1 minute ago, bing181 said:

12.8 is not necessarily a winning score

Allowing that Carlton team to kick 78 points is scandalous.

Any vaguely competent side should be walking in five to ten goal wins against them.

11 minutes ago, BigBadBustling said:

What happened when we ditched The Rev Dazzle? He was very similar to Goody in that he 'had' the players.

That's a fact Jack!

Nitey nite

So because of Neale Daniher stepping down as coach in 2007 which is i remind you, happened 18 years ago, thats exactly a direct correlation to what would occur if Goody was removed? Can you look into the future now?

Mate you're laughable. I've seen some worse takes on here but this is now taking the cake.

14 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

What stage are you at?

I'm at the stage of taking my L plater daughter for a 2.5hr drive to get in some night hrs with the juke box going instead of being bored to tears watching or listening to the game.

That's what stage I'm at.
Same inept, uninspiring, frustrating sheet every week.
Goodwin has to go.
He's killed the momentum in '21 by boring the membership to freakin' tears since.

Edited by Fork 'em

15 minutes ago, layzie said:

For what its worth I wasn't that impressed with Carlton tonight.

It's impossible to be.

They turned it over again and again and again. And we spectacularly failed to hurt them.

20 minutes ago, BigBadBustling said:

Read that back to yourself Dazzle. Especially the umpiring bias bit.

Wake the F up. If you're acknowledging games are basically fixed - yet still bashing your own players, you're part of the problem.

Start sticking up for your club and it's players FFS, rather than turning a blind eye to this rorting.

So what you're saying is that if there was a ladder for good performances but hard done by the umpires we're on top?

Can you remember the last time someone looked back at an underachieving team and said "That side were good and really could have challenged for bigger things, their problem was that they always got the raw end of the stick with the umpires."

If we knew half a thing about what we were doing we would have romped that game in. Carlton were and are not good. They actually butcher it as much as we do!

Edited by layzie

27 minutes ago, bing181 said:

The wheel will only turn with improvement in the list. That can come from within (e.g., more maturity and experience in the younger players) or by bringing in established players who can make a difference.

So more of the same next year. Do you think Goodwin is extended to continue into 2027 if we dish up more of the same next year with the same group of players (we aren't attracting any big names, have no 1st round pick and Goodwin/Lamb et al refuse to trade out underperforming players on big coin so list changes will be minimal)?

Goodwin's career at MFC is over, it's just that he and the club don't know it yet.

Sack Goodwin and every line coach.

Blow it up and start again.

1 hour ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

Not sure what to make of Jeffo’s game. He could actually be really good if he wasn’t so bad if that makes sense. I’d give him a few more weeks

Jefferson is the antithesis of everything this club should be standing for. Poor in the contest and no second effort. The good elements of his game are below average.

Our recruitment of tall forwards is diabolical. JT and Lamb need to go ruined a good list. Jefferson is an absolute spud by the way. Goodwin needs to go for not dropping Oliver he [censored] in their face and has been horrible since. We are going nowhere with Goodwin he doesn't learn from his mistakes.

1 hour ago, picket fence said:

Yep exactly NONE!

Not true.

Adam Simpson miraculously survived 2 consecutive bottom 2 finishes by his 10th year at the Eagles. Even lasted another 17 rounds after that. There is hope for Goody yet!

1 hour ago, BigBadBustling said:

Are you fair dinkum?

Yes I am fair dinkum.

When an opposition is chronically depleted such as Carlton today and has the equal amount of wins as you, you simply win that game of football assuming you’re mentally switched on.

If you lose, you blame your playing group first, and then you blame the ancillary factors such as the umpires and weather secondary.

Thoughts on goody presser.

1. Nice to see some sort of anger.

2. Not sure effort in 1st qtr and half was the sole reason for losing.

3. I love what Clarry has done for club, but his problems were in pre-season of 2024, and as a professional athlete 18 months on to still need coach to be making excuses for performance says all about our club and standards that are being set , how long on a million + before it changes ??

1 minute ago, Dees1911 said:

Thoughts on goody presser.

1. Nice to see some sort of anger.

2. Not sure effort in 1st qtr and half was the sole reason for losing.

3. I love what Clarry has done for club, but his problems were in pre-season of 2024, and as a professional athlete 18 months on to still need coach to be making excuses for performance says all about our club and standards that are being set , how long on a million + before it changes ??

He was angry and frustrated but also portrayed a coach who is out of ideas on how to turn things around.

1 minute ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Yes I am fair dinkum.

When an opposition is chronically depleted such as Carlton today and has the equal amount of wins as you, you simply win that game of football assuming you’re mentally switched on.

If you lose, you blame your playing group first, and then you blame the ancillary factors such as the umpires and weather secondary.

Absolutely. Our First Half was disgusting…

Carlton are junk this year, and we are probably worse.

Good Clubs do not allow those performances to happen (99.5% of the time)

As for the MFC, it’s always been part of our repitoire…

Im tired of saying this. Shouting into the abyss.

The club must raise the issue that appalling umpiring has on player decision making and action.

Confidence and skill execution are obviously affected .

It would be interesting to know how a gambling differential mentioned by Kayo commentators before the game affected the outcome. I am sure the players did all they could to win but when umpiring decisions clearly affect the score there must be questions raised.

We need to get the umpires down to our club and ask what are we doing wrong. Why dont we get free kicks that affect the flow of the game . Why do we give away free kicks that affect the scoreboard.

There are so many examples over the season where free kicks are given and our structures are exploited WHY

I give in

Ive accepted my depression . Sad I didnt take the cue from the Kayo team and back Carlton at $.50 when Melbourne were clearly the better team.

12 minutes ago, Heart Beats True said:

He was angry and frustrated but also portrayed a coach who is out of ideas on how to turn things around.

It was nice to see some emotion but if you want to know the reason why our problems are not being fixed its he still doesnt address our problem (unless he simply doesnt want to share it pubically)

His press conference started by blaming the first quarter and you cant win after that. What is he on about?? Yes we lost the 1st quarter inside 50 20 to 9? Yes we had 7 tackles. So what? We were down by 8 points. It happens, youre not going to get 4 quarters of unconditional effort every week for 24 rounds, whatever that means. Sometimes you have a bad quarter. Deal with it. At the end of the conference he said we had more than enough opportunity to win the game, but 'we lost the game in the first quarter' so it sounds like we will focus on that. If he believes this, no wonder we dont get better. There is too much focus on 'unconditional efforts' and blah blah blah.

We lost the game because after quarter time we won inside 50s 50 to 30, had almost 100 more possesions and didnt even outscore a bottom 6 team because half our team cannot hit a moving target, and the same players give away the same free kicks week in week out. The same players in the same spots doing the same things getting the same poor results. That's not a process, thats the definiton of something else.

Edited by Jjrogan

2 hours ago, Wells 11 said:

Horrible decision wasn’t it. Do we win with it?Wed have gotten to have a shot at it anyway. Another low moment in a low frikn season.

Remember the other plays like that mark not paid to JVR right in front of goal. Then the ball goes to their fwd 50 and goal.

12 point swing in under a minute.

Looked like a preseason zero pressure game most of the night least from our side, to many players look like they ready to head to Bali in a month. Most disappointing is blues didn’t look to much more interested, if dees had of given 2 [censored] the game was ours to win.

Where would we be without Kozzie, basically every attacking play was either finished or started with him if only a few more player had his level of endeavour.

lot of senior players lowered there colours tonight if the club persists with this group we only have ourself to blame when we get more of the same next year.

2 hours ago, BigBadBustling said:

No DD, our players (with their deplorable skills) got us close enough to win that game tonight. 1 thing stopped them. Don't be 1 of 'them'! Agreed our skills need work, but that's not why we lost. You're better than that!

So sick of alleged supporters bagging our players when they've clearly been stitched up. Or are you turning a blind eye to the umpiring? And why? Look at the stats. You'd be happy with your team's effort with those numbers, no? Which stat won the game? Think long and hard!

It's one thing to support, but it's another thing to be completely delusional. Carlton are a [censored] awful side and we had absolutely zero excuse to lose to them. Even North and Richmond managed to knock them off ffs!

If the umpiring stopped us from beating Carlton then how come it didn't stop a bunch of other teams from smacking them in the previous weeks? But then again, you seem to think that there is a secret scheme to get poor old Melbourne.

Edited by Hopeful Demon

6 hours ago, BigBadBustling said:

Read that back to yourself Dazzle. Especially the umpiring bias bit.

Wake the F up. If you're acknowledging games are basically fixed - yet still bashing your own players, you're part of the problem.

Start sticking up for your club and it's players FFS, rather than turning a blind eye to this rorting.

2 things can be true at the same time

the umpiring was terrible. but so were we.

you say we won all the stats, which we did. that being the case we should have won irrespective of the umpiring

but as per usual, the same poor skills execution and fumbles and mistakes that we've seen for the last 2 years were all on show again last night

Rant about the umpiring all you like, I rant about it in the game day thread as well, but we are losing because we are not good. the players and coaches all at fault

i'm getting very tired of it to be honest. if we are a serios club we need to make big changes

6 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

What stage are you at?

The five stages of grief, as outlined by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, are: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. These stages are a framework to understand common emotional reactions to loss, but they are not necessarily linear or experienced by everyone. Grief is a personal experience, and individuals may experience these stages in different orders, or not at all, and may even revisit stages. Here's a breakdown of the five stages:

1. 1. Denial:

This stage involves a temporary refusal to accept the reality of the loss. It can manifest as disbelief or shock. 

2. 2. Anger:

As the reality of the loss sinks in, anger may arise. This can be directed at oneself, others, or even a higher power. 

3. 3. Bargaining:

In this stage, individuals may try to negotiate with a higher power or fate, often in an attempt to regain what was lost. 

4. 4. Depression:

This stage involves feelings of profound sadness, hopelessness, and withdrawal as the reality of the loss fully sets in. 

5. 5. Acceptance:

This is not necessarily a happy stage, but rather an acknowledgement of the loss and a movement towards integrating it into one's life. 

Important Considerations:

• Not linear:

Individuals may cycle through these stages, experience them in different orders, or not experience all of them. 

• Personal experience:

Grief is a highly personal journey, and there is no right or wrong way to grieve. 

• Other emotions:

Other emotions such as sadness, guilt, and anxiety can also be part of the grieving process. 

• Seeking support:

It's important to seek support from friends, family, or a therapist if you are struggling with grief. 

• Beyond death:

The five stages can also apply to other types of loss, such as the end of a relationship or job. 

i'm at anger

sick of this rubbish we serve up week after week

Goes deeper than just Godwin though heeds to go, whole footy dept , what responsibility is on Richardson and he’s decisions on assistant coaches etc , list mgt. Collectively they have managed this list from premiers to bottom 6! Club can’t have blind faith based on a flag 4 yrs ago, look at WC 7 years on and going nowhere, players need a new voice or we will see the said demise of the list. Unfortunately new president & ceo don’t start until August /sept which sums up the club!