View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

37 minutes ago, Young Blood said:

I really hope so. I thought he would carry on and see out the season with Geelong, which doesn't make much sense for us who are wanting to get the ball rolling with player/FD changes.

Anyone know of a similar situation where an active opposition coach got the job in the midst of a finals campaign?

Sanderson was at Geelong when he got the Adelaide gig, Neeld at Collingwood when he got ours. Both left immediately even though their clubs were still in finals.

Well done @BLWNBA 👏

Called one the non Buckley decision well before anyone else including the media.

34 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Nice from David…… however still can’t stand the massive headed [censored].

I’m happy we have a new coach.

Gives me even more reason to hope Geelong lost their prelim. Get him into the club a week earlier!

The Buckley stuff will all come out in the wash. It makes sense that we tested his commitment and it makes sense that he was unsure. I don’t really care though. I would have been happy with Buckley, I’m happy with King.

As soon as Geelong’s season is done, our pre-season begins in earnest.

3 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Gutsy call from the club

Didn’t bend to the will of Buckley

Recently, senior assistants have made the biggest impact

Bring on 2026!

Bring some Geelong IP Please!

25 minutes ago, deejammin' said:

Ok so the story is that Buckley comes out and says he wants the Dees job when it’s first announced and continues to do so through the whole process, does the interview and the presentation and does a heap of study for it and tries hard and doesn’t rule himself out at any point. Then decides, right at the end of the process, when the Dees ultimately pick someone else that he’s more interested in hearing about a job that doesn’t yet exist, for a team that hasn’t met the stadium requirements it needs to exist in a process that hasn’t started and will probably include several other high profile candidates (Longmire, Hinkley, Simpson and Hird for example) rather than the job he spent months of time, energy and put his public statements on. Yeah, seems likely, not face saving PR at all 🙄

Nailed it 100% Buckley spin. In no way will his narrative be that he wasn't the best candidate and all the media will support that narrative. Whatever I'm glad we don't have him was never convinced about him

3 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

Nailed it 100% Buckley spin. In no way will his narrative be that he wasn't the best candidate and all the media will support that narrative. Whatever I'm glad we don't have him was never convinced about him

Well whatever he says, you can find out in a few minutes:

Buckley classy as expected. I genuinely believe we’ve genuinely chosen Steven king rather then being knocked back

Yep, said there were a few things he wanted to prosecute as an experienced coach that a first time coach would absorb and then try to fix when they got in, but otherwise said the process moved quickly and in the end too quickly for him, with his meeting with Tassie next Tuesday.

2 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

Buckley classy as expected. I genuinely believe we’ve genuinely chosen Steven king rather then being knocked back

That's exactly the feeling I got.

4 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Well whatever he says, you can find out in a few minutes:

No doubt, he’ll spin it whichever way it makes him comfortable. The fact remains that if he gets the Tassie job (and it’s still no guarantee that a club from there will get off the ground), he will have a tough job making it successful no matter what concessions the AFL grant them.

I’ve had a few conversations with Collingwood people and every one of them had question marks on his ability to produce a winning team, pointing to the fact that he took over a premiership team after Mick Malthouse and handed over a broken side to Craig McRae who managed to turn them into premiers in two seasons. I think that’s a bit harsh but it’s a tough business and the stats about recycled coaches over the past couple of decades don’t lie.

4 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

This might get spun as 'Melbourne didn't want to wait a week' but i think its actually 'No need to wait because King was our man'

I thought bucks spoke well. Congratulated Stephen King on getting the job, admitted the process was to quickly for him & said he's still having talks with tassie.

Now can we move on about missing out on bucks & be positive about king

Edited by dees189227

1 hour ago, Stiff Arm said:

19 out of the last 20 premierships have been won by first time senior coaches.

It's a meaningless stat without context and without removing confounding variables. e.g., given that there are a limited number of second-time coaches to go round, there will always be more first-time coaches. i.e., even if their success rate is the same, you'd expect to see more success from first-timers simply because there are more of them.

But then you have to look at who they're coaching? Are teams lower down the table more likely to take an experienced coach, as we did with Roos? If that's the case - which I would think it is - it would skew the success stats considerably.

etc. etc.

Edited by bing181

1 hour ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Jay Clark at Herald Sun - Geelong unofficial number 1 ticket holder

Nathan Buckley was asked specifically if he was given the Melbourne job would he accept it. Buckley said he was still unsure. He wanted more info from the Devils first. Ultimately, Dees picked Steven King, and Buckley remains front runner for Tassie.

heraldsun.com.au/sport/geelong-…

Nathan who ?

1 hour ago, Sydee said:

Well, it's about time that changed then isn't it.

How many Ruckman have been coaches in that period and failed?

How many non Ruckman have coached in that period and failed?

Let's try and remain glass half full until we see how things play out

Who was the 60 year ago ruck Cosch?

2 hours ago, dees189227 said:

Frank ponissi from the storm was on the panel. I trust his judgement 100%.

There is always talk about an AFL team going for him, so it's big kudos for his judgement.

1 hour ago, Demons11 said:

I reckon he’ll be with us next week. Can’t see him riding out the season with the Cats

Maybe but Geelong seem like a mature club that will handle it OK. The benefit of having continuity in a finals campaign probably outweighs any 'additional' IP that he might gain.

Once Geelong comes to grips with the fact that King is handling its IP at the pointy end, I suspect they might have some second thoughts and let him go to Melbourne sooner rather than later.

Hopefully, he’ll take Max Holmes with him.

5 minutes ago, 58er said:

Who was the 60 year ago ruck Cosch?

Big John Nicholls was captain-coach of Carlton's premiership in 1972.

3 minutes ago, bing181 said:

It's a meaningless stat with out context and without removing confounding variables. e.g., given that there are a limited number of second-time coaches to go round, there will always be more first-time coaches. i.e., even if their success rate is the same, you'd expect to see more success from first-timers simply because there are more of them.

But then you have to look at who they're coaching? Are teams lower down the table more likely to take an experienced coach, as we did with Roos? If that's the case - which I would think it is - it would skew the success stats considerably.

etc. etc.

Well you'd whine either way so it matters little. The stats don't lie in the previous 25 odd years

Looks to most observers that we have made an astute decision

Your carping about sticking with Simon being the only way to go will be lost in the mists of time. Those of us that could see the trajectory of our performances going over a cliff seem pretty happy.

5 minutes ago, Sydney Pennski said:

Once Geelong comes to grips with the fact that King is handling its IP at the pointy end, I suspect they might have some second thoughts and let him go to Melbourne sooner rather than later.

Hopefully, he’ll take Max Holmes with him.

What IP wouldn’t King already have? I would be very surprised if they let him go before they finish their season.