we are simply setting ourselves up for failure and making our direct competitors stronger - I assume there is a bigger picture and grand plan but for me I'm struggling to see it atm.